We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Excellent Service, Location and Rooms” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Courtyard Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom
Ranked #38 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Bellingham, WA
Level Contributor
80 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Excellent Service, Location and Rooms”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

Stayed at this property before when it was a Doubletree, significant upgrades to room, service and benefits. Greeted warmly every time we came through the front door and all our needs were met. The breakfast and evening reception are great and satisfying. The room upgrades with the full kitchen are great. Two blocks to the Metro and three blocks to Whole Foods provides for easy transportation and great food shopping.

Room Tip: All rooms seem to have same layout, higher rooms are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Terry P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carla B, General Manager at Courtyard Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom, responded to this review, January 3, 2016
Thank you again and we hope to have another opportunity for you to be our guest and to feel the quality service and accommodations that we provide.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

411 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    186
    166
    48
    7
    4
See reviews for
151
90
25
95
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

I booked 3 rooms for our group of 7 and everyone was happy with my selection. The hotel is only 9 months old and it looks great. The hotel location is good if you like to walk. It is about a 10 minute walk to the White House and the mall. The staff was friendly. They only have valet parking and it isn't cheap. There is a Starbucks, Subway and Dunkin Donuts right outside the front door but there are not a lot of sit down restaurants close by. We walked to M Street in Georgetown and it was about a 1.5 mile walk. We did not take the Metro but it looks like it is about a 10 to 15 minute walk. I will definitely stay here again. I love staying at new hotels.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MomK123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carla B, General Manager at Courtyard Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom, responded to this review, January 3, 2016
Thank you for taking the time to let us know of your experience. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune, India
Level Contributor
46 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

I stayed at courtyard Marriott foggy bottom for 2 days.

They were very kind enough to accommodate early check in and do late checkout for us.

This hotel has excellent location if you are visiting Smithsonian in washington DC.

Most of the memorials and museum lies within 1-2 miles walking distance.

Also there are nearby metro station which lies within .5 miles.

Ambience of the hotel was quite great and overall feel is quite comforting.

Staff is very courteous and helpful.

Definitely recommend this if you are visiting washingtion DC for its famous museums and memorials.

And don't miss "ZOO LIGHTS" as they say :)

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank harishlohar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carla B, General Manager at Courtyard Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom, responded to this review, January 3, 2016
Thank you again and we hope to have another opportunity for you to be our guest and to feel the quality service and accommodations that we provide.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

We had a great stay at the Courtyard. The service was friendly, and the concierge was very helpful and warm. Even after we checked out, the concierge made a balloon animal for my son while we were waiting for our car. The valet service was very patient and understanding. The room was very well organized.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HFY_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carla B, Manager at Courtyard Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom, responded to this review, December 31, 2015
Thank you very much for staying with us and for letting us knows about your experience!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
41 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

There was nothing all that wrong with the hotel and the location was good for what I needed to do on business, but the first morning there I had maid service and after they were gone, the library book I had brought with me was gone. I declined service the rest of the stay and notified management but the book did not turn up. Very disappointing (and expensive to buy a hardcover book from the library) so I will be looking for other accommodations on future trips to D.C. If others choose to stay here I would decline housekeeping and your stay will be fine.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ginger1369
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carla B, General Manager at Courtyard Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom, responded to this review, December 31, 2015
I am sorry that we failed you in some aspects but I am very appreciative of the candid feedback so we may focus and improve. Thank you very much being with us and for letting us know about your experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Vermont
Level Contributor
48 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

I made a trip to D.C. on the spur of the moment, and called this hotel from the Reagan airport. The taxi ride to the hotel was short, around 10 minutes. I was very pleased with the cleanliness of the room. My first thought--"was this newly renovated?" There was no "hotel smell" at all. The bathroom decor was pretty. The following morning, I had breakfast downstairs. The two women running the breakfast area were so pleasant. I would definitely come back here again. This is an excellent hotel for GWU parents.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marieeddy9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carla B, Manager at Courtyard Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom, responded to this review, December 23, 2015
It was so nice to read your comments about your recent stay; thank you very much. We truly appreciate that you were with us for this special visit to D.C. and so thankful you took the time to share your experience. We hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowan
Level Contributor
49 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2013

We had tickets to the national Christmas tree lighting, and so wanted to get a hotel room that wouldn't be too far a walk afterwards. This fit that bill, and did it in style! We stayed in a suite, which was quite large. It was very nicely decorated and comfortable. We arrived early and our room wasn't ready, but they helpfully held our luggage until we returned from the ceremony. The valet parking was expensive, but we knew about it ahead of time and chose it anyway, so that wasn't a big deal. The bed was wonderfully comfortable...I could have stayed in there forever! Our view was nothing to brag about, simply facing another building.

When we came back from the ceremony, wet and tired after sitting in the rain, we were hungry. None of us felt like getting dressed in any dry clothes except pajamas, so I talked to a lady at the Bistro, the restaurant in the hotel, and she was amazingly helpful. Though they don't offer room service, she allowed me to order our meal and then called up to our room when it was ready so we could pick it up and eat in our room. She was truly just so nice and friendly. I wish I had gotten her name so that I could write the hotel and compliment her. Whichever employee was working at around 6:30 pm at the Bistro on the night of the 6th is really an asset to your hotel! :) In any case, the food was good. Since we had booked a package that included breakfast, we also ate there in the morning. It was fun to sit in a booth that had a private tv; my kids got a kick out of that! Breakfast was good and filling.

The pool was very small, but the kids got some energy out and had fun, so that was what mattered to us. It would have been nice to see a hot tub, but really, in downtown DC it was nice just to have an indoor pool! It was nice and warm in the pool area, which is always nice.

As far as location, this might not be the best for general sightseeing. It's only a few blocks from the White House, but for going up and down the Mall might be a little far. Visiting GWU, it's probably perfect. It suited our needs.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank iowakrb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carla B, General Manager at Courtyard Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom, responded to this review, January 3, 2016
Thank you for taking the time to let us know of your experience. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
State Plaza Hotel
State Plaza Hotel
#34 of 141 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 stars 1,486 reviews
Dupont Circle
Hampton Inn Washington, D.C./White House
JW Marriott Washington, DC
#63 of 141 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 stars 2,526 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper Northwest
Courtyard Washington Convention Center
Courtyard Washington Convention ...
#21 of 141 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 961 reviews
Dupont Circle
AKA White House
AKA White House
#20 of 141 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 608 reviews
Washington Marriott at Metro Cen...
#42 of 141 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 773 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom

Property: Courtyard Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom
Address: 515 20th St NW, Washington DC, DC 20006-5010
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom 3*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Make the most of your business or leisure trip in the nation's capital when you choose Courtyard Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom, one of the most innovative Foggy Bottom hotels Washington, DC has to offer. The new state-of-the-art lobby provides greater flexibility and choices for our guests and a welcoming atmosphere unique among Foggy Bottom hotels near George Washington University. At the center of it all is The Bistro, your restaurant destination for a great breakfast or drinks and dinner during the evening. You'll also enjoy inviting, flexible spaces where you can work or relax, free Wi-Fi throughout this DC Foggy Bottom hotel, and easy access to the latest news, weather and airport conditions via our GoBoard technology. Plus, our well-equipped fitness center and indoor pool will help you stay refreshed and energized. Whether traveling for business or pleasure, your stay at Courtyard is sure to be more comfortable, more productive and more enjoyable than at other hotels in Foggy Bottom near Metro. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Courtyard Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing