We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“little hot water for shower was the big problem”
Review of DC Lofty

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
DC Lofty
Reviewed April 30, 2014

the big pros are the convenient location and the friendly staff. now, or course there we need to adjust our expectations when we go for budget accomodation. so if ot was just for the walls badly needing a coat of paint and the rundown carpet, this prperty would get four stars. But then the very uncomfortable matress in the private room i stayed (room 6) would drop it to three. And then there was the issue of hot water in the shower.... lasted for some 2 minutes on my first attempt to take a shower and less than1 minute on the second day (no, i was not taking a looooong shower). and the other problem was to find left over candy wrapers behind the door in my room, showing that the cleaning staff is not that carefull... and these brought it down to the2 star eveluation.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Paulo C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (157)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

64 - 70 of 157 reviews

Reviewed April 25, 2014

The staff were really friendly and helpful, helping to organise trips and activites in the hostel if you wanted to and give advice. The hostel isn't buzzing though, activities only run if people say they want to do it. The atmosphere is nice, everyone is pretty friendly and chatty.
I loved having the kitchen (although there is no oven so we baked brownies in a grill!). The location is okay, 11 blocks from The Mall and close to restaurants, supermarkets and laundrettes. The rooms are bright and relatively spacious.
I loved my time at DC Lofty. The weather was great, the staff were on hand to take us to the jacuzzi and roof top pool, they helped us cook BBQ and watched basketball playoffs together. It's clean, there's some free food, cheap activites, beautiful location street and house. Win win!

Room Tip: All rooms come with an ensuite and there's always a bathroom on the floor you're staying on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Remi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2014

Had a pleasant stay at this hostel. I didn't bring a lock or have money to buy one but all my possessions felt perfectly safe in the 8 bed mixed dorm i was staying in.

a bit of a bother moving from one building to another during the winter to get to the kitchen. Also the door code resetting could have gone more smoothly (some kind of warning before it happened so everyone didn't have to ring the bell to get in)

But most of the staff were nice and the other guest were friendly. great location.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sarahtyped
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2014

Great astmophere. Staff are very friendly and immediately gets you into the flow of things and how everything works.brigette does a good job of making sure your stay is the best quality possible. Having relationships with the staff and others who stay makes your stay better. I have a feeling during my next two nights the place will grow on me and it may become a second home.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2014

Brgette and mich are the best people you well ever meet in the hostel business

all they do is helping and making the hostel close to home

good service , good manager and good area to stay

Stayed here for 3 nights and loved it!

Room Tip: all the room are crazy good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank abdulelah2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2014 via mobile

This hostel certainly is in a great location, with the metro close and a great supermarket down the street. There is a great kitchen with plenty of fridge space, a microwave, and stove
top. However the actual hostel was just OK. Staff was friendly, but there were only 1 or 2 working toilets in the whole place, which was really inconvenient for those on the third floor. Overall, an OK hostel, but I will probably look elsewhere the next time I am in DC.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MeagIngalls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2014

We really enjoyed our stay at DC Lofty. The bunk beds were comfortable, the bathroom and kitchen were clean, the staff were very friendly and helpful, the common areas provided enough space to read a book and relax.

*My only complaint is that an older man on the premises, who I assume to be part owner/investor, was very openly nasty to the staff working there, to the point that it made my boyfriend and I very uncomfortable to be in the same room. I am including this in my review because vile, unprofessional people like him need to be accountable for their actions and recognize the disservice they do themselves.

Room Tip: Notify reception if you will check in after 10pm ($10 fee charged) and they will provide you with co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Amanda_Pennini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Dupont Circle
Windsor Inn
Windsor Inn
#130 of 141 in Washington DC
336 reviews
HI Washington DC Hostel
#2 of 48 in Washington DC
694 reviews
Downtown Washington Hostel
#5 of 48 in Washington DC
166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Duo Housing
#6 of 48 in Washington DC
254 reviews
Adams Morgan
HighRoad Hostel DC
HighRoad Hostel DC
#3 of 48 in Washington DC
93 reviews
Mount Vernon Square
Capital View
Capital View
#17 of 48 in Washington DC
127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DC Lofty? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DC Lofty

Address: 1335 11th St NW, Washington DC, DC 20001-4219
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 48 Specialty Lodging in Washington DC
Price Range: $40 - $96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — DC Lofty 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located hostel in Washington, DC. We are just blocks, and less than 10 minutes away from The Convention Center, less than a mile from the White House, and only a metro stop away from the monuments, the museums, and all of the major attractions in the capital. Staying at DC Lofty also gives you access to Capital View, its awesome roof top patio with hammocks, lounge chairs, grill, darts, and music! Save at DC Lofty, while utilizing our rooftop pool and Jacuzzi access on weekdays! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your DC Lofty reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing