We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Courtyard Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom
Ranked #45 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Palo Alto, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2013

February 2013 new hotel right on George Washington University campus 4 blocks from National Mall and 5 blocks from White House. Great Courtyard with excellent staff. Bedding is very comfortable. Bathrooms nice and functional. Flatscreen TV and free Internet in the rooms. Morning breakfast set-up nice. Valet parking is a tad expensive, but worth it if you have a car. Most importantly, the reservations staff was excellent. Accommodated early check-in from overnight flight, found some personal belongings I left and sent home via Fedex, and helped with concierge service though not expected. Great job! Only weakness was poor cell phone reception within the building. Also, several rooms face an internal courtyard but no worries if you're in/out at nights.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cpc16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carla B, Manager at Courtyard Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom, responded to this review, December 18, 2015
I am very glad that you had an amazing time with us and that we were able to make your stay a memorable one!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

461 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    215
    183
    51
    7
    5
See reviews for
170
101
28
106
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canada
Level Contributor
139 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2013

We chose this hotel for its location - 10 minutes walk to White House, 15 minutes (down south) to World War II monument, 10 minutes (up north) to a good restaurant (founding farmers). However if you will take public transit, it is not very close to subway stations, a bit of walk.

The hotel is very new (opened in Feb 2013 I think), we didn't try the onsite cafe so can't comment. Lobby has couple of computers with printer for guests to use. In all, we are happy with this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Worldtraveller2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carla B, Manager at Courtyard Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom, responded to this review, December 31, 2015
Thank you very much for staying with us and for letting us knows about your experience!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lido Beach NY
Level Contributor
41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2013

New hotel with the appearance and cleanliness as expected. Right across the street from GWU and walking distance to the White House, Washington Monument, and 1/2 mile to Reflection Pool. Furnished appropriately at its' price level with nice appointments such as individual television screens in the booths at The Bistro. The Bistro offered excellent quality food, including hot meals (hamburger, pizza) with healthier choices for all meals including a great breakfast. Valet parking with in & out. But the competitive difference is the staff. Everyone we dealt with, from valet to Bistro to housekeeping and maintenance service (our tv was unplugged & we couldn't reach it) were friendly, outgoing and generally made the stay well worth a rating of "excellent."

Room Tip: We did not have a view and did not check out the pool. There was no noise from room next store, but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank laphincow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carla B, Manager at Courtyard Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom, responded to this review, December 18, 2015
Thank you for taking the time to write such a thoughtful and gracious review. We are delighted to hear that you had an exceptional stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2013

This was the usual clean, efficient, well-done Courtyard experience. The staff was very helpful, starting with the email I got before my arrival (I wrote back with a question and got a quick response), continuing through check-in and throughout the day. It's newly done and they have the pillow-top mattresses, too soft for me. They were happy to flip it over so we could sleep on the firmer side.

The location is good---a few blocks from The White House, or from two Metro stations, and a lot of restaurants just north of George Washington University. So it made for a fine base camp for our DC touring.

The food at the bistro was okay, but I would only eat there if you're stuck. There are plenty of good restaurants about 4 blocks north of the hotel.

A nit ... the boarding pass printer was on the blink. I was able to get it to print my boarding pass (after getting it to clear out its queue of boarding passes for other people who had given up), but they really need to pay attention to this kind of small but important when you're in a rush convenience.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rawzins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carla B, Manager at Courtyard Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom, responded to this review, December 31, 2015
Thank you for taking the time to review our business. We truly value the opinions of our customers and we apologize that we did not meet your expectations. Thank you very much for staying with us and for letting us knows about your experience!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
east coast
Level Contributor
99 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights over Easter weekend. It was busy and rooms were full.

Pros:
-1/2 mile to White House (3-4 blocks); close to Lincoln Memorial as well
-restaurants nearby (Subway and Starbuck just downstairs; more restaurants about 3-4 blocks north by GWU)
-brand new- so it was very clean and new
-free internet

Cons:
-valet parking was pricy ($36) but I guess it's expected for the city
-since it is new hotel- the employees were unprepared. there were a lot of complaints during check in and lack of rooms ready. we had requested during that week to have connecting rooms (family of 6; 4 kids- so easier to share luggage and toiletry) but we didn't get it
-swimming pool was tiny- basically 2 lane width and less than a full length of pool

Room Tip: no tips- even if you call to request 2 Q beds or connecting rooms, you still didn't get it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GoMNTwins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carla B, Manager at Courtyard Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom, responded to this review, December 31, 2015
Thank you very much for staying with us and for letting us knows about your experience!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Level Contributor
56 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013

We stayed here for family trip to DC during the cherry blossom festival. The hotel is very new and was open only a month when we visited (opened Feb 2013). Due to the festival and being Easter weekend, it was booked full. We were immediately and warmly greeted. Every staff member we encountered, from the front desk to valet to cafe staff were extremely welcoming and focused on customer service. The hotel has a modern, lovely design. We had a king room with pullout sofa for our kids to sleep on. The room was on par for DC hotels - small. Our room was as far away from the elevators as possible, and we heard no noise whatsoever. Everything was spotlessly clean as you would expect from a brand new property.

A complaint about the room is that the TV is set near the desk on the side of the room adjacent to the wardrobe cabinet. That makes TV viewing at night from the bed awkward. One glitch was that we wanted extra pillows (we had one for each family member) but the hotel had no spare pillows because they were full. Perhaps they can invest in some extra pillows, as I can imagine we weren't the only folks they could not accommodate. We did ask for extra towels and a blanket, and they responded very promptly. Their on-site cafe is not a full restaurant. It is walk up service with Starbucks coffee, sandwiches, and pastries. They were shorthanded in the morning and the wait time for a breakfast sandwich was 30 minutes. Because of being so busy, front desk staff members were often tied up helping other folks. Valet at times also seemed shorthanded.

The hotel is located in a quiet area near GWU, and about 1/3 mile from some nice restaurants on Pennsylvania Avenue. The national mall (White House area) is walking distance. The on-site parking is $36/night on weekdays and $25/night on weekends. For weekends, you will not find nearby alternative parking options. They let you come and go as needed for the flat price.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank twoplustwins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carla B, Manager at Courtyard Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom, responded to this review, December 31, 2015
Thank you very much for staying with us and for letting us knows about your experience!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2013

I recently stayed on night on business. Check-in was smooth and the front desk staff were helpful. I had dinner in the restaurant and I found the staff to be very helpful and friendly. I ordered a steak with vegetables knowing full well it might not be great but, in fact, it was very tasty and well prepared. The room was clean and comfortable.

The only negative's I experienced:
1-Noise in the hallway was loud
2-I was missing some things in my room - like lids to coffee cups and a plastic liner for the ice bucket
3-I was told at check-in that they had room service (bistro to go or something) and when I called down to order someone told me there was no such thing as room service. There is obviously some confusion among front desk staff.

Overall my stay was very pleasant and the staff were very accommodating.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AW0314
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carla B, Manager at Courtyard Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom, responded to this review, December 31, 2015
Thank you very much being with us and for letting us know about your experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
State Plaza Hotel
State Plaza Hotel
#37 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,638 reviews
Upper Northwest
Courtyard Washington Convention Center
Dupont Circle
AKA White House
AKA White House
#25 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 712 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / Chinatown
Hampton Inn Washington, D.C./White House
JW Marriott Washington, DC
#65 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,839 reviews
Washington Marriott at Metro Cen...
#48 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 916 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom

Property: Courtyard Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom
Address: 515 20th St NW, Washington DC, DC 20006-5010
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom 3*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Make the most of your business or leisure trip in the nation's capital when you choose Courtyard Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom, one of the most innovative Foggy Bottom hotels Washington, DC has to offer. The new state-of-the-art lobby provides greater flexibility and choices for our guests and a welcoming atmosphere unique among Foggy Bottom hotels near George Washington University. At the center of it all is The Bistro, your restaurant destination for a great breakfast or drinks and dinner during the evening. You'll also enjoy inviting, flexible spaces where you can work or relax, free Wi-Fi throughout this DC Foggy Bottom hotel, and easy access to the latest news, weather and airport conditions via our GoBoard technology. Plus, our well-equipped fitness center and indoor pool will help you stay refreshed and energized. Whether traveling for business or pleasure, your stay at Courtyard is sure to be more comfortable, more productive and more enjoyable than at other hotels in Foggy Bottom near Metro. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Courtyard Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing