We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrific Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mandarin Oriental, Washington DC
Ranked #16 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Visited this property in July. It was the first trip to DC for our kids. Overall impression was great - property is well maintained and staff are friendly and helpful. Location is close to the mall and museums.

We got 2 connecting rooms and they were spacious and roomy. We had a view of the Washington Memorial which was lit up at night. Rooms were well appointed - comfy beds, big bathrooms and flat screen TV's with lots of channels. Only negative were the carpets in our rooms, they were very worn and not in line with how clean and well maintained the rest of the rooms were.

Empress Lounge had great atmosphere, pretty good food/drink selection and good service.

Sou'wester was a disappointment. Food was ok and service was not good. We brought drinks into dinner from the Empress Lounge and the server was irritated by that. She grew increasingly irritated when she asked us multiple times if we wanted more wine/drinks and we did not. She promised our kids coloring books and did not bring them. Her attitude was so bad we wanted dinner to be over asap. We did appreciate that the hotel was aware of our child's food allergies and they brought a few treats especially for her.

My kids adored the panda bears they were given at check-in.

Gym was spacious with lots of cardio machines. The weight machines were ok - good enough for a hotel gym.

The only other negative for this hotel is there isn't free wi-fi for guests - truly a negative for such a prestigious brand.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank twosquares
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MOWashingtonDCHotel, Public Relations Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Washington DC, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2013

Dear "TwoSquares,"

Many thanks for taking the time to share your comments regarding your stay in July. We appreciate when guests take the time to post and highlight both, those things they enjoyed, and those areas that need some attention. I can assure you that we take those comments very seriously and will take steps to improve so that we meet and exceed your expectations during your next stay.

Again, many thanks and safe travels,
Mandarin Oriental, Washington D.C.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,985)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,331 - 1,337 of 1,985 reviews

Reviewed September 3, 2013

I didn't stay in these hotel before its very nice great location and nice and clean room I have nice view of the water close to all attraction I liked it I was attending the weeding party in this hotel it was nice gathering with all the family it's grate hotel to stay in

Room Tip: Water view and the corner suites very nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 4JOJO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MOWashingtonDCHotel, Public Relations Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Washington DC, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2013

Dear "4JoJo,"

Many thanks for taking the time to post about your recent wedding party stay.

We are thrilled that you enjoyed your visit and that the wedding was especially enjoyable.

We do hope you will come back to visit when your travels next return you to our nation's capital.

Kind regards and safe travels,
Mandarin Oriental, Washington D.C.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Every evening the jazz set the tone! Beautiful bathrooms! Fabulous bed! The staff was exceptional and met all of our needs! The Concierge was extremely helpful in giving us great names of restaurant and places to go!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cheryl f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MOWashingtonDCHotel, Public Relations Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Washington DC, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2013

Dear Cheryl,

How nice to hear from you regarding your recent stay! We enjoy hearing from our guests, especially about those things they enjoyed the most during their time with us.

We do hope to have the pleasure of your company when you next find yourself in our nation's capital.

Safe travels,
Mandarin Oriental, Washington D.C.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights in July for a short family vacation. This was the first time our kids were in Washington DC and we chose this hotel because of its location and, honestly, because we were able to use vacation points from a vacation club program.

We upgraded our room to the Tai Pan club room, which was WELL worth its price! Room was nice and spacious - bathroom was huge - room was clean. Breakfast was plentiful for us, and the evening hors d'ouvres were enough to make a meal out of. The staff here was very friendly and the club was so nice to have - especially the beverages and bottled water since it was 95+ degrees each day of our stay.

Valet parking is steep at $50/night but that is the going rate for center city hotels anymore. It was convenient and our car was safely stored in an underground garage.

There is quite a bit of walking required to get anywhere - don't let the maps fool you! It's a good 15 minute walk to the Washington Monument - 30 min walk to the Lincoln Memorial and about a 25 minute walk to the Capitol building from the hotel.

Only complaint - swimming pool was small and closed early at 7 pm, and though it claimed it was heated it was very cold. Kids were a bit bummed we couldn't swim after a long day visiting the museums and monuments, as were we.

Room Tip: If you can get a Tai Pan club room, do it! Well worth the extra $$
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Becky C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MOWashingtonDCHotel, Public Relations Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Washington DC, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2013

Dear "Capuzzi,"

We are so grateful that we could be a part of your children's first visit to DC!

Thank you for complimenting our various hotel offerings, and for being candid about your areas of concern. We have provided your comments about the temperature of the pool to our Engineering staff, and they will be reviewing that, as well as the hours of operation, which may possibly change on a seasonal basis.

Again, many thanks for your feedback and your review.

Kind regards and safe travels,
Mandarin Oriental, Washington D.C.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2013

Really impressed with the Mandarin Oriental. Never stayed in one before, but it really is first class. Super clean, very well appointed rooms. Very modern, great location, excellent restaurant. Close to Capitol Hill and Smithsonian Institute. Staff are great. Its not cheap but it represents good value. I loved it, my wife loved it and the kids loved it.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PJN11_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MOWashingtonDCHotel, Public Relations Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Washington DC, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2013

Dear "PJN11_12,"

What's not to "love" about your post? We are thrilled that we were able to satisfy your entire family - that is so great to hear!

We always appreciate when guests take the time to share about their stays, and your comments really cover a wide area of what our hotel features...location, offering and guest experience, just to name a few.

We do hope you visit us again from York!

Safe travels,
Mandarin Oriental, Washington D.C.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2013

I stayed here for one night during a business trip to Washington. Staff in the reception area were extremely helpful and friendly. The room was spacious enough and clean, the bathroom was unexpectedly large. It was very quiet during the night, which is not always a given in hotels of this size. I used the swimming pool, which is about 20 metres and was warm enough to get in, but not too hot swim a few lengths. I would stay here again and also recommend the hotel to any of my colleagues. Location is also great!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cathrin_78_Summer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MOWashingtonDCHotel, Public Relations Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Washington DC, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2013

Dear Cathrin,

Many thanks for taking the time to post about your recent business stay.

We do hope we can have the pleasure of your company the next time your travels include the nation's capital.

Many thanks and safe travels,
Mandarin Oriental, Washington D.C.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2013

First stay at the Mandarin in DC And best hôtel stay so far in DC. Stayed for 1 night. Room was clean, spacious and comfortable, staff was extremely nice and helpful. The hotel, although quite good, was not of the caliber of the Mandarin in Tokyo or Vegas, therefore a bit disappointed on that front hence my overall rating.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Voyageur H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MOWashingtonDCHotel, Public Relations Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Washington DC, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2013

Dear "Voyageur H,"

Many thanks for taking the time to post about your stay...it is always a pleasure to hear from our guests following their stay. Each hotel is unique to its location and city, and we do our best to provide a memorable stay that is thoughtful and authentically local.

We do hope to welcome you back when your travels next include our nation's capital.

Kind regards and safe travels,
Mandarin Oriental, Washington D.C>

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Dupont Circle
The Jefferson, Washington DC
The Jefferson, Washington DC
#4 of 141 in Washington DC
1,170 reviews
Sofitel Washington DC
#19 of 141 in Washington DC
3,274 reviews
Upper Northwest
Willard InterContinental Washington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
The Watergate Hotel Georgetown
The Watergate Hotel Georgetown
#44 of 141 in Washington DC
491 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown
Georgetown
Four Seasons Hotel Washington, DC
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mandarin Oriental, Washington DC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mandarin Oriental, Washington DC

Address: 1330 Maryland Avenue, SW, Washington DC, DC 20024-2100
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Washington DC
#11 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#13 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#14 Green Hotel in Washington DC
#24 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range: $279 - $664 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Mandarin Oriental, Washington DC 5*
Number of rooms: 373
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
MO is celebrating the grand opening of District Wharf: DC’s hottest new waterfront neighborhood featuring over 20 exciting restaurants, the cool new Anthem concert hall, thrilling nightspots with live music, eclectic shopping, three public piers, and invigorating street life. Its all an easy walk out of our back door and down the street. With our freshly redesigned guest rooms, immersive spa, acclaimed guest service, and expansive views of the monuments and the water, Mandarin Oriental is Washington’s internationally sophisticated luxury hotel. We offer privileged access to the globally-minded, design-oriented, enthusiast travelers who are our guests. Whether you stroll to the National Mall and Tidal Basin or never leave the hotel, you’ll get the best of DC and feel a home away from home. Mandarin Oriental Hotel Group is famous the world over for providing intuitive service, elevated dining, arresting design, and sensuous wellness. Are you a fan? ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Mandarin Oriental, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelPower, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Mandarin Oriental, Washington DC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mandarin Oriental, Washington d.c. Hotel Washington Dc
Mandarin Oriental Hotel Washington Dc
Mandarin Oriental Washington Dc
Mandarin Washington Dc
Washington Dc Mandarin Oriental

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing