We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very fancy...” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mandarin Oriental, Washington DC

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Mandarin Oriental, Washington DC
Ranked #18 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Weslaco, Texas
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Very fancy...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2013 via mobile

Here for work. My room was not ready they were still cleaning it but they sent me up to the tai pan lounge until it was ready. The girl there was just the nicest and very very accommodating. My room very clean. The bathroom also. The shampoo and body wash smelled great. Overall a very very good experience

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anon956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,690 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,016
    408
    144
    83
    39
See reviews for
374
389
72
651
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (370)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
120 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2013

Mandarin Oriental is usually top of the class and while the DC option is very nice, it isn't what you'll expect if you're used to staying on Connaught Rd.

The service, location and food are all good and it's hard to pin point where it's lagging. The property feels like it was previously another brand and hadn't quite finished the transformation to a full fledged MO.

PRO - The service in the Club Room was great and the female concierge (sad that I don't have her name, but she was from Scandanavia I believe) was FABULOUS! She was so kind and helpful and couldn't have made the stay any more comfortable by helping with reservations and recommendations of places to visit.

CON - the DC MO just doesn't have the same feel of the the Mandarin in HK. Maybe it's the lack of Man Wah or the fact that's there is no Captain's Bar? Although it's only 5 minutes from huge lawn with all the museums, the immediate area is odd.

Back now to DC and have chosen another locale in Georgetown, but will probably try this hotel again as the MO is always a favorite.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Millard112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Maria, California, United States
Level Contributor
29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2013

We stayed at the hotel during a family vacation to Washington, DC. the lobby was nicely appointed. However, we had mixed experiences from the moment we arrived for check in. Our children were given little stuffed panda bears which were very well-received! On the other side of the experience, the front-desk person tried to up-sell us on a better room to the tune of a price increase of more than $200/night. We declined that and were then led to our very ordinary room...two beds, a desk, and a bathroom. It was not particularly spacious either.

The lobby lounge was disappointing. We tried getting a late night snack and beverage there one night after a tour of monuments, but the service was so slow and poor that we weren't able to place an order before they closed the kitchen. That happened even though we waited nearly an hour to place an order. The manager explained that the server had gotten very busy due to the rush they had encountered when the buses returned from the monument tour. I could see that she was somewhat busy, but not so busy that the service should have been as poor as it was. (I base that on five years of experience in food service.) I also find it curious that the hotel was not better prepared to handle the rush of business after the tour. It is not as though the tour of the monuments was an unusual activity.

In contrast to the lobby lounge experience, the food and the service in one of the onsite restaurants, the Souwester, was quite good. We did not try the other restaurant, the Cityzen, because the pricing on that ($99 per person or $159 per person, depending on the menu from which one ordered) was outside the range we had budgeted for food.

The sauna, with carved stone seats, looked great, though I did not find time to get there. The pool was okay. Again, nothing special, just a rectangular pool, indoors.

Overall, I'd say it was okay, but pricey. When we try to go to DC again we will look for a different hotel that has convenient access to the subway.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Teri W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers
Level Contributor
35 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2013

We stayed here three nights arriving July 26, 2013. This is a wonderful hotel. Our room was large, the bathroom had a huge tub and a good sized separate shower. We enjoyed a very nice dinner at the hotel's main restaurant (they offer small plates which we took advantage of). The fitness room is large, bright and has numerous different machines, all of which were properly maintained. The museums are two blocks away as is the metro stop. This was our first stay at a Mandarin Oriental and we will look forward to staying in others. Our only complaint was that one evening while we were enjoying reading in the lobby lounge, the bartender was unnecessarily noisy performing his duties. For example moving ice from once location to another. I am guessing it is the acoustics that causes the sounds to amplify, but the staff need to be aware of this.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank JFortMyers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
52 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

People made the difference. Very attentive staff always helping with the luggage, the packs, the last minute requests. Restaurant was wonderfull and eating outside was a plus. The room is big enough and nicely set up. And only 10 minutes from all the museaums.

Room Tip: Ask for a view and try to be over the 4th floor. Back view of the memorial and the water was really...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank valeria c c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arcata, California
Level Contributor
130 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013

It is hard to think of anything to complain about here. The hotel is beautiful, wonderfully designed, perfectly furnished and located in the middle of everything. If there is any issue it is that this part of DC is almost devoid of restaurans except for the cafeterias in the various attractions so you won't be able to walk to dinner except to the hotel's restaurants (which are excellent).

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bmp68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
136 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2013

The people who work at this hotel could not be more helpful or service-minded. I arrived at another hotel in Washington at 10:30 pm after a long business dinner only to find that the hotel had given my room away and had no rooms for the night. They sent me to another hotel a block away. It also was full, so at 11 pm I started calling every hotel I had ever stayed at in Washington. I even tried Crystal City. Every place was fully booked due to a convention, except for a few very expensive suites and a room at the Mandarin that was quite a bit more than I usually pay. I finally decided to call the Mandarin back, and took a taxi there. By this time it was midnight. The person at the front desk was so nice. She listened to my story and gave me a room for two nights at a reduced amount. Then she upgraded me to a suite. The lobby area is lovely? The rooms are very nice. They are quiet and decorated in a relaxing palette. The beds are comfortable. Room service is excellent -- very accommodating and extremely nice people. The only disadvantage is the location. The hotel -- behind some Agriculture Department buildings-- is far away from most commercial offices, but very close to Reagan Airport and close to the roadways to Dulles.

Room Tip: If you want a view, ask for a room above the third floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sara P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Upper Northwest
Willard InterContinental Washington
Dupont Circle
The Hay-Adams
The Hay-Adams
#3 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,156 reviews
Dupont Circle
The Jefferson, Washington DC
The Jefferson, Washington DC
#4 of 140 in Washington DC
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,053 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sofitel Washington DC
#16 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,083 reviews
Georgetown
Four Seasons Hotel Washington, DC
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mandarin Oriental, Washington DC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mandarin Oriental, Washington DC

Property: Mandarin Oriental, Washington DC
Address: 1330 Maryland Avenue, SW, Washington DC, DC 20024-2100
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Washington DC
#12 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#13 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#15 Green Hotel in Washington DC
#17 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#24 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Mandarin Oriental, Washington DC 5*
Number of rooms: 373
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Delighted now to debut our newly renovated guestrooms providing a luxurious and comfortable residential experience. Inspired by our unique waterfront Southwest location and the cherished monuments that surround us, our stylish new décor beautifully captures the essence of Washington, D.C. and its world capital status. Mandarin Oriental is in very close walking distance to the National Mall, Jefferson Memorial, Tidal Basin, the Smithsonian Castle and Museums of the Smithsonian Institution. Distinguished with modern design and amenities. Welcoming for families and travelers seeking both the famous attractions and the soul of our world capital of art, power and culture. Mandarin Oriental, Washington DC presents elevated, personal service and attention in harmony with our Asian heritage. Hotel, Spa and dining: Are you a fan? ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Mandarin Oriental, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Mandarin Oriental, Washington DC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mandarin Oriental, Washington d.c. Hotel Washington Dc
Mandarin Oriental Hotel Washington Dc
Mandarin Oriental Washington Dc
Mandarin Washington Dc
Washington Dc Mandarin Oriental

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing