We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best half smoke in town” 4 of 5 stars
Review of U Street

U Street
Ranked #132 of 388 things to do in Washington DC
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: The U Street Corridor is home to some of DC's iconic foods. Ben's Chili Bowl, home of the half-smoke, is there plus an area referred to by some as "Little Ethiopia" due to the large number of Ethiopian restaurants.
DC
Level Contributor
29 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Best half smoke in town”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

Ben's has the best half smoke in town by far! Only drama is parking in DC, so I suggest metro right across the street.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank BigTJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    25
    17
    3
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Annandale, Virginia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Clubs and theaters”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

You have to be careful walking around at night. Not the safest area. Fairly high crime area, but when you are going to a club or theater and lots of folks are walking around it is safer.

Helpful?
Thank JBKagan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Lots to see”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

U Street has gone through a great renovation. A lot of restaurants and the Lincoln Theater draw many people but my favorite place is Ben's Chili Bowl. It's worth the trip.

Helpful?
Thank Karen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Not as good”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

As Ben's has gotten more popular it just isn't as good as it use to be. Like many places that become popular with big name people the quality fades.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank KeithCopp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
62 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Up and coming”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

Okay, I have to admit I was expecting a little more glitz, but this is definitely the new shabby chic corridor of DC. In fact, that's what's so charming about it... no need to bring out the Armani suits... just be yourself and have fun.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Sacred-Valley-Girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed U Street also viewed

 
Washington DC, DC
 

Been to U Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing