We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One perfect night”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mandarin Oriental, Washington DC
Ranked #13 of 142 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed May 7, 2014

We were there for one night only. But everything from roomservice to the backyard was perfect.

The hotel is perfect for a stay in the spring. I absolutely loved the breakfast.

We got great service, especially from the bell boys.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Juliussen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Timothy H, Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Washington DC, responded to this reviewResponded May 10, 2014

Dear Juliussen,

Thank you for the kind words! I have shared your comments with our team. We are truly delighted that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future!

Warm Regards,
Timothy Harleth
Director of Front Office Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,907)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,151 - 1,157 of 1,907 reviews

Reviewed May 6, 2014

When you walk into the lobby of the Mandarin Oriental in Washington, DC, it is immediately apparent that you are in one of the top luxury hotels in the district. From the valet service outside and the professionalism at the front desk to the cleanliness of the rooms...the hotel met expectations. Our bathroom was especially nice.

At first, the location seems odd - you are in an area of SW DC that is almost entirely filled with government offices. If you are looking for shops and cafes outside your door, stay somewhere else. However, you can't get closer to the mall. The hotel is only two blocks away from Smithsonian museums on the Independence Ave. side of the mall and only one block from the tidal basin. More importantly, you are literally 30 seconds from the 395, making it incredibly easy to drive across the 14th street bridge to Reagan National, Old Town Alexandria or anywhere else in Virginia.

Unlike practically any other hotel in DC, the Mandarin Oriental is extremely accessible. You can drive into DC and pull in front of the hotel in 1 minute. You just can't do that at other luxury hotels in DC. Another helpful point - the hotel charges $50 to store you vehicle overnight (pretty standard for DC). However, based on the location and lack of anything else going on at night within a few blocks radius, we had an easy time parking on the street outside the hotel or around the corner on 12th Street SW...on Friday and Saturday night...for free.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mjbatt77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Timothy H, Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Washington DC, responded to this reviewResponded May 10, 2014

Dear mjbatt77,

I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us! Indeed, we are very proud of our location within Southwest Washington, D.C.

In addition to being within just a five minute walk to most of the Smithsonian Museums, we are also just a five minute drive to the U.S. Capitol.

Moreover, many of the area’s top restaurants are just a short cab ride away. With a taxi stand directly outside our door, access in and out of the hotel is incredibly easy.

I trust that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back soon!

Warm regards,
Timothy Harleth
Director of Front Office Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2014

We received a very warm welcome upon checking in. Our room, though not very large, made up for that minor deficiency with floor to ceiling windows and views out to the Washington Monument and some other D.C. city monuments.

If available, try to book the concierge level. There are a premium of rooms set aside, but the payoff is access to a huge room with large comfy chairs and couches.

Did I say anything about the goodies in the concierge goody room? Light breakfast in the am, treats & sweets all day and a free bar in the evening. We used it and loved it & well worth the extra tithe.

I love my bed at my home but these beds are extraordinarily comfortable. We requested and received a king bed and I cannot describe how comfortable it was.

The concierge at the front desk gave us "go to the front of the line" passes to Fords Theatre that performed as advertised.

I could go on but simply put, there were no weak spots. This is the 2nd entry I have made into this db. It is done solely on the merit of the Mandarin Oriental.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BrianCfromHC77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Timothy H, Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Washington DC, responded to this reviewResponded May 10, 2014

Dear BrianCfromHC77,

Thank you very much for such a wonderful review!

Indeed, our ‘Tai Pan’ Club Floor has many great benefits. In addition to the Food & Beverage presentations, we also have a dedicated Concierge on hand to assist with any restaurant or spa reservations.

I hope that you will have the opportunity to see us again soon!

Warm regards,
Timothy Harleth
Director of Front Office Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2014

This was my first and last stay at the MandarinOriental. I really splurged for the long weekend. Loved the gorgeous room,bathroom and fabulous room service (try the curry). Restaurants were awful, and so was management when there was a problem with dirty sheets (yuck). Back to the Ritz Carlton for me!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank B G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Timothy H, Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Washington DC, responded to this reviewResponded May 10, 2014

Dear B G,

Thank you for providing us with your feedback!

I am truly delighted that you enjoyed our guest rooms and their luxurious bathrooms! Indeed, we have an excellent In-Room Dining menu. I am very pleased that you enjoyed your meal.

That said, I am discouraged with your comments about our Restaurant and the Front Desk. Could I ask that you contact me at tharleth@mohg.com with your reservation number? I would be thankful for the opportunity to investigate these issues to ensure we resolve any outstanding concerns you might have.

I look forward to speaking with you!

Warm regards,
Timothy Harleth
Director of Front Office Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2014

Anyone familiar with the unique character of the Mandarin Oriental in New York or London will be disappointed with this slightly soul-less hotel which lacks in style and character. The oriental touches in the public spaces and the bedrooms are minimal.

This is fundamentally a business hotel, though proximity to the Tidal Basin appeals to some tourists. Bedrooms and bathrooms are spacious and comfortable, with prompt and attentive housekeeping, but furnishings are more functional than memorable. The same can be said of the public spaces.

I had a poor experience at check-in. I had notified the hotel in advance that I would be checking in early at 11am. On arrival, I was told my room was not ready. It took five minutes and the requested intervention of a manager, but I was assigned a room immediately. Don't take no for an answer.

Amusingly, on entering my room, I found a letter from the manager which read in part: "Our team is committed to exceeding your expectations and providing you with a memorable visit." Thanks to the front desk reception, it was certainly memorable.

Room Tip: Request a water view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank spencerusa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Timothy H, Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Washington DC, responded to this reviewResponded May 10, 2014

Dear spencerusa,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. I am very pleased that you enjoyed the guest rooms and public spaces of the hotel.

However, I am concerned with the challenges you encountered while attempting to check into your room early. Could I ask that you email me at tharleth@mohg.com with your reservation number?

I sincerely apologize for any inconvenience this posed on your morning. If your early arrival had been guaranteed, you should not have been met with any resistance. I would be incredible thankful for the opportunity to look into the matter in greater detail.

Warm regards,
Timothy Harleth
Director of Front Office Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2014

The location is fabulous. Across the street from the Tidal Basin and right on the river.
My family was able to walk to the attractions. I utilized the Spa and loved it and the pool too. Room location overlooking the Jefferson Memorial and Tidal Basin was great. We were on the executive floor with daily snacks and food in the lounge.The staff emailed me prior several times to ask me if we needed anything extra. The price was fare for the location. We ate at the hotels restaurants and the food was expensive but good.Would return for sure. Location is a very quick trip from Reagan International.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Timothy H, Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Washington DC, responded to this reviewResponded May 10, 2014

Dear Karen W,

Thank you for such a delightful review! Indeed, we have a foot bridge through our garden that provides easy access out to the Jefferson Memorial & Tidal Basin.

I hope that we have the opportunity to welcome you back into Washington soon!

Warm regards,
Timothy Harleth
Director of Front Office Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2014 via mobile

The location is great, walking distance from the mall and facing the river. The room was spotless and comfortable though somewhat small. Tha bathroom however was anazing! Looks like recently renovated. The staff was extremely helpful and polite. We had a great weekend here.

Thank y2m2r
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Timothy H, Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Washington DC, responded to this reviewResponded May 10, 2014

Dear y2m2r,

I am thrilled you enjoyed the location of our hotel!

I trust that we will have the chance to welcome you back into Washington in the near future!

Warm regards,
Timothy Harleth
Director of Front Office Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Upper Northwest
Willard InterContinental Washington
Dupont Circle
The Jefferson, Washington DC
The Jefferson, Washington DC
#2 of 142 in Washington DC
1,136 reviews
Sofitel Washington DC
#20 of 142 in Washington DC
3,220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dupont Circle
The Hay-Adams
The Hay-Adams
#5 of 142 in Washington DC
1,302 reviews
Georgetown
Four Seasons Hotel Washington, DC
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
The Watergate Hotel Georgetown
The Watergate Hotel Georgetown
#12 of 142 in Washington DC
395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mandarin Oriental, Washington DC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mandarin Oriental, Washington DC

Address: 1330 Maryland Avenue, SW, Washington DC, DC 20024-2100
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Washington DC
#8 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#13 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#14 Green Hotel in Washington DC
#17 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#24 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range: $290 - $809 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Mandarin Oriental, Washington DC 5*
Number of rooms: 373
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
MO is celebrating the grand opening of District Wharf: DC’s hottest new waterfront neighborhood featuring over 20 exciting restaurants, the cool new Anthem concert hall, thrilling nightspots with live music, eclectic shopping, three public piers, and invigorating street life. Its all an easy walk out of our back door and down the street. With our freshly redesigned guest rooms, immersive spa, acclaimed guest service, and expansive views of the monuments and the water, Mandarin Oriental is Washington’s internationally sophisticated luxury hotel. We offer privileged access to the globally-minded, design-oriented, enthusiast travelers who are our guests. Whether you stroll to the National Mall and Tidal Basin or never leave the hotel, you’ll get the best of DC and feel a home away from home. Mandarin Oriental Hotel Group is famous the world over for providing intuitive service, elevated dining, arresting design, and sensuous wellness. Are you a fan? ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Mandarin Oriental, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mandarin Oriental, Washington DC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mandarin Oriental, Washington d.c. Hotel Washington Dc
Mandarin Oriental Hotel Washington Dc
Mandarin Oriental Washington Dc
Mandarin Washington Dc
Washington Dc Mandarin Oriental

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing