We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good ambiance, great service, food can be better..”

Farmers Fishers Bakers
Reserve with OpenTable
Farmers Fishers Bakers is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #49 of 3,237 Restaurants in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $50
Cuisines: Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Thomas Jefferson Street, NW
Transit: The closest Metro stop is on the Orange/Blue line at GW/Foggy Bottom station, approximately 8 blocks away, about a 12 minute walk. The red Circulator bus stops in front of The Washington Harbour complex on K St. NW.
Description: Farmers Fishers Bakers is majority owned by the more than 40,000 family farmers of the NDFU. Offering a full bar with 24 beer taps, delicious hand crafted tiki cocktails, sushi, pizza, fresh fish, tacos, and a sunny patio with water views. We're proud to cook food from scratch with ingredients you can trust.
Hong Kong, China
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Good ambiance, great service, food can be better..”
Reviewed April 2, 2013 via mobile

We've ordered the pretzels, the guacamole and chicken wings as most reviewers recommended and they were just awesome. The main courses were comparatively disappointing as the steaks were returned as they were overcooked. Our waitress was so apologetic and therefore even though our new plates arrived and the meat quality was substandard, we just kept quiet. She saw we barely touch our meat and bothered to come by and checked on us again ( trust me a lot of them would rather turned a blind eyes as ' no news is good news') it is this great service attitude we thought we must tell them how to become better.
There are always hick-ups in restaurants but good service makes us more forgiving!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Principessaciu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,155 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    529
    400
    145
    59
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Boulder, Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Great choice”
Reviewed April 2, 2013

You could hardly want for a better setting than this. Located riverside to the Potomac, with a nice boardwalk, dancing water fountain and view of the Kennedy Center. The food, scene and decor were all top-notch. Attention to drinks, food and service were very high. Highly recommended. Be sure to make reservations.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank waterwings13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Not what was expected”
Reviewed March 31, 2013 via mobile

There is an extensive and interesting sounding menu that could have been better explained by the server. The food was not as good as it menu made it seem. All drinks were not served at the same time -3 arrived quickly & there was a 10 minute wait for the other 2. Food also served in a similar manner. To their defense 2 issues with the food were remedied quickly and the bill adjusted accordingly.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jacobfc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Good food, disorganized service”
Reviewed March 30, 2013

The food here was quite good but the service and organization was pretty bad. We had a reservation for 7:30, but still had to wait 30 minutes before we were seated! In my book, "reservation" means your table is waiting for you. Instead, we were repeatedly told that they were just cleaning the table and it would be ready soon. I'm not sure why a table would take 30 minutes to clean.

We had one of the tables that is sort of shaped like a cave. The was a cool ambiance, but the acoustics were terrible and it was hard to even hear the person seated across the table. Also, the light at our table was not working so it was pretty dark and hard to see the menu. This wasn't a big deal, but just increased the impression of disorganization. Even the menu itself seemed disorganized and difficult to read.

The food, however, was good. I like their focus on sustainable and local ingredients. The kale salad, as recommended by others here, was great. The polenta and meatless meatloaf from the vegetarian menu were great, as was the local rockfish. Desserts looked great too, but we were too full order one.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ksd8y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Vacation”
Reviewed March 29, 2013 via mobile

A party of 9 with several kids a local recommended Farmers Fishers Bakers. We had everything to eat from cheeseburgers, seafood, and tacos. Everyone lived their food. Fun atmosphere. Call for reservation

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WhiteRabbit73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Farmers Fishers Bakers also viewed

 
Washington DC, DC
Washington DC, DC
 

Been to Farmers Fishers Bakers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing