We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Less than ideal! Noisy and no laundry”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hampton Inn Washington, D.C./White House
Ranked #30 of 142 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed July 1, 2013

We are HiltonHonors members and stayed in this hotel 5 nights of our 2 1/2 week trip from Boston to DC. Most all hotels we stayed in were Hamptons. This one needs some work. The first issue we has was that their laundry is not finished (hotel is 2 weeks new when we stayed). We needed to wash clothes because of our long vacation.We asked if they could get permission for us to do it at another Hilton/Hampton close by. We had to walk with all our laundry to the metro plus another 2 or 3 blocks past the metro stop. When we arrived at the other hotel with our laundry we were treated very rudely at the front desk. They said it would breech the safety of their other guest. We did not back down and they finally relinquished. We had to wait in line to do our laundry and it took our whole evening. The other unsatisfactory thing is the size of the room-no chair or sofa to relax in-king room but way way too small. In the middle of the night around 2 am we would wake to a loud BANG- a garbage dumpster being dropped in the alleyway between the hotel and the building next door. Then the loud banging would occur about every two hours until 7 am.We were on the very top floor. The hotel valet out front sent us on a wild goose chase in the wrong direction, we were meeting friends and ended up walking two complete city blocks all the way around, out of our way. The front desk had no maps of the city to help us. Also the front desk clerk put us on hold for a long time while she looked up a number for us, kept getting back on the line forgetting what we had asked.The pool is about the size of a hot tub and they do not have a hot tub.The hotel does not offer in room movies other than what is on TV. On the flip side it was a very convenient location-right between two metro stops and within walking distance of the white house. there's a 711 just around the corner where you can get cheap sandwiches and snacks. The breakfast is wonderful. The art work in the hotel is amazing. The price is high for the value you receive.Of all the Hampton Inns and Hiltons we stayed at during this trip far exceeded our expectations except for this one.

Room Tip: room 1111 is extremely small. (King room) The elevator and the AC are very noisy all night as well a...
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sonya B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,692)
There are newer reviews for Hampton Inn Washington, D.C./White House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,520 - 1,526 of 1,692 reviews

Reviewed July 1, 2013

Very nice hotel, friendly and helpful staff, stylish lobby area and the rooms were simplistically furnished. My stay here exceeded every expectation I had. No doubt: -the best Hampton Hotel I have ever stayed at!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
2  Thank Theodor123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2013

Staff was great and hotel was very clean. The hotel was very nice and probably will be great when it is complete. However, we were going to use the laundry room, and there was none there. It was not completed. Also, the pool was freezing, and did not include the hot tub or spa that was advertised. The first ice machine we went to on the 7th floor was broken. The hook on the back of our door turned around so the towels fell right on the floor. The hot water handle on the sink kept coming off. Looks like the hotel was rushed to be completed.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
2  Thank James A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2013

It was a hampton. we booked on line and got a great deal to offset the parking rate. The staff was warm and friendly, however the breakfast staff on Saturday was not enough for a full hotel. Although they were extremely friendly they could not keep up with the volume. The hotel is supposedly only 1.3 miles from Holocaust museum it felt longer? Overall clean, centrally located and again a Hampton. Plan dinners ahead of time and get tickets for Holocaust museum before you go. Bring shoes to walk 5 plus miles a day! Really walked 12 miles one day!

Room Tip: Our room was on the tenth floor clean quiet even though close to elevator
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank grlsensitiveone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton Inn M, Manager at Hampton Inn Washington, D.C./White House, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2013

Dear grlsensitiveone
Thank you so much for your honest feed back. We take these comments very positively as they enable us to make sure that we improve our service standards as per our guest's staisfaction expectations. Your experience with Hampton Inn DC-White House gives us opportunity to review our guest service standards so that we can identify the areas needing improvement.
We thank you for your business and assure you best of our services.
Jadranka Belajic

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2013

We only stayed one night in DC and wanted to be somewhere close to all the main attractions but not overpay either. I was very pleased with the reasonable price and also that we were within walking distance to everything. Right from check-in the hotel staff was very welcoming and helpful with recommendations for restaurants. The rooms were very clean and have free wi-fi. Good complimentary breakfast in the morning. Even upon checkout the staff made recommendations on where to visit on our way out of town. Thanks to Joe and Diane at the front desk for being so helpful! We will definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JenBal3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton Inn M, Manager at Hampton Inn Washington, D.C./White House, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2013

Dear JenBal3,
Thank you so much for your generous review. We are delighted that you had a enjoyable stay at Hampton Inn DC-White House. We will be more than happy to have you with us again whenever you are in the area.
Kindly,
Jadranka Belajic

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2013 via mobile

This is a very nice, new hotel. The management needs to work on a lot of glitches if the want to keep getting good reports. Even though it is new, a lot of the glitches were from poor training and poor management. I would try it again

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Annie72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton Inn M, Manager at Hampton Inn Washington, D.C./White House, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2013

Dear Annie72
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. I would like to discuss your experience and hope for an opportunity to serve you again in the future. Please call me at 202-296-1006 or email me at jadranka.belajic@hilton.com. I look forward to speaking with you. Thank You,
Jadranka Belajic

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2013

Yes, we are HitlonHonors members and we do try to stay in a Hilton property hotel whenever we travel, but this hotel is to be commended to everyone for the service it provides. We checked in on June 24th for 4 nights and were given a room on the 11th floor. Within 5 minutes of being in the room, we noticed a very loud noise right outside the window. It was a large fan attached to the building next door and even with the A/C on, we felt the room would have been too noisy for us. We were given a room on the 7th floor which was not near the outside fan, and was much quieter, even though our room faced the front.
Friendly employees, decent breakfast (Starbucks right next door if you want a good cup of coffee, the coffee at the breakfast tasted watered down, not much flavor). A nice touch was the chilled drinking water and warm chocolate chip cookies at the check in desk served in the afternoon. So refreshing after a long day of sightseeing! The only (minor) complaint I have is the lack of a small refridgerator in the rooms to keep beverages cold. Otherwise, I can't find any faults with this nice hotel!

Room Tip: Rooms located in the back tend to be noisy.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank 10Sgal55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Dupont Circle
AKA White House
AKA White House
#31 of 142 in Washington DC
752 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Courtyard Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom
Courtyard Washington, DC/Foggy B...
#53 of 142 in Washington DC
499 reviews
Upper Northwest
Hilton Garden Inn Washington, DC Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dupont Circle
Hyatt Place Washington DC/White House
Hyatt Place Washington DC/White ...
#55 of 142 in Washington DC
915 reviews
Sofitel Washington DC
#21 of 142 in Washington DC
3,199 reviews
Downtown / Chinatown
Hampton Inn Washington, DC - Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Washington, D.C./White House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Washington, D.C./White House

Address: 1729 H Street N.W., Washington DC, DC 20006-3901
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Downtown / Chinatown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 142 Hotels in Washington DC
Price Range: $151 - $602 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Washington, D.C./White House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the iconic Editors building, the Hampton Inn Washington DC/ White House hotel effortlessly combines old-style charm with modern conveniences. Make yourself at home in our inviting accommodations complete with spacious guest rooms, a 24-hour business center, free high speed WiFi throughout the property, 1,351 st ft meeting space, heated indoor pool, free hot breakfast daily, and 24-hour fitness center. You will surely enjoy being within walking distance of the capital city's most iconic attractions including the White House, the National Mall, and Smithsonian Museums., Our D.C. hotel is surrounded by a breathtaking urban backdrop complete with chic boutiques, powerful firms, and upscale dining. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampton Inn Washington, D.C./White House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing