We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Classy joint”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mandarin Oriental, Washington DC
Ranked #17 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
182 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Classy joint”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2014

This is my second visit here for an overnight stay for business function. From the moment you arrive, you feel welcome and special. When checking in you are greeted with a friendly hello and a warm towel to refresh yourself. The rooms are A+, large, luxurious, clean and comfortable. The bathrooms are huge, with a soaking size tub and a large tiled shower with one of the most powerful and soothing showerheads I've ever experienced.

The housekeepers have an invisible presence in your room, making subtle adjustments as the day goes by to help you out along the way. The large tv swivels toward the bed but doesn't swivel the other way towards the desk. I did have an ice bucket full of water when I arrived, which I imagine was waiting ice at one time. I walked the hall looking for ice without success and imagined the security staff watching me through the many cameras situated along the halls, half thinking an invisible voice would tell me that there is no ice on the floor and call housekeeping.

I was onsite for a conference and the banquet staff was pleasant and efficient and always available. The food, for a conference, was way above average, actually delicious. The eggs at breakfast tasted manufactured though, as opposed to real/fresh.

The one complaint I would have is that the $15/night internet fee seems excessive considering the cost of the room and the universal use of wifi.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eyeballs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Timothy H, Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Washington DC, responded to this review, April 6, 2014
Dear Eyeballs,

I am delighted that you enjoyed your evening with us!

I truly believe that we have one of the best experiences in Washington, D.C.

Our team is genuinely eager to ensure that all your needs are anticipated.

Additionally, I have some very excited news on the cost of internet. We have a new initiative that provides complimentary internet access for up to six different devices. This is available to all guests that create a Profile on our website, www.mandarinoriental.com, and book one of our published rates.

I trust that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back soon!

Warm regards,

Timothy Harleth
Director of Front Office Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,737 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,052
    414
    147
    84
    40
See reviews for
387
402
74
665
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (379)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Morristown, NJ
Level Contributor
281 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2014

Stayed here for a business meeting this past weekend. The facility is wonderful and the service what one would expect for a Mandarin Oriental, pretty much flawless. The rooms are large and comfortable, it was hard to get out of bed every morning. The restaurants on the premises are very good. Will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stevesottl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Timothy H, Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Washington DC, responded to this review, April 6, 2014
Dear stevesottl,

Thank you for the very kind review of our service! We hope to see you again in the very near future!

Warm regards,

Timothy Harleth
Director of Front Office Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawley, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2014

The Mandarin Oriental was pure luxury from the moment the doormen open your car door and take care of all your baggage. The staff was exceedingly friendly and accommodating, and there was never a lapse in response when we asked for something. Bottled water left next to the bed every night and also by the front door with fresh fruit every morning for your trip through the city. The views from the room were beautiful, the beds were beyond comfortable and the location was right across from a starbucks where you could get breakfast (to avoid the unreasonable prices at the Mandarin)

However there were a few cons that I have to make note of...There was no refrigerator in the room and the bottled water was warm from the moment they handed it to you. You also have to be prepared for the train running through at all hours of the night (not an issue with the hotel, but still something to be aware of).

All over all the stay was quite memorable and enjoyable. I definitely hope to return to the Mandarin Oriental in the future.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Courtney O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2014

I just returned from my fourth stay at the Mandarin Oriental and once again I was all around impressed with the high level of service and professionalism.
From the bellhop to Mindy at the front desk to the housekeeping team-the entire staff is friendly and looking to please their guests.
Check-in was great as they keep track of any preferences you've indicated from prior stays and the rooms are large and well maintained. The bathroom is huge and absolutely gorgeous.
These guys really know how to do hospitality. Overall a great hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank benefitsguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
59 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2014

This was our first stay at a Mandarin and will not be our last! Service was impeccable. The front desk attendants were friendly, the concierge was extremely efficient and the door attendants and bellhops were courteous and pleasant. It was a pleasure returning to the hotel every evening and seeing their smiling faces, which is not always the case with door staff.
If you're a people watcher who likes to have a drink in the bar, stop reading hotel reviews and just book the Mandarin. We were traveling as a family and didn't take the time to relax in the lobby bar, but the crowd was an interesting mix of smart and vibrant people traveling for work o relaxing after, and the age range ran the gamut -- not too young, not too old. In hindsight, I wish we'd stopped in for a drink, but we were too busy running all over the place with our daughter. Don't skip the bar. You never know who you will run into.
Our room was lovely with a great view of the Potomac. My only issue was that there were three of us, and the bathroom was not divided (toilet, shower, tub were all in the same room), therefore sharing it was kind of a pain. Had I been alone or perhaps traveling with just my husband, it would have been finel, but it wasn't ideal for families.
As for the location, it was an easy walking distance to the museums, but we had to budget for a round trip $20 cab ride every evening for dinner. If you plan on enjoying The Mandarin, I recommend planning one or two of your meals in the hotel and then budgeting for a cab to go the restaurants on the other side of the mall.
On a positive note, the hotel is directly across the street from a very good Starbucks and a CVS, which is handy.
And one final note. Not having a coffee pots in the room is a huge pet peeve, but I called housekeeping the moment we checked in and they delivered an electric kettle, a French press and some coffee which we used for the duration of our stay.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Annagins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Timothy H, Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Washington DC, responded to this review, March 23, 2014
Dear Annagins,

Thank you for such a positive review! I am truly delighted by your lovely opinion of our Empress Lounge and bar.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our Nation’s Capital, and hope that during your next stay with us you will have the opportunity to experience our Empress Lounge!

Warm regards,
Timothy Harleth
Director of Front Office Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2014

This review is late in coming but it was a very pleasant stay. Nice reception, attentive staff and a very nice room. It was clean, quiet and well appointed. Very large bathroom with separate walk-in shower, reasonably good toiletries for hotel standards. Room service was timely and polite. Food was OK (but pricey).

The location is not the best (that is, it's not entirely central) but if you are cabbing it throughout the (metro) DC area, it is a good place to stay. Quiet area, not a lot of anything going on.

Conveniently, there is a drugstore across the street if one needs anything (as well as a Starbucks) but otherwise not much else in the direct vicinity.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jules3001969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Timothy H, Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Washington DC, responded to this review, March 23, 2014
Dear Jules3001969,

Thank you for the kind words!

As mentioned, we are only a short cab ride away from all of the great restaurants and nightlife our city has to offer. Our Concierge team is one of the best in the city & always on hand to assist with last minute reservations.

Additionally, we are centrally located to the Cherry Blossoms around the Tidal Basin. There is a foot bridge through our garden which can lead guests to the entrance of the Jefferson Memorial within minutes. The Smithsonian Castle, and other Smithsonian museums, is also just a ten minute walk from our front door.

I trust that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back soon!

Warm regards,
Timothy Harleth
Director of Front Office Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, WV
Level Contributor
116 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2014

The room is as nice as you'd expect, the level of housekeeping was impeccable, the bathroom luxurious and the location superb. I've gotten used to the irritation of not having free internet at the "better" hotels but this is the first time I haven't been able to find hot water for tea in the morning. That's one irritation too many. I was also surprised by how expensive parking was - $42/night - but that didn't feel as outright chintzy as no complimentary morning coffee/tea.

Room Tip: Wonderful views of Jefferson Memorial possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathleen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Timothy H, Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Washington DC, responded to this review, March 23, 2014
Dear Kathleen S,

Thank you for the very kind words regarding our staff. I am truly delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us.

I am also thrilled to share a new initiative offering complimentary high-speed internet access for up to six devices throughout your stay. In order to receive this benefit in the future, simply create a Profile on www.mandarinoriental.com and book a published rate on the website. The details in the Profile will also help us to better serve you during future stays at Mandarin Oriental hotels around the world.

Lastly, I’ve taken the opportunity to share your comments with our Front Desk team as we do indeed offer complimentary tea & coffee every morning from 5:30AM until 10:00AM adjacent to our family restaurant, Muze.

I look forward to having the opportunity to welcome you back!

Warm regards,
Timothy Harleth
Director of Front Office Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Upper Northwest
Willard InterContinental Washington
Dupont Circle
The Hay-Adams
The Hay-Adams
#3 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,176 reviews
Sofitel Washington DC
#16 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dupont Circle
The Jefferson, Washington DC
The Jefferson, Washington DC
#4 of 140 in Washington DC
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,062 reviews
Georgetown
Four Seasons Hotel Washington, DC
JW Marriott Washington, DC
#64 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,839 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mandarin Oriental, Washington DC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mandarin Oriental, Washington DC

Property: Mandarin Oriental, Washington DC
Address: 1330 Maryland Avenue, SW, Washington DC, DC 20024-2100
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Washington DC
#10 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#13 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#15 Green Hotel in Washington DC
#17 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#24 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Mandarin Oriental, Washington DC 5*
Number of rooms: 373
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It’s springtime in the nation’s capital and there’s no better place to celebrate the new blooms and warm weather than Mandarin Oriental, Washington DC. Now featuring dramatically refreshed luxury guestrooms, MO is located just steps from the Tidal Basin and is soon to be surrounded by millions of the famous cherry blossoms. Our honored guests also enjoy very short walks to the National Mall, museums of the Smithsonian Institution, Washington Monument and the White House. Business travelers will appreciate swift transfers between Ronald Reagan National Airport, Union Station, U.S. Capitol and House and Senate Office Buildings. Mandarin Oriental Hotel Group is famous for providing legendary service, excellent dining, arresting design and immersive spas that rejuvenate body and mind. Our hotel presents you with an experience that is uniquely Washington and always mindful of our oriental heritage. We welcome you to become a fan. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Mandarin Oriental, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mandarin Oriental, Washington DC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mandarin Oriental, Washington d.c. Hotel Washington Dc
Mandarin Oriental Hotel Washington Dc
Mandarin Oriental Washington Dc
Mandarin Washington Dc
Washington Dc Mandarin Oriental

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing