We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Good Indian Food”
Review of Rasika West End

Rasika West End
Reserve with OpenTable
Rasika West End is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #21 of 3,257 Restaurants in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: New Hampshire & M Street
Ottawa, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Very Good Indian Food”
Reviewed April 3, 2013

I really enjoyed this restaurant and would gladly return. We had high expectations and they were almost entirely met. A few things that could use improvement: we had a reservation and still had to wait approximately 15 minutes to be seated, which is not horrible, but was also not the best start to the meal; and one of the signature cocktails we ordered was just awful - so much so that we had to send it back. Other than that, we enjoyed everything. We ordered lots of different dishes and they were all delicious. Our service was very efficient, and our waiter was able to make some good recommendations.

If you are looking for good Indian food, this is a great choice. It is almost as good as Vij's in Vancouver. Almost!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank awj_parker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

850 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    543
    207
    69
    22
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nouveau Indian--light and fresh”
Reviewed April 1, 2013

Just marvellous food. This is a new twist on Indian cuisine: you get the Naan and the poppadums, etc., but the small plates and the main courses are a long way from the meat swimming in standard curry sauce that I grew up on in England. The cooking is imaginative, and the service highly professional. It's definitely worth the price.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JeannieFrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Even Better Than Expected”
Reviewed April 1, 2013

This place carries a lot of hype in DC, but it surpassed my expectations. Everything was delicious! The Palak chaat (crispy baby spinach) sounds unimpressive, but it is one of the best appetizers I've ever had. I even asked the waiter how it's made to see if it's possible to re-create the dish...sadly, it is not.

The ambiance is also quite nice, and the waitstaff was very friendly.

The only con is that it could take months to get a reservation.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank smh33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chevy Chase, Maryland
Level 6 Contributor
67 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“It's Destination Dinning - Eat and Call it a Day.”
Reviewed March 31, 2013


Generous Portions of Service and Food.

Rasika
1190 New Hampshire Ave NW, Washington, DC ( at the corner of M Street NW- between the Renaissance Hotel and the Ritz Carlton)

The first thing you'll notice when you arrive is the noise level in the main seating area. Is it the high ceilings ? Maybe. Is it that generally speaking, people don't talk when their mouths are full of food? That's my guess because the noise level is very low. What about the service and food? There's no need to worry, you'll receive generous portions of service and food.

Regardless of what catches your eye on the menu or the server suggest, try the Masala Fish Fingers appetizer
(Cod, chili flakes with curried mayonnaise) and the Dal Dhungaree, served as a side or entree
(Smoked lentils, garlic, tomatoes and fenugreek).

Please note, the Bread Basket
(Naan, onion sage naan, mint paratha) - it's the dessert alternative.


    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MwahMwah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Espoo, Finland
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Nice upscale Indian....but did I expect too much?”
Reviewed March 30, 2013

People raved about the Rasika restaurants in Tripadvisor so we decided to give a try. We couldn't get a reservation to the main one so tested this one by the Washington Circle.

The place is definitely good from many perspectives. The interior is very modern, the service was friendly, and the food was as carefully made, tasty (globalized) Indian as it gets.

Still I walked out slightly unsure whether I got great value.

The problem might have been that we opted for the pre-Theater menu (because of our early reservation time) and that was somewhat unimaginative (though very good) and served too fast (even by Asian standards). I wonder if the a la carte would have offered better choices.

The alternative explanation is that I am spoiled because I have spent so much time in other global metropolies such as London, where such upscale Indian restaurants may be less unique (and hence less raved about).

Having said all this, If I were in DC again, I definitively might go again (though try the a la carte that time)

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jpzip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rasika West End also viewed

 
Washington DC, DC
 

Been to Rasika West End? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing