We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Courtyard Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom
Ranked #55 of 142 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 30, 2014

This hotel was convenient and walking distance to several location attractions. The staff was friendly and accommodating. The views were nothing to brag about, but we were not in the room for very long anyway so it didn't really matter.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank ashleam842
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erin A, General Manager at Courtyard Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2014

Dear Ashlea,

Thank you for your review of the Coutyard Foggy Bottom. I am happy to hear that our staff and accomodations helped you have a relaxing and enjoyable stay! Thank you again for staying with us and we do hope to see you again on future travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (509)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

311 - 317 of 509 reviews

Reviewed July 29, 2014

This Courtyard was in a very convenient location; easy walk to Lincoln Memorial, Vietnam wall, White House. It was in a safe neighborhood with a CVS and Dunkin Doughnuts within a block. The rooms were actually a decent size; other reviews said how small they were but we had a family of 4 (kids ages 20 and 22) and had plenty of room. Our first night we had problems with our keys not working; the staff quickly gave us free breakfast for the next morning even though we were in for the night. Most of the staff was helpful; our first night we had to ask twice for more towels. We asked for restaurant recommendations and we were given a list of close places which I think should be given at check in but was very helpful. We would stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erin A, General Manager at Courtyard Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2014

Thank you for your review of the Courtyard Foggy Bottom. I am happy to hear that we were able to provide you with comfortable accomodations for your stay and that youenjoyed our prime location. I do apologize that your towel request was not honored in a timely manner, and will address this with our team. Please know that this is not a typical occuance and accept my apologies. We do hope that if you are in the area again that we can have you as our guest, and thank you for staying with us!

Safe and happy travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2014

This is a really nice property in walking distance to the national mall and many attractions. the staff at the front desk, especially Willis, were helpful and friendly.
My only complaint - had to call each morning to have more regular coffee packets brought to the room because they only left 1 each day - not enough. also, the coffee in the room may very well be the weakest coffee I have ever tasted.
so, enjoy, but get coffee elsewhere!

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank rochestertraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erin A, General Manager at Courtyard Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2014

Thank you for your review of our property, I am so happy to hear that our front desk staff and especially Willis were able to take good care of you during your stay. We receive many comments on his amazing customer service skills and care for our guests, and I will pass your comments along to him and the team! I do apologize that the in-room coffe was unsatisfactory, and that you were not provided enough. If you happen to stay at our peoperty in the future please feel free to request additional coffee in the room during your reservation, and we will make sure it is provided to you. We also proudly serve Starbucks coffe 24 hours a day in our Bistro. Thank you again for staying with us, and please do not hesitate to reach out to me in the future.

We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2014

What can I say this is hotel is awesome especial Julie she works at the front desk and she goes above and beyond!!! we got Tickets for the big bus tour and also she made sure we got in the Founding Farmers restaurant.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank johnJ5290NL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David C, Front Office Manager at Courtyard Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom, responded to this reviewResponded July 27, 2014

Thank you so much for your review of the Courtyard Washington DC/Foggy Bottom. I am glad that you were able to take advantage of our great location, close to a lot of the key main attractions and restaurants. I am excited by the fact that our staff had an impact on your stay. I will be sharing this great information with our staff and we hope to see you again in the near future.

Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2014

The hotel is convenient to Department of State and George Washington University. Plenty of places to eat within a short walk, a CVS a block away, and Dunkin Donuts for a quick easy breakfast. Staff't really didn't go out of their way ... when I tried to buy a bottle of water from the lobby, the person on the desk said we're out, never offered any apology (it's the middle of summer in DC' .. don't you think guests would want water ?) Along those lines, I was disappointed that I didn't get any water, etc as an arrival gift (as a gold member that is somewhat the norm across the country in other Marriotts). A very good location near the mall. . Bottom line = average.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BGouker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David C, Front Office Manager at Courtyard Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2014

I want to first apologize for your experience, and I can assure you that this is not a typical experience in regards to the amenities we offer. I do thank you for your feedback, as I will be using it as a coaching and training opportunity. Once again, thank you for staying with us, and I do hope that if your travels bring you to the Washington DC area again, you give us another opportunity to exceed your expectations.

Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2014 via mobile

The Foggy Bottom Courtyard is just okay. Nice clean rooms, but small. AC seemed to run too warm. Excellent location makes up for what you lack in the room. Walking distance to mall, White House and Lincoln Memorial.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kell108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David C, Front Office Manager at Courtyard Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom, responded to this reviewResponded July 27, 2014

Thank you for your review of our property. I am so happy that you were able to enjoy our prime location to explore this beautiful city. We do hope to see you again if your travels bring you to Washington DC in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2014

Conveniently located, within walking distance of the mall and museums. Staff was welcoming, Willis at front desk and Nancy at bistro were very warm, friendly, helpful and professional. Room was a decent size with pleasant decor. We had a great stay!

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Robert I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David C, Front Office Manager at Courtyard Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom, responded to this reviewResponded July 27, 2014

Thank you for your very kind review of our property, I am so happy that you were able to take advantage of our great location! Our guests are our top priority, so it is wonderful to hear that our staff was able to make your visit that much more enjoyable.

Thank you again for staying with us! Wishing you safe and happy future travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
State Plaza Hotel
State Plaza Hotel
#33 of 142 in Washington DC
1,772 reviews
Downtown / Chinatown
Hampton Inn Washington, D.C./White House
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Residence Inn Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom
Residence Inn Washington, DC/Fog...
#90 of 142 in Washington DC
684 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Hotel Hive
Hotel Hive
#4 of 142 in Washington DC
519 reviews
Upper Northwest
Courtyard Washington Convention Center
Dupont Circle
Courtyard by Marriott Washington Embassy Row
Courtyard by Marriott Washington...
#41 of 142 in Washington DC
704 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom

Address: 515 20th St NW, Washington DC, DC 20006-5010
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #55 of 142 Hotels in Washington DC
Price Range: $99 - $427 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom 3*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Make the most of your business or leisure trip in the nation's capital when you choose Courtyard Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom, one of the most innovative Foggy Bottom hotels Washington, DC has to offer. The new state-of-the-art lobby provides greater flexibility and choices for our guests and a welcoming atmosphere unique among Foggy Bottom hotels near George Washington University. At the center of it all is The Bistro, your restaurant destination for a great breakfast and lunch during the day, or drinks and dinner during the evening. You'll also enjoy inviting, flexible spaces where you can work or relax, free Wi-Fi throughout this DC Foggy Bottom hotel, and easy access to the latest news, weather and airport conditions via our GoBoard technology. Plus, our well-equipped fitness center and indoor pool will help you stay refreshed and energized. Whether traveling for business or pleasure, your stay at Courtyard is sure to be more comfortable, more productive and more enjoyable than at other hotels in Foggy Bottom near Metro. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Courtyard Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing