We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Rasika is OK but downtown is better” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rasika West End

Rasika West End
Reserve with OpenTable
Rasika West End is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #16 of 3,189 Restaurants in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Business meetings, Romantic, Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Late Night, Full Bar, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: New Hampshire & M Street
DC
Level Contributor
59 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Rasika is OK but downtown is better”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2013

We sat at bar. Struggled to get decent service as the bartenders were focused on the service bar. They were pleasant though. Menu is nice. Decor a bit contrived. Glass bars just aren't my thing. The food was timely, the spinach was great and everything else was just ok to pretty bland or too rich. They forgot a dish but that was ok as were full from the tikka being so rich. Dessert was good and the bathrooms are nice. Good slection of wines by glass. Just wish the food was better, it is fairly priced.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Notorius66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

788 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    507
    192
    63
    18
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
jonesboro
Level Contributor
110 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Indian comes to the west end”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2013

A treat for the eyes and taste buds. A very high end Indian restaurant. We had a very knowledgable server who offered lovely suggestions. The flash fried spinach and black cod were a mouthful of yum. I would go back

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank newroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saratoga, California
Level Contributor
111 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Very unusual, but accessible riffs on Indian food, a little pricey”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2013

Pluses:
- crispy fried spinach salad, slightly sweet but also savory with yogurt dressing, was one of the best dishes I have had at any Indian restaurant!
- menu had mix of traditional Indian dishes and slightly unusual or fusion riffs on such
- solicitous service
- parking garage across street...forget about on street parking
- well spaced tables, not too noisy but lively and positive vibe
Minuses:
- a little pricey

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Woci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Level Contributor
83 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“Incredible Sophisticated Indian in beautiful setting”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2013

This is one of the best Indian restaurants we have ever eaten at. We made a wonderful meal out of 7 small dishes. Each one was outstanding and left our taste buds excited for the next. The mango shrimp sigri, the honey ginger scallop tawa and palak chaat crispy spinach started out our tasting adventure. This was followed by the eggplant sigri, the malai kafta and the fish fingers along with the bread basket trio of breads (two nans and a partha).

Everything was perfect and delectable. Service was unobtrusive and professional. Be sure to ask the staff to make recommendations as they steered us in the right direct in every case.
We finished with the date and toffee pudding - fantastic!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank zachnyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alaboys
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Rasika!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2013

Made a reservation late. They were able to accommodate us. Thoroughly enjoyed this modern flair on Indian Cuisine. Very high quality food, service great, overall great night. Will go back as soon as I'm in DC

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Alaboys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rasika West End also viewed

 
Washington DC, DC
Washington DC, DC
 
Washington DC, DC
 

Been to Rasika West End? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing