We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very relaxing and close to museums!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mandarin Oriental, Washington DC
Ranked #16 of 142 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed July 17, 2010

My husband attended a conference in DC in July. We were able to choose from a list of over 20 DC area hotels and choose the Mandarin Oriental based on photos and reviews. We were a little concerned about the location and soon realized we loved the proximity to the Smithsonian museums and Holocaust Museum. It was only a short walk to the Smithsonian metro station, which allowed quick access to other sites.

We arrived around noon to check in and received a friendly greeting and quick check-in. We were even provided with lavender scented wash clothes to refresh our hands at the front desk. Upon returning from dinner, we entered the room to relaxing music, the beds turned down and fresh ice and water on the nightstands.

The room was amazing and we had a view of the Potomac River. The seating area and bed were both comfy. My favorite part of the room was the large bathroom with a soaking tub and television. Housekeeping did a great job each day providing plenty of extra towels and bath ammenities. Everything was spotless.

The restaurants have a wonderful reputation but are pricey. We choose to dine throughout the city and took a taxi or the metro back to the hotel. Although the streets around the hotel were quiet at night, we felt safe.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TexansLove2Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,935)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,677 - 1,683 of 1,935 reviews

Reviewed July 8, 2010

Great service, food, rooms and grounds. Staff was also great.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MMSS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2010

I recently attended a conference in Washington, DC and this was the hotel booked for me. Upon arrival it was made clear to me that this hotel is just not for the likes of me. I realize I was not a businessman in a suit, but it's uncomfortable to feel that you are intruding on staff who have more important things to do.

When I asked where the ice machine was located, I was told somewhat derisively that ice could be delivered. When I asked where the in-room coffee maker was to be found, I was told that coffee is available in the morning (until 8:30). When I went downstairs for a cup to bring back to the room, it was TEPID.

While the room was lovely, with a view, it is not practical for conference attendees (the convention center is a $10 minimum cab ride away and one day I paid $20), and I would prefer the option of fetching my own ice and coffee. Oh! And internet access is $15 a day!

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mantecagirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2010

Will post more- requested early check in- they're late to normal check in already. All I've gotten so far is second class treatment and an insincere apologie. After she noted this was our anniversary ...very sad

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bloemieke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MOWashingtonDCHotel, Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Washington DC, responded to this reviewResponded June 22, 2010

Dear Bloemieke,

We are very keen to learn more about your experience. Please contact me at your earliest convenience to discuss at 202-787-6112.

Sincerely,

Robert Lowe
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2010

We have stayed at the Mandarin several times during trips to D.C., and, even though the hotel is not located conveniently located near D.C. attractions, we generally use a cab to get around D.C. and it is not any more expensive to get to theaters and restaurants from the Mandarin than from many other hotels in D.C. In some ways, we like the quiet location of the Mandarin. It is one of the few hotels in D. C. where we have actually enjoyed walking around at night. The view down to the Capitol is stunning, whether by day or night, and you have good views of several other monuments.The rooms are immaculate, the restaurant serves delicious food, and the spa is first class, although expensive, like everything else at this hotel. Check the website regularly, rates can vary quite a bit, especially on weekends. We like the rooms on the river side for their views.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank alashas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2010

We usually stay at other hotels in the District but the event we were attending was at this hotel. The rooms are nice and large, clean and the staff was amazingly helpful and courteous. We enjoyed staying on one of the Club Level floors and the Tai Pan lounge was great for grabbing breakfast, afternoon snacks and drinks. Well worth the slight extra cost. Although the restaurant we had lunch in wasn't great, the overall experience at this hotel was very good. We wish it were a bit closer to the other restaurants and tourist destinations.

Stayed: May 2010, traveled on business
Thank Okcathy124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MOWashingtonDCHotel, Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Washington DC, responded to this reviewResponded June 14, 2010

Dear Okcathy124,

We are delighted to hear of your positive experience and we thank you for sharing! It is unfortunate that the location did not contribute to your overall satisfaction and for this we do apologize. There have been others that have not particularly enjoyed our location as well and it seems a bit odd considering the many marvelous Washington D.C. treasures at our doorstep. I hope you will indulge me for just a moment as I wish to point out the many attributes of the Washington Waterfront.

It is most definitely true that during the late evening hours, the area around the hotel tends to be very quite. The sleepy streets are welcome to some but not all and we certainly understand that; but the overall location offers something for everyone, be it convenience to air travel, unique Washington experiences on the water or ease to popular tourist destinations.

We built here in order to take advantage of the proximity to Capitol Hill, airports and Union Station, the Smithsonian Museums and the Washington Waterfront, and of course, the incredible views. Nowhere in the city can you spy the monuments quite like you can from Mandarin Oriental; the Washington Monument greets you upon arrival, the Capitol Building is framed beautifully by cherry trees from our front cul de sac, and the Jefferson Memorial is just steps away via our own private footbridge. The Jefferson Memorial’s adjacent Tidal Basin is a marvelous place to picnic or paddle boat, and the neighboring DC Fish Market, a series of large boats stretched along the channel, sells fresh and cooked seafood to locals and tourists alike. Quick access to Metro and all of the cities major arteries including 395 & 295, 14th Street and Rock Creek Parkway converging at our back door.

So we hope guests will consider exploring our unique location and allow us to assist in navigating this small and lesser known quadrant of the city; there truly is a great deal to offer.

I would be delighted to discuss any of the above. Feel free to call 202-787-6112, my direct line, or speak with the hotel concierge to learn more about the neighborhoods of south west Washington. We look forward to your next visit and again, thank you for your candid feedback!


Warm Regards,

Robert Lowe
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2010

My husband and I stayed one night after our anniversary dinner at Cityzen. We live in the area so we weren't staying for the location and the sightseeing, but as many others have noted this is not a good location for anything other than the cherry blossoms. One look at a map should help one to figure this out though. That said, the hotel itself is very nice, and bit large and a bit impersonal but that is sort of the nature of a hotel this size. The rooms are luxurious, not the best I've stayed in at this price range but the bathrooms are huge and luxurious and everything is clean and as it should be. I had heard the spa was very good and it definitely lived up to my expectations - the facilities are top notch, with a large locker area that was spotless, and very nice treatment rooms. I would definitely come back just to do spa treatments. The restaurant, Cityzen, was excellent and is consistently named as one of the best restaurants in DC, but you need reservations well in advance. The other restaurant where we had breakfast was only ok - it seemed like they wanted to push everyone into having the buffet so they didn't have to bother with serving you. We ate a la carte for half the price of the buffet and without getting up and down to get everything ourselves. As I said, I do live in the area and I've been a few times to the jazz nights they have in their lobby - very fun, a little loud, and good but expensive drinks. If you don't mind taking a cab everywhere from the hotel this isn't a bad choice.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank oscarfelix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Upper Northwest
Willard InterContinental Washington
Dupont Circle
The Jefferson, Washington DC
The Jefferson, Washington DC
#2 of 142 in Washington DC
1,146 reviews
Sofitel Washington DC
#20 of 142 in Washington DC
3,228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
The Watergate Hotel Georgetown
The Watergate Hotel Georgetown
#14 of 142 in Washington DC
426 reviews
Georgetown
Four Seasons Hotel Washington, DC
Dupont Circle
The Hay-Adams
The Hay-Adams
#3 of 142 in Washington DC
1,318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mandarin Oriental, Washington DC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mandarin Oriental, Washington DC

Address: 1330 Maryland Avenue, SW, Washington DC, DC 20024-2100
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Washington DC
#10 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#13 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#14 Green Hotel in Washington DC
#17 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#24 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range: $280 - $640 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Mandarin Oriental, Washington DC 5*
Number of rooms: 373
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
MO is celebrating the grand opening of District Wharf: DC’s hottest new waterfront neighborhood featuring over 20 exciting restaurants, the cool new Anthem concert hall, thrilling nightspots with live music, eclectic shopping, three public piers, and invigorating street life. Its all an easy walk out of our back door and down the street. With our freshly redesigned guest rooms, immersive spa, acclaimed guest service, and expansive views of the monuments and the water, Mandarin Oriental is Washington’s internationally sophisticated luxury hotel. We offer privileged access to the globally-minded, design-oriented, enthusiast travelers who are our guests. Whether you stroll to the National Mall and Tidal Basin or never leave the hotel, you’ll get the best of DC and feel a home away from home. Mandarin Oriental Hotel Group is famous the world over for providing intuitive service, elevated dining, arresting design, and sensuous wellness. Are you a fan? ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Mandarin Oriental, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Mandarin Oriental, Washington DC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mandarin Oriental, Washington d.c. Hotel Washington Dc
Mandarin Oriental Hotel Washington Dc
Mandarin Oriental Washington Dc
Mandarin Washington Dc
Washington Dc Mandarin Oriental

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing