We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Excellent Customer Service” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kellogg Conference Hotel at Gallaudet University

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Kellogg Conference Hotel at Gallaudet University
Ranked #110 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Excellent Customer Service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2012

Stayed here for a weekend college visit with my daughter. Evening check-in was professional and efficient with a phone call to our room to make sure we were satisfied. The organic toiletries were a pleasant surprise. Beds were very comfortable with premium bedding (very high on my priority list). Staff was knowledgable of the area and able to provide pertinent tips on both walking and accessing the Metro. The shuttle to Union Station is a big bonus. We did not take advantage of the on-site Bistro or restaraunt but it deserves mentioning as well. The only reason this was not a perfect stay was the disruptive group of children on our floor the last night that took about two hours to correct (after multiple complaints by patrons). It is very likely that we would stay here again regardless of the reason we're in DC!!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shihtzumomof3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

259 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    102
    42
    17
    22
See reviews for
89
55
16
66
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chesapeake, Virginia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2011

I just returned from a week's stay at the Kellogg Conference Hotel for a conference that was from Tuesday to Friday morning. I drove right onto the Gallaudet campus in my personal vehicle, so have no insight into the Metro or getting to the hotel from the airport.

Check in was a breeze and I was delighted to learn that the parking fee for the hotel was a paltry $18/night. Compared to other DC hotels, that's a steal. I was directed to my room on the 4th floor. The room size was smaller than I am accustomed to. It was a two queen bedroom, but the room was sized to hold the two beds and nothing much else. I did have a nice desk chair to work from and bureau for my clothing, on top of which was a Samsung flat screen television (32", is my guess). I prefer rooms that might hold one queen bed, plus a table and sitting chair or two. I do not like using a bed as furniture for watching television or having a conversation with a visitor to the room.

Internet in was free and freakishly fast for a hotel. I had both wired and wireless available to me in my room, but did learn that others in my conference did not have the wired option in their rooms. Luck of the draw, I guess. My business issued laptop only takes wired. I was told the other rooms were as well wired, but they were "turned off".

The food in the hotel at their breakfast and lunch bistro was fantastic. Both meals were buffet style with different prices for the options available. Lunches were especially non-traditional and flavorful. Being the school is for the deaf, the staff in the restaurant was as well deaf. I still managed everyday of my stay to get wonderful meals and learned to say Thank You in sign language.

A very nice stay for this conference.

Room Tip: Rooms are wired for internet (not only wireless), but are turned off. I was told that the front des...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank orionreplay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
57 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2011

Fossil I really enjoyed my stay here, the hotel rooms are clean and well appointed, only a few years old I think.

The staff are really nice and the facility are good.

As its on a University campus it was pretty quiet and felt safe.

It’s a conference centre so you will have a loot of business types getting around but that’s no problem.

Parking was in a multilevel secure car park about 300m from the Hotel. No worries with walking from there to the Hotel at night as its well lit and patrolled by Uni Police.

If you are looking to stay out of the City but not to far and have a clean, well appointed Hotel with lovely staff then this Hotel is for you.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TC182TC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
150 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2011

I have known of Gallaudet University as the first American institution for deaf-mute persons and wanted to try out Kellog Conference Center as Gallaudet is reasonably close to Union Station, and therefore to downtown D.C. This is true--but I would advise against walking (certainly not at night) through a depressed area. The free shuttle runs very often and is mostly on time (though not during rush hour)--it's the easiest way of getting to the hotel. There is a parking garage near the hotel, but parking is something like $ 18.00 for 24 hours--not exactly cheap.

The Conference Center itself is nicely furnished, clean and inviting; the rooms are on the small side but perfectly adequate. Breakfast is very good and generous--and your servers will be deaf-mute (only the supervisor can speak). But that is perhaps the most astounding--and exhilarating--experience: To see how happy and perfectly functioning this group of students is, who would not consider themselves "handicapped."

I would recommend the Kellog Conference Center for anyone who wants to gain insight into a world that will normally be closed to most of us.

Room Tip: No preference--rooms are on the upper floors, above the conference rooms, anyway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank German_Retiree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuttgart
Level Contributor
41 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2011

A place we can only but recommend; very nice atmosphere and safe surrounding at the university area; friendly and helpful staff; quiet and clean room; free and fast Internet; good breakfast you have to pay for; free regular bus service to train station which was great; expensive parking. We definitely will book in again when coming to Washington

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GerdF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Israel
Level Contributor
30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2011

This small hotel is situated at the Gallaudet University campus. It is a very unique university, as it is university for mute and deaf students. The staff is very helpful. There is a shuttle to Union Station, which takes about 15 minutes drive. There is a parking place for your car, but you will have to pay extra for it. I will stay there again next time I will be in Washington DC.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank xpis3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2011

I stayed here with a friend who was in town for a conference at the university. The hotel is nicely appointed. The room was on the smallish side, but clean, crisp and new feeling/looking. The cafe seemed to have kind of strange hours, couldn't seem to catch a meal there, so can't speak to it. Also didn't have a car, but I bet there's free parking. That would be a major bonus. The internet was high speed and free. The grounds of the university are beautiful. It's a nice short walk to H Street with some great places to eat. We really like Ethiopian so that was a plus to be able to walk there. Capital Hill neighborhood is also a nice walk.

The negatives: the shuttle (maybe b/c it's summertime) was nearly always late and unreliable. The walk to the metro is through a depressed area and maybe dicey at night. The service is not like a regular hotel. There is one person who staffs the desk and it's a kid! They looked like maybe early 20's. The guy had no clue about anything, including what building the pool was in and wasn't about to try to find out. There was a young woman on staff later who had her act much more together, was professional and helpful.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GardenGirl73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
2.1 mi away
Capitol Skyline Hotel
Capitol Skyline Hotel
#78 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 bubbles 314 reviews
0.3 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Washington DC NoMa Union Station
Homewood Suites by Hilton Washin...
#101 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
1.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Washington DC-Northeast
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suit...
#103 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 bubbles 285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Days Inn Washington DC/Connecticut Avenue
Days Inn Washington DC/Connectic...
#114 of 140 in Washington DC
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,509 reviews
1.8 mi away
Comfort Inn Downtown DC / Convention Center
Comfort Inn Downtown DC / Conven...
#62 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 bubbles 944 reviews
0.4 mi away
Courtyard Washington, DC/U.S. Capitol
Courtyard Washington, DC/U.S. Ca...
#102 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 bubbles 566 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kellogg Conference Hotel at Gallaudet University? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kellogg Conference Hotel at Gallaudet University

Property: Kellogg Conference Hotel at Gallaudet University
Address: 800 Florida Ave NE, Washington DC, DC 20002-3600
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Best Value Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Kellogg Conference Hotel at Gallaudet University 3*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your event deserves the best. At the Kellogg Conference Hotel, we understand. We've earned an international reputation as one of the most respected convention center hotels in Washington DC by going beyond the expected with award-winning conference facilities, gourmet catering and the five-star accommodations and service of a leading Capitol Hill hotel. As you explore the location of your next event, discover why the Washington DC's leading corporate, government, wedding, social and third-party planners have made the Kellogg Conference Center the location of choice for outstanding corporate, educational and government conferences, destination weddings, family gatherings, recognition events and family celebrations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, HotelsforEveryone, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Kellogg Conference Hotel at Gallaudet University reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kellogg Conference Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing