We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A step above”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Rosewood Washington, D.C.
Ranked #91 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC
Level Contributor
35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“A step above”
Reviewed July 24, 2013

As a DC residents we make it a point to visit the areas new hotels. Capella is outstanding. Every detail of the room, lobby, restaurant, and pool is thoughtful and executed with understated opulence and timeless class. The staff are incredibly professional. I will go back often especially for the food. The bar has house made Manhattans barrel aged for 6 weeks that are amazing. The wine list is fantastic and the restaurant deserves it's own lengthy review. The reservation counselor calls you back to identify specific likes in terms of snacks, linens, and meal preferences. the best part is that there is NO check out time. We appreciated this so much we stayed and had dinner again before checking out the next day. Centrally located in Georgetown this is a real gem.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are excellent. If you do request spa service it will be in-room. That is the ONLY d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Michelle L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CapellaWashingtonDC, Manager at Rosewood Washington, D.C., responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Greetings Michelle L,

I would like to express our appreciation and thanks for your incredible review of Capella Washington, D.C., Georgetown on TripAdvisor. I am so pleased that you were able to experience every realm of our hotel, from the restaurant and bar, to our rooftop infinity pool, elegant design and professional staff members. It is an honor that we were able to provide you and your guest with a superior and memorable stay. Just like we do at all Capella Hotels, we place our guests at the center of everything we do to provide you with unparalleled exclusivity, loyalty, experiences and legacy moments. Thank you again for giving us the opportunity to serve you. We are very much looking forward to your return.

Sincerely,

Alex Obertop
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

354 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    289
    31
    16
    9
    9
See reviews for
83
135
19
68
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur, France
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2013

A warm welcome from the start with friendly and attentive staff who appear to really enjoy their role. The hotel is in the perfect location for wandering around the delightful Georgetown and just a short taxi-ride from all the major sights of D.C.
Our suite was wonderful; very spacious and the décor and furnishings were of the highest quality. The bathroom was huge and again furnished beautifully.
We enjoyed fantastic food in the restaurant and a warm, convivial atmosphere in the bar.
But what stands out above everything here is a fantastically professional team of staff who time and again showed initiative, helpfulness and the highest levels of service. We will certainly stay again.

Room Tip: Erm, all the rooms are good and then some
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BMWX3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CapellaDC, Manager at Rosewood Washington, D.C., responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Good Afternoon BMWX3,

Thank you so much for your generous review of Capella Washington, D.C., Georgetown on TripAdvisor. I am overjoyed to read that you had such a flawless experience and enjoyed all of our ultra luxury accommodations, world-class cuisine, and professional service team. At Capella we believe that each guest experience is memorable and unique. I am so honored and appreciative that we were able to surprise and delight you during every moment of your stay. Thank you again and we are very much looking forward to your speedy return back to our Nation's Capital.

Sincerely,
Alex Obertop
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2013

after many visits to DC and staying in lots of "tired" hotels we were thrilled to stay here the week after it opened. They were still finishing up some final touches but our stay was perfect nonetheless. Rooms, food, service and location all great! Can't wait to go back next time we are in DC.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ACS5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CapellaDC, Manager at Rosewood Washington, D.C., responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Greetings ACS5,

Thank you greatly for being one of the first guests to stay with us during our much anticipated opening last March. Reading your thoughtful review on TripAdvisor regarding our hotel accommodations, cuisine, service and location gives me great joy and appreciation. Our rooftop bar, lounge and infinity pool is now open and I cannot wait for you to experience it for yourself! Please let us know if we may be of any assistance in arranging your next trip to Washington, D.C.

Sincerely,
Alex Obertop
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2013

This hotel us fabulous! With just under 50 rooms, this boutique hotel is truly what luxury is all about. Super private entrance, outstanding service (love the Personal Assistants touch) and fabulous accommodations.
We had a suite with the most gorgeous room and bathroom. The small details (complimentary mini-bar) and access to the fitness center and roof top pool/ terrace are the type of things that make a difference.
We loved the bar and the restaurant, located by the canal. Very romantic and wonderful to experience on a beautiful evening. The location is amazing, you can walk to shops and restaurants, but who wants to leave such beautiful accommodations?
We can't wait to be back and truly enjoy the hotel! We over planned our trip and are looking to go back to just stay and enjoy the hotel.

Room Tip: Go with a suite ... the bathtubs are fabulous!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nuria38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CapellaDC, Manager at Rosewood Washington, D.C., responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Greetings Nuria38,

It was an absolute pleasure serving and welcoming you for the first time to our brand new hotel in Georgetown. Thank you so much for your generous review and kind remarks about our personalized service, privacy, ultra-luxury accommodations and convenient location. Our staff and team members at Capella DC are thrilled to read that you and your guest loved every aspect of your suite and the exclusive access to the rooftop lounge, infinity pool and fitness center. Furthermore, I am delighted that each and every detail of your stay made you feel so special and comfortable. You're loyalty to Capella is highly appreciated and each of us cannot wait for the opportunity to serve you again when your travels next bring you to Washington, D.C.

Sincerely,
Alex Obertop
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germantown, Tennessee
Level Contributor
467 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Our family of 4 spent 3 nights at the Capella over the July 4th Holiday. The hotel itself is small and luxurious. From the wall controls for the windows (my kids loved this) to the complementary beverage bar in the room, Capella thinks of everything. The cupcakes waiting for us in our room upon check in was an excellent touch. And the bottled water when we were leaving was a nice departure!

The housekeeping staff did a fabulous job. The beds were extremely comfortable and we all slept very well during our visit. The room and the entire hotel continues to look brand new and every inch is spotless.

The doormen greeted us by name every time we came or left the hotel, which was appreciated.

The personal assistant was always warm and friendly and willing to offer advice or secure reservations. I feel that we did not take advantage of their services at all. This is probably due to the fact that I am a planner and knew exactly what we were doing before we got there. And.....I rely on Trip Advisor to tell me where to eat in the area!

I picked the Capella for our visit mainly because of the rooftop viewing for the fireworks. There were very few family friendly options for rooftop viewing in the DC area but Capella stood out as a great hotel that offered this option. I was a little disappointed in the viewing event on the rooftop that night. The band stopped playing during the fireworks, right when it would have been nice to have some patriotic music. And smoking was allowed, which I did not expect. The rooftop is small and with a number of smokers it was impossible to keep my son, who is allergic to cigarette smoke, away from the smoke. We ended up back in our room immediately following the fireworks, but were delighted to find individual apple pies waiting there for us. What a fantastic surprise.

I would highly recommend the Capella to anyone looking for a luxurious hotel in the Georgetown area.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jwillstp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CapellaDC, Manager at Rosewood Washington, D.C., responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Good Afternoon jwillstp,

Thank you so much for choosing Capella Washington, D.C., Georgetown during your most recent stay in the Nation's Capital. I am extremely pleased to read that we were able to accommodate you and your family on the rooftop for the exclusive 4th of July firework celebration. I do apologize for the cigarette smoke and lack of patriotic music during the show. Comments like yours help us to learn from our mistakes and become a better hotel. Your gracious review and opinion is so important and will benefit us tremendously next year during preparation for 4th of July.

I highly appreciate you being a valued guest at our hotel and allowing us the opportunity to craft such a wonderful experience for you and your family. It is pleasing to read that you enjoyed all the amenities, accommodations, and attention to detail our team provided during your stay. Your loyalty to Capella is treasured and highly respected by our entire team. It was a pleasure being able to serve you and your family and we all look forward to the day you return, hopefully in the near future!

Sincerely,

Alex Obertop
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbridge, Virginia
Level Contributor
111 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2013

My friends and I stopped in here for a cocktail on a Sunday afternoon. The bar is intimate with big, comfortable chairs to lounge in. The servers were prompt, polite, and accommodating. Drinks were delicious. After my friend announced my birthday, the staff surprised me with a complimentary glass of champagne. We would definitely go back to this bar!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rlwags13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CapellaDC, Manager at Rosewood Washington, D.C., responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Greetings rlwags13,

Happy belated birthday! Thank you so much for sharing your first experience of The Rye Bar with us. I am delighted to read that you and your friends had such an amazing celebration and enjoyed the warm, welcoming, and personalized accommodations we offer. We constantly seek ways to create memorable experiences for our guests, which is why it gives me great pleasure to read that you have every intention of returning to our hotel. We are all very much looking forward to welcoming you and your friends back very soon for yet another great experience at The Rye Bar and Capella Washington, D.C.

Sincerely,
Alex Obertop
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amman, Jordan
Level Contributor
96 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2013

From the minute I arrived until the minute I left i felt like I was at a luxury home I owned. the service was impeccable, the rooms and facilities were just the right mix between functionality and a feel of home. and the roof spa facilities and relaxation area were a rare treat. due to the small size of the hotel all the staff would greet us by name which only added to the home away from home feel. Frankly this is one of the best hotels i've ever stayed in and I have been in some great places. I couldn't fault anything.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tarek_Aggad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CapellaDC, Manager at Rosewood Washington, D.C., responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Good Afternoon Tarek_Aggad,

Thank you so much for choosing Capella Washington, D.C., Georgetown during your recent stay in the Nation's Capital. I am delighted to read that you had such an incredible experience at our hotel and enjoyed our friendly staff, guest rooms and ultra luxury accommodations. I highly appreciate your generous review and am so happy that your experience was one of the best in a hotel that you have had so far! I am so thankful that you had the opportunity to experience our newest Capella property and we all look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Sincerely,
Alex Obertop
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Georgetown
The Ritz-Carlton Georgetown, Washington, D.C.
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Park Hyatt Washington
Park Hyatt Washington
#21 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,739 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
The Ritz-Carlton, Washington, DC
The Ritz-Carlton, Washington, DC
#18 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,064 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Georgetown
Four Seasons Hotel Washington, DC
Dupont Circle
The St. Regis Washington, D.C.
The St. Regis Washington, D.C.
#22 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,234 reviews
Georgetown
The Graham Georgetown
The Graham Georgetown
#17 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 501 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rosewood Washington, D.C.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rosewood Washington, D.C.

Property: Rosewood Washington, D.C.
Address: 1050 31st St NW, Washington DC, DC 20007-4405 (Formerly Capella Washington D.C., Georgetown)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Georgetown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #91 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Rosewood Washington, D.C. 5*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of Georgetown along the historic C&O Canal, Rosewood Washington, D.C. presents an intimate & luxurious 49 guest rooms & suites, meticulously designed to provide you with a soothing haven from the day's activities. Our prime location offers guests premium access to Washington, D.C.'s vibrant cultural center, rich with museums and galleries, specialty shopping and unique dining options. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rosewood Washington, D.C. reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing