We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great atmosphere” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Alero Mexican Restaurant

Alero Mexican Restaurant
Ranked #1,646 of 3,189 Restaurants in Washington DC
Cuisines: Mexican, Southwestern
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Washing
2 reviews
“great atmosphere”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

The drinks were very delicious. had the swirl margarita which was very good. the food was so-so. loved sitting outdoors!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mehreen N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    15
    8
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great Outdoor Dining”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Good food and menu variety, accompanied by attentive service, and an excellent outdoor dining area--great for people watching. I'm always happy with a chicken chimi.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Brady15203
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
US
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“What a rip-off!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2013

What a rip-off!
Went to Alero for Margaritas, nachos and appetizers about 5:00 pm on a Friday night.
Walked past the sign reading “Happy Hour 3:30 pm to 8:00 pm Monday – Saturday Drinks ½ Price”, were seated by the hostess in a section of the restaurant, and assumed we would be enjoying the ½ price drinks.
We ordered our drinks and food, enjoyed them, paid our bill and noticed the prices were full price.
We asked our server what was going on and she told us “we had to sit in a different section” to get happy hour prices. Nothing on the sign and they seated us where they chose.
On the way out, asked to speak to manager, told him our complaint.
He asked us “what time did you come in; who seated you?”
After we told him, he just seemed dazed so we left.
Will not return – will give them the lowest score possible, and will recommend our friends avoid.
As we said – “What A rip-off”!!!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank pb01US
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
169 reviews
165 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“I can easily name 10 places better.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013 via mobile

So pass by this very average place with average food. You will get what you expect. Start with the chips and salsa. Not great not bad. Then the lineup of any Mexican menu. It's all pretty bland and nothing says come back for more. So glad I tried so now I know. Wish it were better but the good people of 14th and U seem to support this place pretty well. Maybe it's me but I love Mexican food but not this place. Keep looking cause this isn't the place. But writing this review made me hungry for chips and salsa.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank AJ C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great Happy Hour and Ambiance”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

I was in town for a sorority convention and was visiting Howard University. The U street area was reccomended for food. Had dinner here on Friday and it was great. So great that we came back on Saturday for the Happy Hour specials.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Teena M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Alero Mexican Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Alero Mexican Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing