We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Forget the rest” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mandarin Oriental, Washington DC

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Mandarin Oriental, Washington DC
Ranked #18 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Yorktown, Virginia
Level Contributor
114 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Forget the rest”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2013

I've stayed at the Mandarin on many occasion for business and pleasure. Your family and guests will be impressed at your tastes. Also impressive is the entire staff from the Parking attendants who greet you by name (returning guests) thru the dining staff.

We've encounted many famous people dining among us to include Drew Carey, Morgan Freedman, and Arch Bishop Desmond Tutu.

The rooms are exquisite, even the smallest of them provides a full-size couch and lounging area.

Try an 80 minute Spa treatment. We even had room service with a complimentary DVD Movie choice.

It's true - you do get what you pay for.

Room Tip: If you can afford it, you will never stay anywhere else in D.C. Valet parking is a must. The entry...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MaceandMo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,690 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,016
    408
    144
    83
    39
See reviews for
374
389
72
651
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (370)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Beverly, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2013 via mobile

The staff at the Manadrin could not have been nicer or more helpful. They upgraded us to a water view. We looked out over the Jefferson Memorial. The room was quiet and well appointed. The bed was extremely comfortable and the pillows were awesome. Large bathroom with powerful shower, plus towels, robes, etc. Very expensive bar, $12 for a glass of wine! Neede to call romm service to get ice even though an ice bucket in the room. TV was on the blink but were told tvs are slowly being replaced. Very convenient location to the mall. Pot Belly Sandwich shop right outside but closes early and not open on Sunday's.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Lesley M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
101 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2013

Basic a carbon copy of San Fran hotel, minimalist furniture, but an expansive bathroom and nice view of the Potomac, Very helpful concierge. A very short ride to the airport, and close to Ebbett's grill.

Room Tip: Overlook the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank traveltoomuchToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saginaw, Michigan, USA
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2013

Super location in DC. You can easily walk the National Mall from the Lincoln Memorial all the way to the Capital Building. The hotel is a little non-descript from the outside but once you get inside it is beautiful and in pristine condition. All the staff I interacted with were incredibly friendly and helpful. I had clean room, comfortable bed with a great view. Definitely would visit again on business or for a personal trip.

Room Tip: Ask for a room over looking the Jefferson Memorial and marina.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Benjamin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I stayed here in middle October and really enjoyed the hotel. The rooms feel like spas with spacious baths. Their is even a flat screen tv in the bath. The views are ok. Most face the parking lot. Ask for the Jefferson Memorial view

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeff R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MOWashingtonDCHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Washington DC, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Thank you for your feedback, Jeff R.

We are delighted to hear that you and your wife enjoyed your stay and the relaxing feature of our bath tubs! Feel free to reach out to me so that I can assure the best available view when you two return from Texas.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
85 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2013 via mobile

So nice to receive the Mandarin Oriental style welcome, in the US. No line; warm and cheerful desk staff; quickly finished and escorted to the elevator, all of which is calming after a trip.

I forgot my razor and toothbrush, and debated whether I had time to call for them and wait for them to arrive, or if I had to go to the lobby myself, possibly look for a convenience store. It's the Mandarin Oriental, knocking on my door a bare minute after I called... Service!

Ordered grilled chicken breast (au jus) from the room service menu... Worth going back just for that!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 1k_by_June
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MOWashingtonDCHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Washington DC, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Thank you for your review, 1k_by_June.

We are delighted to hear that our housekeeping and front office team were able to exceed your expectations during your stay. Feel free to forget those bathroom items any time you stay at Mandarin Oriental! We look forward to seeing you again and serving you dinner in the comfort of your room.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honokaa, Hawaii
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2013 via mobile

I thought I might be over looking the Capitol or Jefferson memorial, but this is what I see from my Deluxe City View Room. I also expected in room coffee, tea, refrigerator and microwave for the amount being charged, but I only have an honor bar and ice bucket. I guess the welcome an service at the front desk set my expectations too high for the sleeping room I was assigned.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank M N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MOWashingtonDCHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Washington DC, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Thank you for your comments, M N.

My apologies for your dissapointment in your view. We do have all of these additional items available upon request and can have them set in your room before arrival. Please feel free to send me a message and I can be sure your next visit has these items ready for you! I can also notate your view preference so that you can see more of DC.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Upper Northwest
Willard InterContinental Washington
Dupont Circle
The Hay-Adams
The Hay-Adams
#3 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,156 reviews
Dupont Circle
The Jefferson, Washington DC
The Jefferson, Washington DC
#4 of 140 in Washington DC
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,053 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sofitel Washington DC
#16 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,083 reviews
Georgetown
Four Seasons Hotel Washington, DC
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mandarin Oriental, Washington DC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mandarin Oriental, Washington DC

Property: Mandarin Oriental, Washington DC
Address: 1330 Maryland Avenue, SW, Washington DC, DC 20024-2100
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Washington DC
#12 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#13 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#15 Green Hotel in Washington DC
#17 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#24 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Mandarin Oriental, Washington DC 5*
Number of rooms: 373
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Delighted now to debut our newly renovated guestrooms providing a luxurious and comfortable residential experience. Inspired by our unique waterfront Southwest location and the cherished monuments that surround us, our stylish new décor beautifully captures the essence of Washington, D.C. and its world capital status. Mandarin Oriental is in very close walking distance to the National Mall, Jefferson Memorial, Tidal Basin, the Smithsonian Castle and Museums of the Smithsonian Institution. Distinguished with modern design and amenities. Welcoming for families and travelers seeking both the famous attractions and the soul of our world capital of art, power and culture. Mandarin Oriental, Washington DC presents elevated, personal service and attention in harmony with our Asian heritage. Hotel, Spa and dining: Are you a fan? ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Mandarin Oriental, Expedia, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Mandarin Oriental, Washington DC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mandarin Oriental, Washington d.c. Hotel Washington Dc
Mandarin Oriental Hotel Washington Dc
Mandarin Oriental Washington Dc
Mandarin Washington Dc
Washington Dc Mandarin Oriental

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing