We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great Location”
other travelers have booked this property
1890 Victorian on Capitol Hill, Garden Suite
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
1890 Victorian on Capitol Hill, Garden Suite
Living Room in the Garden Suite Slate Steps to Garden Suite
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
14 reviews
1890 Victorian on Capitol Hill, Garden Suite
Living Room in the Garden Suite
Slate Steps to Garden Suite
Kitchen & Dining Area
First Bedroom
Dresser in First Bedroom
Bathroom w/pedestal sink
Shower w/blue-tiled wall
Second Bedroom
The Front Garden
Rear Garden/Outdoor Dining
U.S. Capitol is 7 blocks down Pennsylvania Avenue
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Washington DC, District of Columbia

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 14 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
mmmurrayt...
Gray, Georgia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Location”
Reviewed April 14, 2014 for a stay in April 2014
1
person found this review helpful

This was an awesome place!! It was so close to a variety of great restaurants and the metro. We loved, loved, loved the shower!! The A/C and parking was the pits but overall a great place.

Date of stay: April 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: The A/C didn't work real well.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 13, 2014
We are sorry to only learn now that the A/C system did not meet our guest's expectations. This is a new system and may prove too complicated for some of our guests to understand, however, we are only minutes away and would have responded immediately had we been made aware of the situation. As anyone can see from all prior reviews submitted by our guests, we are very responsive to our guest's needs and wants and would have immediately made any necessary adjustments to the A/C system to ensure this guest's comfort.

Regarding the parking situation; due to the fact that this is an extremely popular location for the reasons offered by the reviewer, we have no control over the parking situation. Unlike other hospitality houses however, we do provide FREE parking passes to our guests; although most seem to rely on the Metro subway, which is less than a two minute stroll from your suite. Being so close to the U.S. Capitol campus, the historic Eastern Market and the Metro subway, as well as all the variety of restaurants and boutique shops surrounding your suite, we are located in an extremely popular part of Washington, D.C.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LouiseK29...
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A great location to stay”
Reviewed December 26, 2013 for a stay in December 2013
1
person found this review helpful

A 25 minute easy walk (even with luggage) from Union Station to the apartment. A lovely welcome was received .. Lights on, heating on. Well equipped kitchen,dishwasher, and washing machine,dryer, added to the pleasures. A visit to Union Markets a must, with many coffee shops near by. Eating places, pubs around the corner. Very close to Capitol Hill. Would highly recommend this accommodation. The "owner" Kirk, provided Washington related info, and was prompt at replying to emails.

Date of stay: December 2013
Traveling group: Other
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Reviewed November 19, 2013 for a stay in November 2013

Date of stay: November 2013
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Mark L
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Elegant accommodation!”
Reviewed September 29, 2013 for a stay in September 2013

What a wonderfully elegant apartment. We couldn't have asked for anything more. The owners, Kirk and Lisa were excellent hosts and provided quite a lot of information about the surrounds of Washington as well as Eastern Markets. This is five star accommodation and a great price.
Eastern Markets is also a great location with loads of excellent restaurants and cafe's to choose from and very close to the Metro. A memorable stay for our family.

Date of stay: September 2013
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and the high quality of the accommodation
Liked least: Couldn't improve on what was offered
Traveling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pggarton
Elkhart Lake, Wisconsin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect D.C. accommodations for our long weekend”
Reviewed August 16, 2012 for a stay in November 2011
2
people found this review helpful

On a lovely old, tree-lined street, this newly redone garden level apt. was our choice for our 4 night/3 day trip last Nov. for our granddaughter's 13th birthday trip. It was ideal for the three of us - so handsomely furnished and appointed, with a terrific new bathroom and wonderful kitchen, plus nice living area. The bedrooms were comfortable & quiet, the beds great. Just a block from the Metro, and within walking distance of several interesting restaurants - of which we tried two, as recommended by Kirk Beatley, the owner. It was a great location for seeing the sights, whether by foot or public transportation or cab. Kirk took extraordinarily good care of us, which just made our stay all the better. A very definite thumbs-up.

Date of stay: November 2011
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing