We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, very nice room, but 'free' WiFi is barely worth what it costs”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Courtyard Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom
Ranked #43 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Dunbarton, NH
Level Contributor
33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Great location, very nice room, but 'free' WiFi is barely worth what it costs”
Reviewed June 23, 2014

The location is superb, and the staff is very friendly and helpful. The room is nice, clean and well-appointed, although the closet space is rather tight for a seven-day stay. The safes are in the bottoms of the closets, so you'll have to get down on your hands and knees to use them, and the free WiFi only gives 1.55 mbps...not much better than dial-up. For 5$ per day, I could get "3 times" that speed...which would put it up in DSL range...pretty poor for this day & age.
Other than that, it seems like a great place.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Archmac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erin A, General Manager at Courtyard Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Dear Archmac,

Thank you for your review of the Courtyard Foggy Bottom, I am happy to hear that our new guestrooms provided a comfortable stay. I do appreciate you feedback on areas of improvement for the rooms, and I apologize for the internet speed not meeting your needs during your stay. I do hope that if you are in the area again, we have the opportunity to serve you.

Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

471 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    218
    190
    51
    7
    5
See reviews for
173
103
29
109
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, Minnesota
Level Contributor
135 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2014

Great gym for the size of this. Lobby/bar area needs work. Understaffed. Out of soft drinks completely and only one person serving a large crowd at the bar. The new food setup at Courtyard is a failure.

Room terribly overpriced. 350 for one night

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Midnightdiner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erin A, General Manager at Courtyard Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Dear MidnightDiner,

I want to thank you for your review and feedback on your stay with us. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed our fitness center. I do apologize for your experience in our Bistro, while we are a very busy location, it is not typical that we run out of items and I will surely use your feedback as a training opportunity for our team. I do hope that if you are in the Washington DC are a in teh future, you give us another opportunity to exceed your expectations.

Thank you again, and wishing you safe and happy travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northeast
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2014

We stayed here last summer on the way back from a trip to VA, and it couldn't have worked out better. The hotel is conveniently located, with a bike rental rack across the street, and walking distance to the National Mall. Nice staff, and a great setup off the lobby with many food options. It worked out so well, we are planning on doing the same stopover again, and look forward to being back there.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelin'NE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erin A, General Manager at Courtyard Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Dear Travelin'NE

I want to thank you for your review of our property, and I am so happy to hear that you enjoyed our prime location and dedicated staff. We take great pride in ensuring a relaxing and enjoyable experience for our guests. I will be passing along your kind words to our entire team. Thank you again, and we look forward to seeing you the next time you are in the Washington DC area.

Safe and happy travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
70 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2014

Disclaimer: I booked last minute, so that affected the room price. This is a very nice Courtyard, with a generally very friendly and excellent staff. The bed was a little hard for my tastes, but still comfortable enough for sleep. I did not park a car. It's about a 10 minute walk from Metro stations, though a 20-30 minute walk to most of the museums on the National Mall. It was very convenient to my work (near the Metro stations), which is why I stayed here (particularly since it was what was halfway reasonably priced at last-minute).

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erin A, General Manager at Courtyard Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom, responded to this review, June 15, 2014
Dear Kim,

I am happy to hear that our staff and location were able to make your business stay with us both productive and enjoyable. I greatly appreciate your review and feedback and will be passing it along to the rest of our team. We do hope to see you again, if your travels bring you back to the Washington DC area.

Thank you again, and safe and happy travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
53 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2014

I stay here about once a month for business travel and am never disappointed.

Location: A few blocks from the National Mall. Very safe area. Walking distance from many things. About a $20 cab ride from Reagan.

Parking: I have never parked a car here, but there is an onsite garage.

Rooms: Newly updated, always clean. Standard Courtyard finishes. Definitely request a high room if possible.

Check In/Staff: Check in is always quick, staff is always very welcoming and helpful.

I will continue to stay here for my business travel. Good location, great staff, updated rooms, good price.

Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelbugs1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erin A, General Manager at Courtyard Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom, responded to this review, June 15, 2014
Thank you for your review of our property, and your continued loyalty as our guest! I am always happy to hear when our staff, location, and amenities make travel productive and enjoyable at the same time. I look forward to seeing you on future visits, and please feel free to reach out to me or any of our staff so we can continue to make your stays pleasureable

Thank you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, Mississippi
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2014

I stayed at this hotel for 4 nights in Washington and they were the best 4 nights I have stayed at a hotel. My mother and I spent 4 nights here and wanted to be near my sister at George Washington University. The foggy bottom district is the best place to be. It is only a few blocks from The White House, Washington Monument, and the National Mall. It is also only a few blocks from the Metro station. It is near the GWU campus which makes for little street noise even though you are in the heart of D.C. it was only a 20 minute walk to Georgetown, but I would recommend riding bikes there for only 10 minutes. The front desk staff couldn't have been more helpful and kind. Willie and Julie were especially helpful and friendly. The hotel seemed brand new and very modern with contemporary furniture and comfy bedding. Very clean as usual!

There was a bike rental place right across the street called Capitol BikeShare. I would highly recommend using this service if you want to see the sights in an efficient and tireless way. There are stations all over DC where you can lock in your bike and pick it up anytime for free. Only 7 bucks per bike for a day!

Overall, our trip was very successful. We saw everything we wanted and more! I have traveled all over the world and I have to suggest this hotel if you want a great DC visit!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Holman B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erin A, General Manager at Courtyard Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom, responded to this review, June 15, 2014
Thank you so much for your review of the Courtyard Wahington DC/Foggy Bottom. I love to hear when guests are able to take advantage of our excellent location and see the many sights that Washington DC has to offer. I will be passing along your kind feedback to our guest service agents, as they work very hard to ensure each of our guests has a comfortable, productive and enjoyable stay. Thank you again, and we hope to see you on future visits to the Washington DC/ GWU area.

Wishing you safe and happy future travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesapeake, Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2014

I booked the hotel through Priceline for $80 dollars a night, this did not include tax and other fees, but I think that I got a good deal. Parking is not included, however available. You will save money by using spothero (We saved $40, enough for pizza at Bertucci's, delicious). The hotel rooms have that new modern feel, and the staff was excellent. The beds are comfortable however, their refrigerator is extremely small. We were trying to save money by eating a few meals at the hotel, and had to keep our cooler full of ice (free at hotel). The swimming pool is small with poor acuostics (located in basement), but my kids enjoyed it. It has a great location and we walked to the Smithsonian Museums and Monuments.

Room Tip: In D.C. always take parking and location into account.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erin A, General Manager at Courtyard Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom, responded to this review, June 15, 2014
Thank you for your review of our hotel, I am happy to hear that you were able to enjoy our prime location, fresh rooms, and that our staff was able to take care of you and your family on your vacation. We do hope that if your travels bring you to the Washington, DC area we are able to have you as our guest again.

Thank you again, and Happy Travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
State Plaza Hotel
State Plaza Hotel
#38 of 141 in Washington DC
1,678 reviews
Downtown / Chinatown
Hampton Inn Washington, D.C./White House
Upper Northwest
Courtyard Washington Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dupont Circle
AKA White House
AKA White House
#25 of 141 in Washington DC
726 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Hotel Hive
Hotel Hive
#3 of 141 in Washington DC
286 reviews
Washington Marriott at Metro Cen...
#47 of 141 in Washington DC
954 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom

Property: Courtyard Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom
Address: 515 20th St NW, Washington DC, DC 20006-5010
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom 3*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Make the most of your business or leisure trip in the nation's capital when you choose Courtyard Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom, one of the most innovative Foggy Bottom hotels Washington, DC has to offer. The new state-of-the-art lobby provides greater flexibility and choices for our guests and a welcoming atmosphere unique among Foggy Bottom hotels near George Washington University. At the center of it all is The Bistro, your restaurant destination for a great breakfast and lunch during the day, or drinks and dinner during the evening. You'll also enjoy inviting, flexible spaces where you can work or relax, free Wi-Fi throughout this DC Foggy Bottom hotel, and easy access to the latest news, weather and airport conditions via our GoBoard technology. Plus, our well-equipped fitness center and indoor pool will help you stay refreshed and energized. Whether traveling for business or pleasure, your stay at Courtyard is sure to be more comfortable, more productive and more enjoyable than at other hotels in Foggy Bottom near Metro. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your Courtyard Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing