We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Far from town, bad area, indifferent staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Kellogg Conference Hotel at Gallaudet University
Ranked #115 of 142 Hotels in Washington DC
Reviewed October 23, 2009

Whilst the hotel facilities aren't bad (although there is nowhere to eat in or around the hotel after breakfast) and the rooms are a good size we left feeling disappointed.

The neighbourhood is NOT good and certainly not safe after dark. Whilst the regular metro shuttle and complimentary hotel shuttle go some way towards overcoming this it is still a major issue. There is no shuttle after 9.30pm and planning your day around the irregular timetable really is a nuisance.

Aside from one member of reception staff all other hotel employees were incompetent, inefficient and bewildered by any request of any kind. For example, our shower handle was clearly stuck and there was no hot water, the engineer insisted it must be a boiler issue (despite there being hot water in the sink) and duly disappeared. All calls to reception on this issue were met with the same lack of concern. The issue was only resolved after we insisting on moving rooms just to have a hot shower.

Overall I would recommend paying a few dollars extra and staying somewhere in town (Dupont circle, Georgetown etc.). This hotel is not really designed for tourists, more as a thoroughfare for conference-holders and the staff attitude is in line with this.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank flyingbutterwings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (313)
There are newer reviews for Kellogg Conference Hotel at Gallaudet University
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

247 - 253 of 314 reviews

Reviewed October 12, 2009

The setting is beautiful, calm.

The shuttle to the metro is the best thing - It runs bang on schedule - make sure to get a transport pass at reception when you check-in. You can take the bus to Union station, or walk to NY Ave station if you miss the bus - about 10-15min to walk.

Though breakfast was additional, we got complimentary coupons for the continental breakfast, which is pretty good - fresh fruit, cereal, tea/coffee, toast/pastries.

The only thing is if you arrive late the day you check in, you can't just find something to eat across the street. But they'll give you a pizza delivery menu with coupons!

All in all, really liked it!

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank banjaraa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2009

We choose this hotel based on the reviews I read on Trip Advisor. We were looking for somewhere reasonable to stay close to the Amtrack Station. This hotel was perfect for that. Quiet location within the University and we also took use of their shuttle service which was great to get to the metro. Neighborhood was not good and we were told numerous times not to walk outside of the gates. This would not be the place to stay if you were visiting longer or wanted to walk to Metro.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BNORD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2009

Spent two nights, very comforatable rooms, view of the capital building from room.
Center provides a shuttle to and from Union Station or cab service was only around $10 each way, after shuttle hours.

Safe covered garage to leave your car, no charge for parking. Neighborhood is depressed but campus is gated with really nice grounds. Good continental breakfast included with room

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bd92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2009

Don't let the first impression of the surrounding neighborhood dissuade you - you'll be fine! We were so happy w/this hotel. It's just a mile from Union Station. We 3 women walked it 2 or 3 times. We would not do it after dark however. The free shuttle to Union Station was great! The rooms were nice & very quiet. Sheets, pillows, towels were of a very high quality. Coffee pot & coffee in room. Coffee was a gourmet brand. We booked on line & continental b'fast was free. Staff was very helpful & friendly. Shampoo, soaps, lotion in bathrm. were very nice quality. Everything in our room seemed to be recently upgraded & very pretty. There were 2 computers in lobby to use for free. Campus was quiet & pretty.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ColoradoLoretta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2008

Clean, safe, very friendly staff and a good price compared with other hotels in Washington in the same category. The neighborhood is not the best at all, but inside the campus you're safe. Since I always rent a car when in Washington, what happens around the hotel doesn't bother me. They provide a shuttle service to Union Station (metro) and there's another station close to the hotel (NY Avenue-Gallaudet U).
There's free parking for the guests, but is a little distant from the hotel what can be a problem in rainy days (or with snow).
If you are planning to arrive late, be sure to eat before come back to the hotel, because the restaurant closes at 9:30 pm and after this hour you'll need to eat at the Academic Center where anyone can imagine the quality.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Averbuch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2008

I stayed here because I was presenting at a conference at the University. The accommodations were great and one could tell they had recently remodeled. Nice decorating in the rooms with historical photos from the University. Comfy king bed. Free wireless internet service.

As a presenter, I had the room comp'ed, so I don't know how the value is on the rates. And we had breakfast provided through the conference, so I'm not sure if it's available as a free continental or not.

I didn't really have business in DC other than on campus, so I'm not sure about the location with respect to other sites. I _will_ say that it is not in the nicest part of town. Despite that, I never felt unsafe, and I think the campus is quite secure. The campus is completely fenced in and gated, I imagine to keep out the riff-raff, though I can't confirm that.

If you have a conference, this seems like a nice enough place. And if you can get a chance to stay here for free, I'd _Definitely_ recommend it. If the general rates seem reasonable to you and you have business in the area, it's a nice enough place to stay.

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank phyrn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
3.0 mi away
Windsor Park Hotel
Windsor Park Hotel
#125 of 142 in Washington DC
204 reviews
4.7 mi away
Days Inn Washington DC/Connecticut Avenue
Days Inn Washington DC/Connectic...
#118 of 142 in Washington DC
1,830 reviews
0.4 mi away
Courtyard Washington, DC/U.S. Capitol
Courtyard Washington, DC/U.S. Ca...
#112 of 142 in Washington DC
621 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Capitol Skyline Hotel
Capitol Skyline Hotel
#85 of 142 in Washington DC
671 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC/US Capitol
0.7 mi away
Hyatt Place Washington, DC / US Capitol
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kellogg Conference Hotel at Gallaudet University? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kellogg Conference Hotel at Gallaudet University

Address: 800 Florida Ave NE, Washington DC, DC 20002-3600
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #115 of 142 Hotels in Washington DC
Price Range: $106 - $325 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Kellogg Conference Hotel at Gallaudet University 3*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your event deserves the best. At the Kellogg Conference Hotel, we understand. We've earned an international reputation as one of the most respected convention center hotels in Washington DC by going beyond the expected with award-winning conference facilities, gourmet catering and the five-star accommodations and service of a leading Capitol Hill hotel. As you explore the location of your next event, discover why the Washington DC's leading corporate, government, wedding, social and third-party planners have made the Kellogg Conference Center the location of choice for outstanding corporate, educational and government conferences, destination weddings, family gatherings, recognition events and family celebrations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Kellogg Conference Hotel at Gallaudet University reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kellogg Conference Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing