We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Close to GWU and the Washington Mall” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Courtyard Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Courtyard Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom
Ranked #49 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Close to GWU and the Washington Mall”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2013

Excellently located hotel with reasonable sized-rooms. The hotel is small and maybe a bit cramped but the fresh interior spaces that were clean and well-appointed overshadowed the smallness of the rooms. There is a Starbuck's 100 yds from the front door and the Washington Mall starts just a short 5-10 mintute walk from the hotel. Breakfast was not great and somewhat expensive. I am not sure I spend my time or money ther if I stayed there again. For families visiting the area to see GWU, this was a great option at a reasonable price. Front desk people were helpful, but the valet was a little rude and not very responsive to getting your car.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sandy s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carla B, General Manager at Courtyard Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom, responded to this review, December 31, 2015

It's great to hear that you enjoyed another stay with us and we hope to have you back many more times! Our convenient location to GWU makes our hotel the premier location when visiting the area. Thank you for taking the time to let us know of your experience. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

429 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    196
    171
    50
    7
    5
See reviews for
159
95
27
97
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Huntington Beach, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2013

This Courtyard Marriott opened 7 months ago and is awesome. The location I'd perfect, within walking distance or short metro to all DC sights and in the heart of George Washington University. The rooms are perfectly designed, plenty of outlets in all the right places, free wi fi , and most rooms have balconies! The rooms are very quiet. The staff is extremely welcoming and helpful, and always available. Checking in and out a breeze. Competitive rates. This is now my #1 choice every time I return to DC.

Room Tip: Request a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ReneeHB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carla B, General Manager at Courtyard Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom, responded to this review, December 31, 2015
Thank you very much being with us and for letting us know about your experience. A clean and comfortable room combined with a great location is what many of our guests want and we are more then happy to deliver on those expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manalapan, New Jersey
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2013

Nice hotel, very clean, nice size rooms and convenient parking. It’s walking distance to GW Campus but a much longer walk to the museums and other main site seeing. No one to help with luggage, so if you have a lot, it may be a pain. The only other comment is if you looking for views of Washington outside your window, you won’t find it here. All and all it was fine for the overnight trip.

Room Tip: No one to help with luggage so if you have a lot it can be a pain. Not right in the middle of the ci...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carla B, General Manager at Courtyard Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom, responded to this review, December 31, 2015
Thank you very much being with us and for letting us know about your experience. A clean and comfortable room combined with a great location is what many of our guests want and we are more then happy to deliver on those expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Level Contributor
91 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2013

staff was friendly, room was spacious and beautiful... very clean, new, stylish. i loved it. i drove, so being far from the metro was not an issue for me... but it should be noted there is only valet parking available. very near to the white house. wifi was free & worked great. my stay was very quiet. to me, the biggest asset of this hotel is the nice rooms.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank turravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carla B, Manager at Courtyard Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom, responded to this review, December 23, 2015
I would like to thank you for your recent visit to Courtyard Foggy Bottom. It was truly a pleasure to serve you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati
Level Contributor
146 reviews
138 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 189 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2013

Overall, this property was okay. Near all the monuments and white house, but a solid 10 minute walk to the nearest metro station. Bike share was right across the street. The main problem with this hotel is the inadequate use of noise proofing materials. Interior and exterior noise is excessive. The room was clean, comfortable and well appointed with free Wi-Fi. TV was too small and I found the bed to be less than ideal (although not bad). The fitness room is great but the pool is tiny. The staff was very friendly and welcoming. Overall, I guess I'd stay here again.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank cinncitraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carla B, General Manager at Courtyard Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom, responded to this review, February 8, 2016
Thank you very much for staying with us recently and also for letting us know about your experience at our hotel. We certainly read and appreciate all of the feedback we get and to have read about your stay was wonderful.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MA
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2013

This is a newer Courtyard but still shows some signs of wear (moldy calking in the shower etc.). We had a room on the backside with a stunning view of the side wall of the dorm next door. Check-in was easy and they were able to accommodate an early check-in (9:30am). Hotel café was expensive $$$ with the dining room seemingly infested with fruit flies. Location is about 0.5 miles from Foggy Bottom Metro station and the White House. Its in a college neighborhood (George Washington University). Valet parking only.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank toby495
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carla B, Manager at Courtyard Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom, responded to this review, December 31, 2015
Thank you again and we hope to have another opportunity for you to be our guest and to feel the quality service and accommodations that we provide.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stillwater, Minnesota
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2013 via mobile

This is a hotel to which in will return. I felt welcomed from the time I walked in the front door. The room was not only attractive and spacious, but it had everything I needed to work- large desk with ample plug-ins, a table on wheels for more space, a TV on a swivel and a coffee maker and frig. The lobby cafe was the perfect place to carry out a salad. Everyone was helpful and friendly.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank SeeDub2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carla B, Manager at Courtyard Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom, responded to this review, December 23, 2015
I would like to thank you for your visit to Courtyard Foggy Bottom. It was truly a pleasure to serve you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
State Plaza Hotel
State Plaza Hotel
#37 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,563 reviews
Dupont Circle
AKA White House
AKA White House
#22 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 655 reviews
Downtown / Chinatown
Hampton Inn Washington, D.C./White House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper Northwest
Courtyard Washington Convention Center
JW Marriott Washington, DC
#63 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,674 reviews
Washington Marriott at Metro Cen...
#43 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 840 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom

Property: Courtyard Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom
Address: 515 20th St NW, Washington DC, DC 20006-5010
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom 3*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Make the most of your business or leisure trip in the nation's capital when you choose Courtyard Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom, one of the most innovative Foggy Bottom hotels Washington, DC has to offer. The new state-of-the-art lobby provides greater flexibility and choices for our guests and a welcoming atmosphere unique among Foggy Bottom hotels near George Washington University. At the center of it all is The Bistro, your restaurant destination for a great breakfast or drinks and dinner during the evening. You'll also enjoy inviting, flexible spaces where you can work or relax, free Wi-Fi throughout this DC Foggy Bottom hotel, and easy access to the latest news, weather and airport conditions via our GoBoard technology. Plus, our well-equipped fitness center and indoor pool will help you stay refreshed and energized. Whether traveling for business or pleasure, your stay at Courtyard is sure to be more comfortable, more productive and more enjoyable than at other hotels in Foggy Bottom near Metro. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Marriott, Orbitz, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Courtyard Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing