We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't bother, you can find deals elsewhere”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Kellogg Conference Hotel at Gallaudet University
Ranked #115 of 142 Hotels in Washington DC
Reviewed October 15, 2013

Nice staff, poorly kept hotel and in a bad location.

If you visit DC you want to stay in a hotel that is convenient to the metro. You have to take a school shuttle to Union Station and get on the metro from there. It will take you quite awhile to get anywhere. It is quite a ways out of the central DC area. I've stayed in DC many times.

The hotel was dirty and we both nearly fell several times in the shower. All hotels have some sort of grip on the bathtub floor for showering. The water pressure was not good and the pipes need to be redone. The breakfast that we paid for was not good and several of the utensils and cups were dirty.

As I said, the staff was very nice and helpful but the management doesn't have a clue. The campus at Gallaudet is beautiful.

If you are in your 20's you may feel differently about this place.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
2  Thank Carol H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clement G, Manager at Kellogg Conference Hotel at Gallaudet University, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2014

Thank you for choosing to share your review. I am really disappointed as you had some negative experience during your stay.

As we are in the Gallaudet University, the same shuttle used by both university and the guests. If you look into our guest reviews, they have appreciated our shuttle service. I am sorry that we have failed to meet your requirements. About the water pressure, we have gone through the whole hotel with our engineer, and took the corrective measure. We have no complain on water pressure yet. Regarding your comments on b.fast, our F&B manager has been briefed and he has taken immediate steps to correct the concerns.

Thank you for your nice comments on our staff and the landscaping. Please allow me to take care of your future booking. And I am assuring you that we will make your stay a comfortable one. Please feel free to contact me for any of your queries and reservations.

I really appreciate your time.

Clement Gomes
Rooms Division Manager
Kellogg Conference Hotel
clement.gomes@gallaudet.edu

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (313)
There are newer reviews for Kellogg Conference Hotel at Gallaudet University
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

195 - 201 of 313 reviews

Reviewed October 11, 2013

we loved this hotel! for 90$ we received the most beautiful, large, clean room which great view (we could even see the capital!) and for 85$ our friends stayed in 1 double bed room (4 people) and it was absolutely great! the hotel is in the middle of the university so there is not much around, but it is perfect if you have a car or if you dont mind taking the shuttle to union station. for the price and quality - it is worth it!

Room Tip: Couples king size bed room was lovely and have lots of space (but doesnt have a bath - only a shower...
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LichakR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2013

This hotel is located on the campus of Gallaudet University--a beautiful, quiet and peaceful setting. The staff is friendly and helpful and they offer a free shuttle service to downtown DC. It's conveniently located and only a couple of miles to the Capitol building or White House, so you can walk to those sites if you prefer.

The staff was friendly and helpful and the rooms were clean. I agree with the other reviewer though that the water pressure in the shower was weak--though I don't consider that a big deal.

The rates were low, though it did not include breakfast. There is a cafe in the hotel that sells breakfast, but it is pricey for what you get and as soon as the scheduled breakfast hour ends they whisk away the food and utensils with an almost angry fervor. The breakfast was the only thing preventing me from giving this hotel a five star rating.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rebecca B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2013

This hotel is a hidden gem of D.C. It is close to Union Station and has a very convenient and timely shuttle the station. (every 20-30 minutes) Staff is very friendly and attentive. Location is serene and secure. Highly recommend for a relaxing night's sleep. Good value.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bill T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2013

I would have normally given this a 3 or 4... but the two following things really upset me. 1) The poor quality of their showers. Very low water pressure that just did not take the shampoo out of my hair. 2) I accidentally left a NorthFace jacket in my room. I called a couple hours later - they transferred me straight to housekeeping where I left a message. I never heard back. Not at all happy with their customer service in this regard and will not be staying there again under my own dime.

Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
1  Thank ErikaGuarino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for the first time about 5 years ago. I found it by looking for hotels in DC that didn't cost an arm and a leg but was clean. We love this place. The rooms are clean, quiet and roomy enough. The staff goes out of the way to assist you. This visit was not planned because my son had a health scare and we went to be with him. The staff was concerned and remembered to ask about him each day.
The breckfasts were good and fresh. We did not eat there for any other meal.
It is easy to get to the Hotel and the parking garage was close. There are shuttles to the Metro.

Stayed: August 2013
2  Thank Katy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013 via mobile

Hotel provided most things you could want during a short stay. Rooms were spacious and clean although the air conditioning could not be turned off. We would have preferred to open a window. Staff were very helpful at all times during our stay. The free shuttle service to Union station was excellent and the grounds of the university beautiful as was Washington itself.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
3.0 mi away
Windsor Park Hotel
Windsor Park Hotel
#125 of 142 in Washington DC
204 reviews
4.7 mi away
Days Inn Washington DC/Connecticut Avenue
Days Inn Washington DC/Connectic...
#118 of 142 in Washington DC
1,828 reviews
0.4 mi away
Courtyard Washington, DC/U.S. Capitol
Courtyard Washington, DC/U.S. Ca...
#112 of 142 in Washington DC
621 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Capitol Skyline Hotel
Capitol Skyline Hotel
#84 of 142 in Washington DC
671 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC/US Capitol
0.7 mi away
Hyatt Place Washington, DC / US Capitol
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kellogg Conference Hotel at Gallaudet University? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kellogg Conference Hotel at Gallaudet University

Address: 800 Florida Ave NE, Washington DC, DC 20002-3600
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #115 of 142 Hotels in Washington DC
Price Range: $105 - $324 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Kellogg Conference Hotel at Gallaudet University 3*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your event deserves the best. At the Kellogg Conference Hotel, we understand. We've earned an international reputation as one of the most respected convention center hotels in Washington DC by going beyond the expected with award-winning conference facilities, gourmet catering and the five-star accommodations and service of a leading Capitol Hill hotel. As you explore the location of your next event, discover why the Washington DC's leading corporate, government, wedding, social and third-party planners have made the Kellogg Conference Center the location of choice for outstanding corporate, educational and government conferences, destination weddings, family gatherings, recognition events and family celebrations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Kellogg Conference Hotel at Gallaudet University reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kellogg Conference Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing