We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hampton Inn Washington,D.C./White House”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hampton Inn Washington, D.C./White House
Ranked #28 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed July 21, 2013

This hotel is great! The location cannot be beat and the price is excellent for the D.C. area. We were there for a family vacation. The front desk staff was outstanding. Very courteous and helpful, especially Diane and Daphne. The breakfast that comes with your stay was excellent. The location was great for walking to see some of the monuments, close to a Metro stop, and close to a hop-on, hop-off bus stop. We found this to be the best way to get around. There was still some renovations going on (we still had tape on some of our walls) and the air conditioning quit the last night we were there. But, the room was very clean and the beds were very comfortable.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,727)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,521 - 1,527 of 1,727 reviews

Reviewed July 21, 2013

My son and I flew to D.C. for four days of sight-seeing 7/17-7/20 and found the Hampton Inn/White House on Trip Advisor. Having read the reviews and noting the location, we booked our room. If you want an incredible bargain in D.C. book this hotel !!! The rooms were clean, the staff was friendly, and the location was perfect to see the sights. The hotel is only a block from the blue line Metro, so getting there was easy. My only regret is telling everyone about this hotel, which will undoubtedly become booked 24/7/365 !!! Nice job Hampton Inn!!! We were pampered. Perhaps it is not a custom in D.C., but a courtesy shuttle to the airport would make your fantastic hotel absolutely perfect!! PS: I saw a comment from a previous blog saying the rooms were too small, this person needs an eye doctor!! I seldom go out of my way to heap praise on corporate chains, but the staff of the Hampton Inn/ White House deserve your business, and will get mine in the future!!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank senfink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2013

Great location, very close to White House, Eisenhower building, and sights, but needs to work out a few items. I don't know what the smell was, but the lobby smelled really bad. I met up with a business associate (staying there for the same meeting) and they complained about the smell as well. The room was okay, very stark with one small window. The bathroom was great -- cool mirror that had the light around it, plenty of sink/cabinet space, and nice shower. The air conditioner in the room was terrible -- the fan was extremely loud and would turn on and off constantly. Bed was uncomfortable and the air turned off or something during the night. I woke up a couple times and the room was really hot. I'd get up and the air would turn back on. Then it would run continuously for awhile. Breakfast area was very crowded in the morning and though the food was free, it wasn't appetizing. Staff was friendly and room was very quiet.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ShelbyJR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2013

I was pleasantly surprised by this new Hampton Inn in such an excellent location! The staff service is 5 star! Breakfast is scrumptious, and it comes with the stay! There were some minor issues such as the ac couldn't automatically turn on, and the hallway smelled, but once the concern was raised, staff were attentive and corrected the issues! I would definitely come back for my next trip! It was well worth the value!

Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
Thank Focusedaim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2013

Went to DC for conference and arrived two days early to sightsee. Enjoyed hotel and convenience to Metro. Friendly, helpful staff. Hotel had recently been changed to Hampton Inn and renovations were not noticeable - completed and done well.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Hazel T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2013

Great new hotel, close to everything. I walked, I trolleyed, I Metroed, it is all there at your fingertips. Breakfast was nice, especially the good coffee! Joe at the reception desk was fantastic, he even gave me hotel directions and turn by turn "how-to's" to get to the hotel entrance.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank stacielynne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for a business meeting and pleasure stay. Very good hotel. It was a great location to experience close by landmarks by walking and close to the METRO. About 30 minutes by metro to the Nationals.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sean M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Downtown / Chinatown
Hampton Inn Washington, DC - Convention Center
Upper Northwest
Hilton Garden Inn Washington, DC Downtown
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Hyatt Place Washington DC/Georgetown/West End
Hyatt Place Washington DC/George...
#19 of 141 in Washington DC
611 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Courtyard Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom
Courtyard Washington, DC/Foggy B...
#59 of 141 in Washington DC
513 reviews
Dupont Circle
Hyatt Place Washington DC/White House
Hyatt Place Washington DC/White ...
#56 of 141 in Washington DC
952 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Washington, D.C./White House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Washington, D.C./White House

Address: 1729 H Street N.W., Washington DC, DC 20006-3901
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Downtown / Chinatown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Price Range: $108 - $511 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Washington, D.C./White House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the iconic Editors building, the Hampton Inn Washington DC/ White House hotel effortlessly combines old-style charm with modern conveniences. Make yourself at home in our inviting accommodations complete with spacious guest rooms, a 24-hour business center, free high speed WiFi throughout the property, 1,351 st ft meeting space, heated indoor pool, free hot breakfast daily, and 24-hour fitness center. You will surely enjoy being within walking distance of the capital city's most iconic attractions including the White House, the National Mall, and Smithsonian Museums., Our D.C. hotel is surrounded by a breathtaking urban backdrop complete with chic boutiques, powerful firms, and upscale dining. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hampton Inn Washington, D.C./White House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing