We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not up to standards of this usually excellent brand”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mandarin Oriental, Washington DC
Ranked #15 of 142 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed January 5, 2014

We booked through Amex FHR. Very disappointed in general with this property. Lackluster service, no view from room, very spotty and inconsistent in-room service, and the hotel is old and tired when it comes to the furniture, fabrics, and general cleanliness. I have sent a review to the hotel itself and also contact Amex to let them know they should remove this hotel from their FHR list of properties.

My list of specific issues is too long to go into here, but you can look at the photos I took of the room to see how unkempt this hotel is. Mandarin Oriental should be ashamed.

Room Tip: Demand a high-floor room with a REAL view. The brochures and website are extremely misleading. If...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rover28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,905)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,208 - 1,214 of 1,905 reviews

Reviewed January 2, 2014

Spent the weekend before Christmas there and had a wonderful time. A short cab ride is required in most cases to see the sights of Washington, but the hotel's location does provide a great view of the Jefferson Monument a cross the Potomac. Simply it's a quality establishment.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fly_Bob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2014

The Mandarin Oriental DC (AAA 5-star luxury property) was ranked by the Institutional Investor magazine as one of the top 100 hotels in the world, and I’ve been lucky enough to stay at this property a few times because of work.

Included are photographs of my room – 944. The muted colors are calming and the sound-proofed rooms meant that I never heard anyone once I closed my door. The furnishings and set up speak for themselves. It is tough to find any fault with the Mandarin Oriental DC. My only issue with the hotel is that I prefer staying (for personal reasons) closer to Dupont Circle. The hotel is in a fairly desolate area not necessarily that far from the DC Mall but not really near anything (restaurants included) that are of any interest.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Albiani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2013

We spent Christmas there. It was a lovely place and they were very accommodating. of all of us. We were the guests of a family member whom they upgraded to the Jefferson Suite, which was the size of most people's ground floor of their home. It was perfect to celebrate Christmas with present opening, etc. The staff was all very kind and it had one of the best showers I have ever had the pleasure to use.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank smartace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2013

Stayed there for one week with my husband who was there for business. I cant say enough, the staff are very friendly and helpful, I loved the room, we had a very nice view and the bathroom is spacious and inviting. I loved the location although I felt at the beginning it was far after reading some reviews, but I discovered its walking distance from almost all the museums, and there's two metro stations 10 min away walking, actually I liked it better than the one in downtown as the buildings downtown are very old although renovated, but I am not sure about the cleanliness downtown as I saw a rat walking close to a restaurant. The concierge prepares lists for guests for places to visit and can help you plan your day, they offered us a box to ship stuff that we needed to take back with us. Since we checked out early the day of travel, they let us use their impressive Spa to re freshen up before our flight.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nalana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2013

This is a beautiful hotel on the inside (the outside just looks like a generic Washington government building) and the staff delivered the kind of efficient and pleasant service one expects from quality hotels in the USA.

The room was sumptuous and the bathroom enormous but the bed and pillows were...dreamy. I haven't slept so well in a long time - it was a real struggle to get out of bed as the mattress, covers and pillows embraced me in unparalleled comfort.

It is located within easy walking distance to Mall of America with all it's attractions, but it is some distance from the main entertainment area (but it's a safe walkable distance).

The breakfast was good, if somewhat expensive. However, they knew how to make good espresso (with Lavazza, no less) and that alone is worth the mark-up.

They have a good range of beer at the bar and they make a very drinkable G&T.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brad A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2013 via mobile

My wife's birthday gift was a stay for us at the Mandarin Oriental. Getting there using GPS was a bit of a challenge, mainly because we're not used to city driving. When we got there and unloaded, the car was whisked away by their staff and we entered the beautiful lobby. Everyone at the hotel was courteous and welcoming and our room was spacious, nicely appointed and quiet with a great view from the window. Aside from the comfortable bed and seating area the bathroom blew us away. Very luxurious.
Prior to dinner we had delicious and unusual drinks at the hotel bar.
One of the things we especially liked about the Mandarin is the quiet somewhat secluded location. We prefer these kinds of places verses the bustling , busy center of the action places.
For a pamper oneself stay the Mandarin Oriental was sheer luxury!

Stayed: November 2013
Thank Jackfred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Upper Northwest
Willard InterContinental Washington
Dupont Circle
The Jefferson, Washington DC
The Jefferson, Washington DC
#2 of 142 in Washington DC
1,136 reviews
Sofitel Washington DC
#20 of 142 in Washington DC
3,219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dupont Circle
The Hay-Adams
The Hay-Adams
#5 of 142 in Washington DC
1,301 reviews
Georgetown
Four Seasons Hotel Washington, DC
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
The Watergate Hotel Georgetown
The Watergate Hotel Georgetown
#10 of 142 in Washington DC
393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mandarin Oriental, Washington DC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mandarin Oriental, Washington DC

Address: 1330 Maryland Avenue, SW, Washington DC, DC 20024-2100
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Washington DC
#9 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#13 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#14 Green Hotel in Washington DC
#17 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#24 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range: $290 - $815 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Mandarin Oriental, Washington DC 5*
Number of rooms: 373
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When autumn comes and the weather cools down, Washington gets down to business as it becomes more walkable and much livelier. It’s the perfect time to plan a trip with fun outdoor festivals, live concerts, thought-provoking museum exhibits, along with some of the world’s most recognized monuments, and the nation’s most cherished memorials. With newly renovated guest rooms and only hotel featuring views of the monuments and the water, Mandarin Oriental, Washington DC is at the center of everything. Our guests enjoy short walks to the National Mall, the Smithsonian Institution, and Washington Monument. Soon, guests will be able to stroll over to District Wharf—a brand new development along the waterfront featuring over 20 restaurants, an exciting concert venue called The Anthem, nightclubs with live entertainment, fun shopping, and luxury residences. Mandarin Oriental Hotel Group is famous for providing the finest service, dining, design, and spas. Are you a fan? ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Mandarin Oriental, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Mandarin Oriental, Washington DC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mandarin Oriental, Washington d.c. Hotel Washington Dc
Mandarin Oriental Hotel Washington Dc
Mandarin Oriental Washington Dc
Mandarin Washington Dc
Washington Dc Mandarin Oriental

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing