We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“What a great place”
other travelers have booked this property
Metro 3 blks. away in  the heart of our Arts District: 5 short stops to downtown
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Metro 3 blks. away in  the heart of our Arts District: 5 short stops to downtown
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
23 reviews
Metro 3 blks. away in  the heart of our Arts District: 5 short stops to downtown
Big bright master bedroom at the MONROE HOUSE.
Detached fully renovated house with driveway, great outdoor space.
King bedroom can be set up as twins.
Dining Room
Bright kitchen with breakfast nook.
Breakfast nook off kitchen.
Dining room looking into kitchen.
Living room, front door
Looking into sunroom from living room.
Living room with 42' TV.
Living room with big L couch.
Upper deck seating area.
Covered front porch.
Upstairs Bathroom.
Italian tile and euro towel warmer.
Spices, oil, vinegar, paper towels, and more at the ready in Kitchen.
Powder room on main floor includes sink, towels ant toilet paper.
Office in the sun room with House Guide and neighborhood and city info.
Sunny front bedroom with big screen TV.
Upstairs hall: Oak floors through out both floors.
MONROE HOUSE is surrounded by a lush garden.
Organic Market in the neighborhood.
Large back yard.
Big lower deck with lounge chairs.
Lower yard, 4th out door seating area.
garden by the driveway
gardens off herbs and vegetables in season
Large two-bedroom detached house.
Art in Brookland
The Franciscan Monastery is 2 blks away
Free Public Gardens 2 blocks away
Cool walking archways in the garden
Garden extends over acres, built in early 1900s
Great for walking
A neighborhood with lots of history, restaurants & easy access to tourist sights.
Welcome to an historic neighborhood in the heart of the city, close to Smithsonian Mall.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Washington DC, District of Columbia

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 23 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Christine...
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“What a great place”
Reviewed May 7, 2015 for a stay in April 2015
2
people found this review helpful

We spent a week in DC this April. Renting Rosie's house was one of the smartest things we ever did. We drove from New England to DC. Parking is at a premium in DC, so the parking spot was ideal for us. The house was clean, nicely decorated, with a lovely back yard and garden. The two rooms were perfect for a family of four. My teenage sons took the bedroom with the twin beds and my husband and I took the master bedroom. We were able to take the Metro to just about everywhere; we just filled up the Passcards Rosie provided and went. There is a CVS (pharmacy) and a Yes! Organic Market about two blocks away. There is a Giant Supermarket a short drive down 13th street. We ate in, which saved us money as well. My son was thrilled with the foot massager (actually, we all took advantage of that perk!) My husband and I spent some time on the porch relaxing, which was very nice. It felt really nice to have a home to return to after touring DC. thank you so much for sharing your house with us Rosie.

Date of stay: April 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TMPTWick
Durham, Connecticut
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Enjoyed our stay at the Monroe House with our children; close to Metro”
Reviewed May 2, 2015 for a stay in April 2015
1
person found this review helpful

This is the second year we’ve stayed at the Monroe House, and again we had a great time. The Metro is super convenient, the neighborhood has many restaurants and CVS is right around the corner for necessities. The house itself is provides plenty of room for us and our children, giving us room to relax after busy days. And the yard gives the kids some room to play when they still have energy to burn. We’d hope to stay here again any time we have the occasion to return to D.C. for a few days.

Date of stay: April 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brett121
aus
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent accommodation, excellent location, excellent owner communication for occupier.”
Reviewed October 28, 2014 for a stay in October 2014
2
people found this review helpful

The house was in a lovely area ,close to the metro and thus all the sites of Washington. You could enjoy spending time in the local area,the basilica alone is worth a lengthy visit.The owner even left metro cards for us to use on the trains. The house was comfortable with all the amenities needed for a relaxing stay.

Date of stay: October 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location
Liked least: steep steps up to the bedrooms
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ladson, South Carolina
Reviewed August 25, 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Date of stay: August 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Teenagers
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
IrishGeri
Los Angeles, California
1 review
“Perfect”
Reviewed June 20, 2014 for a stay in June 2014

So happy we did this...What a cute house, it was clean and well located for easy access to all the sights. We rented a car, but the metro also runs well in DC and there were cards at the house that you could load for use to mKe it easy....We were gone most of the day, but with older teens, it was nice to get home and everyone had room to spread out... All the amenities for cooking were there including an outdoor grill, but other than breakfast and maybe a cup of tea in the evenings, we mostly ate out and liked to try the best of the local cuisine....If you're thinking of a vacation in DC,I would highly recommend Monroe house..Rosie made the whole process easy...

Date of stay: June 2014
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fareham, United Kingdom
Reviewed June 1, 2014 for a stay in May 2014

Date of stay: May 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The back garden and deck
Traveling group: Teenagers
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Llinman
1 review
“Beautiful, clean, peaceful, centrally located to restaurants and metro - we were very pleased.”
Reviewed May 20, 2014 for a stay in May 2014

We spent four nights at this property. The owners helped us with everything from directions to locating things in the home. We were welcome to pick fresh veggies from the garden and the owner was accommodating even so far as letting us use her grocery bags and umbrellas. We were very comfortable, and it felt like home away from home. Perfect.

Date of stay: May 2014
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing