We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hostel on reasonable price with nice location”
Review of DC Lofty

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
DC Lofty
Munich, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good hostel on reasonable price with nice location”
Reviewed April 29, 2013

Location seems to be bit shabby, but neighborhood is really friendly.
Metro station is really close, walk like 6-7 minutes and need not to fear the people there!
Rooms were really large, hadn't expected this with the low prices!

Small negatives: toilet not the cleanest in the world (broken seat), shower need a really long time to heat (if at all) and the front door seems like it was broken several times (a sign reads, it will be repaired).

Overall I'd definitely recommend it and would stay there again!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AhlerKlambes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    63
    32
    17
    18
See reviews for
5
16
60
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sofia
Level 6 Contributor
163 reviews
100 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2013

It is a very comfortable hostel, with a great kitchen, located in a very convenient part, walking distance form the Mall and Dupont Circle and 18th Street...if you like walking though:)
The guys seemed very friendly and helpful and for the price, it is of great value...would stay there again...

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nocturne27p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2013

Was there for 3 nights as part of a solo travelling trip around different places in the states.

First, the location is good, but not great. It's takes about a 7-minute walk to the metro station, and from there, about 4 minutes to the National Mall. 15-minute walk to Chinatown and Gallery Place.

The hostel cleanliness is remarkable, and frankly speaking, I'm impressed that they disallowed shoes in the rooms and all, making it a much pleasant experience. My only problem is that my room is in the basement, right next to the window where at nights, the rowdy crowds may throng pass and disturb a good night's sleep. The floorboards creaked like crazy when someone is in the first floor common area.

For the cost, I would say that this hostel is worth visiting, but I will definitely explore other places before revisiting DC Lofty.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kangsheng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
266 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 199 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2013

They have advantages and disadvantages. The advantages are: (1) They are close to a subway station; (2) Staff are friendly; (3) Their rate is reasonable; and (4) Rooms are clean. The disadvantages are; (1) They have two buildings and one of them doesn't have a kitchen;(2) You must take off shoes in the buildings; (3) They have some house rules and if you break a rule, they may deduct $10 from your credit card; and (4) A lounge was not heated, so I had to wear a jacket there. I don't recommend this hostel to everyone, but it's OK for a budget traveller.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank misocutlet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leiden, The Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2012

I stayed at DC Lofty in Oct 2012 with a friend for 5 nights. The living area with couches, a huge TV and computers (free for every guest) and the kitchen with a big stove, fridges and enough storage space were excellent. There was also a dishwasher, so you didn't have to do your own dishes after eating. The staff was very friendly and helpfull. For me, it was strange to see so many old(er) people staying at the hostel, while they're looking for a job in the city. We stayed in a 8 person dorm room in the basement. There were lockers but not much space to put your big suitcase, which was a bit inconvenient. The shower and toilet were down the hall but only one shower and one toilet for 8 people is not enough. And because we slept under the entrance, we heard everbody coming in. Also late at night. The location of the hostel is good but not perfect. It was approximately a 20 min walk to the Mall (the main site of Washington DC). There was a supermarket nearby.

Room Tip: Ask for a dorm upstairs if you're a light sleeper and wake up easily by footsteps.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Renee Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2012

I stayed at DC Lofty in early November. Things started on a poor note - I had emailed them to inform them of a change in my arrival date (from 10th to the 14th), but my credit card was still charged for the night of the 10th. Their booking system had not reflected the changes so our room was given to someone else.

the manager Roma was very understanding and amended the booking to give us the original double bed private room we booked.

be warned that this hostel does not have any elevators. There are three flights of narrow stairs, so if you're carrying heavy luggage you'll need some help.

the toilets are very clean, and that's a big plus point.

the hostel was also under renovation when we were there, so some of the common walkways were boarded up - this means that if you want to go to the kitchen, you have to go out the back door and into the other building from the outside. kitchen was also clean and facilities there were adequate.

the rooms are clean and comfortable even though the hostel feels old. i didn't like the location very much - it's a bit of a walk to get to the nearest Metro but there are plenty of convenience stores along the way if you need groceries or food.

overall i'd say the hostel is just okay, but your options for accommodation are limited if you're on a budget.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bleachedquasar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterrey, Mexico
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed November 17, 2012

I was going to stay in duo hostel but they didnt accept cash only credit/debit cards.and i only had cash the duo hostel told me there was the loftyhostel just a couple of blocks away ,the lofty had a friendly enviroment .they had this particularly rule of taking off your shoes while you´re inside the hostel.to make it more friendly i believe.the place was clean and in my 2 night stay i can say it was a secure place to stay. staff was friendly but one of the girls called kendra was not that friendly.I had a problem with my documents i left my passport inside the airplane when i arrive to washington and I had to do some mandatory calls to the airline in order to leave dc and go straight to the airport and take my return flight to my hometown.,so after the 2nd night I was waiting for the airline to call me or email me and tell me if they´ve found the document but this person from the staff practically gave me a warning that I had to leave the lofty right away and even said that there was practically no rooms available that day,when actually there were around 6 beds available! (she even told me so at that precise moment)kendra was aware of my passport-situation i was going through. fortunately! another girl from the staff who was actually in charge told me that if i had to stay there and i needed to use the common areas there was no problem it all of course as long as i didnt use the rooms until i payed for another night .at the end the airline found my passport and i was able to leave the place (if I would not receive any information from the airline i would have pay for another night of course and keep waiting but not before i had some answer from the airline. kendra was not courteous.
the lofty hostel is a decent hostel,cheap and near the touristic area.(lincoln memorial,museums,capitolium,the whote house,etc..)also the metro station is near the hostel.so if youre looking for a cheap stay in dc not far away from the touristic zone this is an option .

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mayalen_urena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Cambria hotel & suites Washingto...
#47 of 141 in Washington DC
659 reviews
Upper Northwest
Washington Plaza Hotel
Washington Plaza Hotel
#26 of 141 in Washington DC
2,594 reviews
Downtown / Chinatown
Pod DC Hotel
Pod DC Hotel
#96 of 141 in Washington DC
120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mount Vernon Square
Marriott Marquis Washington, DC
Marriott Marquis Washington, DC
#61 of 141 in Washington DC
1,657 reviews
HI Washington DC Hostel
#2 of 45 in Washington DC
667 reviews
Duo Housing
#6 of 45 in Washington DC
245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DC Lofty? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DC Lofty

Property: DC Lofty
Address: 1335 11th St NW, Washington DC, DC 20001-4219
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 45 Specialty Lodging in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — DC Lofty 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located hostel in Washington, DC. We are just blocks, and less than 10 minutes away from The Convention Center, less than a mile from the White House, and only a metro stop away from the monuments, the museums, and all of the major attractions in the capital. Staying at DC Lofty also gives you access to Capital View, its awesome roof top patio with hammocks, lounge chairs, grill, darts, and music! Save at DC Lofty, while utilizing our rooftop pool and Jacuzzi access on weekdays! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your DC Lofty reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing