We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Great hotel near George Washington University” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Washington, D.C./White House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hampton Inn Washington, D.C./White House
Ranked #12 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Hudson, Ohio
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great hotel near George Washington University”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

We stayed here for the George Washington University freshman orientation, and we enjoyed it. It's a brand new hotel providing a comfortable room, courteous staff, free wifi and breakfast, with valet parking available.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank HudsonDoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,417 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    967
    338
    80
    22
    10
See reviews for
515
359
63
311
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (224)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Roseville, California
Level Contributor
35 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

This hotel opened in June, and we stayed there a few weeks later. Areas for improvement: had an A/C issue that was partially resolved. Breakfast seating was crowded and shortage of a few items like OJ, sugar, cups, other items. Only one waffle iron that always had a line. Lobby seating is the same as the breakfast seating, so it is a little awkward trying to eat sitting on a couch crowded around a small table. Business room door was stuck and could not enter one evening.

The good: usually very good service, rooms were nice and comfortable, rates were reasonable for location and quality of hotel, great location near metro and White House. Overall, I would stay here again and hope some of the items above are resolved being a newly opened hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Redwood26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangor, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

Although not inexpensive, the location, taste, and condition of the hotel and the helpfulness of the staff made the stay worthwhile. The only slight negatives were that the front desk was often crowded, causing a long delay in service, and the floor in the room was not well swept.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
1 Thank Daniel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gatineau, Canada
Level Contributor
39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

Stayed 2 nights. Booked here expecting usual good standards of Hampton Inn, in a location easy for walking tour of DC. It far exceeded our expectations. Brand new and therefore very clean property, nicely decorated and modern. Had an issue at check in, needed 2 beds for family of 4, and room had only one. Took a little time to resolve, as hotel was quite booked, but the management did find us another room. Excellent staff, always trying to help. Room was simple and nice. Pool, yes, was very small, but adequate and refreshing after long day walking. Breakfast was usual Hampton fare - cereal, toast, yoghurt, waffles, eggs and sausage. Parking, at $30 per day is pricey, but the total daily cost is still very reasonable for this quality accomodation in this location. Definately recommend, hard to find better value in the area.

Room Tip: Booked away from elevators, they were noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank awayjj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

excellent location , just a couple of blocks to the White House and 2 subway stops within a short walk. good breakfast as well and newly done hotel . free wi fi also great. Staff were very courteous , informative and helped out very much .

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
3 Thank Brenda N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

Good customer service, decor was modern and rooms well sized. Hotel has a pool, virtually unheard of in DC for hotels, and complementary hot breakfast for guests. No in-room dining service but plenty of great restaurants and quick food joints near by. Will definitely be staying here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rehana N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaysville, Utah
Level Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

We are HiltonHonors members and stayed in this hotel 5 nights of our 2 1/2 week trip from Boston to DC. Most all hotels we stayed in were Hamptons. This one needs some work. The first issue we has was that their laundry is not finished (hotel is 2 weeks new when we stayed). We needed to wash clothes because of our long vacation.We asked if they could get permission for us to do it at another Hilton/Hampton close by. We had to walk with all our laundry to the metro plus another 2 or 3 blocks past the metro stop. When we arrived at the other hotel with our laundry we were treated very rudely at the front desk. They said it would breech the safety of their other guest. We did not back down and they finally relinquished. We had to wait in line to do our laundry and it took our whole evening. The other unsatisfactory thing is the size of the room-no chair or sofa to relax in-king room but way way too small. In the middle of the night around 2 am we would wake to a loud BANG- a garbage dumpster being dropped in the alleyway between the hotel and the building next door. Then the loud banging would occur about every two hours until 7 am.We were on the very top floor. The hotel valet out front sent us on a wild goose chase in the wrong direction, we were meeting friends and ended up walking two complete city blocks all the way around, out of our way. The front desk had no maps of the city to help us. Also the front desk clerk put us on hold for a long time while she looked up a number for us, kept getting back on the line forgetting what we had asked.The pool is about the size of a hot tub and they do not have a hot tub.The hotel does not offer in room movies other than what is on TV. On the flip side it was a very convenient location-right between two metro stops and within walking distance of the white house. there's a 711 just around the corner where you can get cheap sandwiches and snacks. The breakfast is wonderful. The art work in the hotel is amazing. The price is high for the value you receive.Of all the Hampton Inns and Hiltons we stayed at during this trip far exceeded our expectations except for this one.

Room Tip: room 1111 is extremely small. (King room) The elevator and the AC are very noisy all night as well a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sonya B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Sofitel Washington DC
#9 of 141 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 2,913 reviews
Upper Northwest
Hilton Garden Inn Washington, DC Downtown
Dupont Circle
The Hay-Adams
The Hay-Adams
#4 of 141 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 1,050 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / Chinatown
Willard InterContinental Washington
Capitol Hill Hotel
#11 of 141 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 1,140 reviews
Upper Northwest
Embassy Suites by Hilton Chevy Chase Pavilion
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Washington, D.C./White House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Washington, D.C./White House

Property: Hampton Inn Washington, D.C./White House
Address: 1729 H Street N.W., Washington DC, DC 20006-3901
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Dupont Circle , Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Washington, D.C./White House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the iconic Editors building, the Hampton Inn Washington DC/ White House hotel effortlessly combines old-style charm with modern conveniences. Make yourself at home in our inviting accommodations complete with spacious guest rooms, a 24-hour business center, free high speed WiFi throughout the property, 1,351 st ft meeting space, heated indoor pool, free hot breakfast daily, and 24-hour fitness center. You will surely enjoy being within walking distance of the capital city's most iconic attractions including the White House, the National Mall, and Smithsonian Museums., Our D.C. hotel is surrounded by a breathtaking urban backdrop complete with chic boutiques, powerful firms, and upscale dining. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hilton Hotels, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Odigeo, getaroom.com and Travelocity so you can book your Hampton Inn Washington, D.C./White House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing