We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Trendy Happy Hour ”
Review of Ambar Capitol Hill

Ambar Capitol Hill
Get food delivered
Ranked #5 of 3,482 Restaurants in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Eastern European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Private Dining, Reservations
Neighborhood: Capitol Hill
Description: We proudly invite our guests at Ambar to enjoy the first Dining without Limits Experience in the United States. This unique concept allows diners to savour over 40 dishes and to reorder their favorites without limitations. Ambar embraces everyone with a warm, friendly atmosphere replicating the at home experience. While we may be thousands of miles from the Balkans, with Ambar our fabled, ENDLESS hospitality is ever present. Our new dining approach transforms the traditional experience of ordering an appetizer and entree per person, to gathering around the table for a feast. Our guests enjoy authentic dishes within different categories, like grilled meats and seafood, slow-cooked fare, authentic spreads, baked flatbreads, and pies. Everyone who visits us is welcome to explore 40 unique dishes and the indigenous Balkan premium wines, as well as an expansive collection of traditional brandy called rakia. ZIVELI & WELCOME TO A NEW WAY OF DINING WHERE QUALITY MEETS EXPERIENCE AND VALUE
Reviewed July 20, 2016 via mobile

My husband and I were visiting Washington DC for one overnight and wanted to experience a DC hot spot. Ambar was on the top of every list! We walked a few miles to get there and were not disappointed. We had happy hour drinks and small plated. The muscles were amazing in a flavorful cream sauce.

Date of visit: July 2016
Thank dlgarneau
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Sanja S, Guest Relations Manager at Ambar Capitol Hill, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2016

Hello,

Thank you very much for the kind words. We enjoyed reading what you had to say! :)

We hope to see you again enjoying Balkan specialties in style!

Best regards,
Sanja S

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviews (1,646)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,043 - 1,047 of 1,647 reviews

Reviewed July 20, 2016

I have eaten here on two different occasions and both times had the same fabulous experience! The food is wonderful, full of flavor and beautifully prepared. The staff is very knowledgable and friendly.

It is small, so I recommend reservations.

The menu is vast and has something for everyone. It is all small dishes so you can get as little as you want, or do the $50 deal and order as much as you want to eat and drink. I recommend going that direction so that you can try many of the amazing plates.

Can't wait to go back!

Date of visit: July 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank kwilk67
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Sanja S, Guest Relations Manager at Ambar Capitol Hill, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2016

Hello,

Thank you for the kind words and great recommendation.
We look forward to welcoming you back!

Best regards!

Sanja S

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2016 via mobile

Having never tried Balkan good before, the hostess tempted us in with descriptions of the food and staff. We were not disappointed! Even my kids (one of whom is not an adventurous eater) loved everything! A favorite was one of the cheese chili spreads and the wrapped cabbage leaves. Dessert in the form of cinnamon fritters and gnocchi (not what you think) are divine! We loved this place.

Date of visit: July 2016
Thank 161kimd
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Sanja S, Guest Relations Manager at Ambar Capitol Hill, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2016

Hello,

Thank you for the great review! We're happy to hear that our new guests left our restaurant feeling like they had a wonderful experience with Serbian cuisine!

We hope that you will visit again and try some of our other Serbian delicacies. You won’t be disappointed, we promise!

Warm regards,

Sanja S

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2016

My fiance and I visited Ambar and took advantage of the $49 per person Balkan experience meal - which is unlimited food and alcohol (house wine or select cocktails/beer). The restaurant is small plates "tapas" style and there were a lot of great, delicious options! I lived in Bosnia & Herzegovina so it was great to eat food from the Balkan region again. The ambiance is also fun and the service was excellent. My favorite dishes were the cheese pita sa sarom, the grilled asparagus, and the salmon kajmak. For dessert, the cinnamon sweet sourdough is a must!!

Date of visit: July 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank SirenitaDF
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Sanja S, Guest Relations Manager at Ambar Capitol Hill, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2016

Hello,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review and for recommending us!

We're expecting you back again soon!

Best regards!

Sanja S

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2016 via mobile

My friend and I grabbed brunch here on a hot Saturday morning. The Balkan Experience, $39 for unlimited food and drink, was appealing but we decided it was too much for us. We split the Cinnamon Sweet Sourdough--absolutely fantastic. Our friendly server Stefan explained a bit about Balkan culture and cuisine. We both got mimosas, cherry and mango. I got the prosciutto Benedict. The food was great. A pleasant brunch experience. I'd like to return for the Balkan Experience.

Date of visit: July 2016
1  Thank Valerie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Sanja S, Guest Relations Manager at Ambar Capitol Hill, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2016

Hello,

Thank you very much for taking time to write a review. We are happy to hear you loved Balkan Experience and proud to offer something completely different in DC.

We're looking forward to seeing you again. :)

Best regards,
Sanja S

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ambar Capitol Hill also viewed

 

Been to Ambar Capitol Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2023 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in the United States. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.