We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“You'll think you're in Salvador!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of El Rinconcito Cafe

El Rinconcito Cafe
Ranked #148 of 3,196 Restaurants in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Salvadoran, Central American, Mexican, Latin
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
62 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“You'll think you're in Salvador!”
Reviewed July 22, 2014

This is a great favorite all year round. The staff are always super pleasant and in summer they have a good sized patio. Food is a mixture of Mexican and Salvadorean. Excellent poupousas.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sacred-Valley-Girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    83
    57
    9
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
262 reviews
161 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“Authentic Mexican & tons of vegetarian options”
Reviewed June 20, 2014 via mobile

A hole in the wall place, with surprisingly great food. This place isn't much to look at, not any decor, and maybe 5 tables in the whole place but the food was really good. We had the vegetarian chimichanga and burrito, both were huge, hot, and delicious. My boyfriend loved the plantains, said they were some of the best he's had.

Helpful?
Thank merrillma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ireland
Level Contributor
122 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“great simple hearty food near the Youth Hostel”
Reviewed May 4, 2014

I have stayed at the HI Washington DC and this place is a few minutes' walk away on a fairly safe looking street, and it never fails to satisfy. The range of food is South American with a focus on El Salvador, simple decor - Spanish Diner essentially, and fast service at tables or a counter.

The menu is pretty extensive and great value. General vibe is very different to most places like this I've encountered in the USA- there's always soccer on the TV when I eat there, never Ice Hockey, basketball or baseball or American football. Also movies in Spanish and the like, so it's clearly popular with the people who should know if the menu is up to scratch.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank murnauontour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
48 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Late night Dinner”
Reviewed March 12, 2014

After arriving in DC late on weekday night I was happy to find this place open. If you are looking for fancy decor and a scene this is not the place. This is more of a local stop where spanish soap operas are showing on the television and locals are sitting at the bar gossiping. As for the food it was fantastic. Even at 10 at night I was able to get a freshly prepared meal. I would definitely visit again.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Taimata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, OH
Level Contributor
308 reviews
165 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
“!Que rico!”
Reviewed March 6, 2014

I was at a conference at the Convention Center and a friend and I were looking for a quick meal between sessions. He googled this place and off we went; really close to the convention center but a little shady looking from the outside. There were very few non-Latinos in the place; always a good sign. I haved live in Latin America and am fluent in Spanish so no biggie.
Very complete menu and a full bar. Mexican and Salvadoran specialties. I'm a vegetarian so I got fried plantains and the BEST chimichanga I have ever had. The place is very small--seems like it mostly does a take-out business, but the food was superb. Nothing fancy, but big, delicious portions. I would definitely go back when I'm in DC again.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gefilte63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Rinconcito Cafe also viewed

 
Washington DC, DC
 

Been to El Rinconcito Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing