We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Exceptional luxury hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mandarin Oriental, Washington DC

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Mandarin Oriental, Washington DC
Ranked #16 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Virginia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Exceptional luxury hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

I purchased the "Puppy Love" package. On the following day, I received a phone call from the hotel; it seems they wanted to know the name of my dog!! They also gave me an early check-in and delayed check-out because of some spa treatments I had booked. Upon arrival, I was told that my room was upgraded to a water view suite.....and "sweet" it was. When doggie and I entered, we found a plush doggie bed, food and water bowls, doggie treats, and a stuffed animal. The staff treated my dog like the princess that she is. Guests receive a huge bottle of Fiji water along with a box of 5 artisan chocolates from a local DC chocolatier...YUM! The spa treatments and facility are equally as luxurious as is the hotel. If you want to treat yourself well, check out this hotel and spa!

Room Tip: Corner suites are super
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank margie4koi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,484 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    860
    378
    132
    79
    35
See reviews for
327
342
68
561
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (330)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

I spent a romantic weekend with my wife treating ourselves to DC's best and this was a lovely part of it. The meals, and creature comforts were done with consideration and precision. I would recommend this highly to anyone that appreciates spot on hospitality.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jeffry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for two nights for my wife's birthday last November. Immediately upon arrival, we were floored with the beauty of the lobby. The impeccable hotel was everything you would (and should) expect from Mandarin Oriental. The friendly reception staff checked us in quickly and even offered a complimentary club access upgrade on the occasion of my wife's birthday.

When we entered the room, we were again blown away. The spacious room was gorgeous. The living area decor did not miss anything, and the room contined the hotel's opulence down to every detail. The closets could accommodate plenty of clothes, the balcony was enormous and the bathroom fit the room very well.

In our weekend at the hotel, we were able to utilize the spa and the hotel's phenomenal restaraunts. The spa experienxe was tops and all of the staff and facilities were top notch. While the restaraunt's have and deserve their own trip advisor sections, we at least want to recognize the outstanding service and food as they are part of the hotel.

The lounge was a pleasant surprise and we certainly made use of it. We were again pleased by how kind, helpful and available the staff was. The refreshments made the lounge an experience that we are likely to repeat even if not complimentary.

The only (partial) downside to the hotel is the location. While it is nearby to many museums and tourist sights, it's location tucked along the Potomac also makes it difficult to stroll out and to various neighborhoods with more local nightlife.

Altogether, we couldn't have asked for a better birthday weekend. We certainly have a place to return to for special occasions in DC. Our thanks to the fine hotel and staff!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MushySuitcases
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darien, Connecticut, USA
Level Contributor
74 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

What a hotel. It's located a 10 minute walk from the mall and a fantastic property. The check in was speedy yet courteous. I went with my two children and they were each given a stuffed panda bear. The room was clean, comfortable and spacious. The bathroom was huge! Both a shower and a bathtub as well as a large sink.

We had a room with a city view for the 4th of July. It was a long hot day so we ordered room service and saw the fireworks from our room. This could not be beat, perfect viewing location and no crowds!

There is a train track running below the room we had but the windows had great noise insulation as we never heard a train.

Sou'western was great, my kids both tried new foods and loved them!

I did not use the spa but did walk through it to get to the pool. The spa is gorgeous and very soothing, it made me want to go there. The pool is a good size but only 4 feet deep.

If i go back to DC this will be my first choice.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Wandering-from-CT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

My wife and I spent three nights at the Mandarin Oriental in DC recently, including the 4th of July. What a location to see the fireworks! We started outside the hotel watching the fireworks but quickly realized that we could see them from our room, as our view included both the Jefferson and Washington monuments. It worked out perfectly. The hotel was very crowded with 4th of July tourists, almost too crowded. There were not enough employees to cover the overcrowding. Didn't like that the restaurant inside the hotel tried to take advantage of the holiday by having a three course meal with no a la carte options offered. Overall, it was a great 4th of July.

The location is within walking distance to the mall. Very convenient to both monuments and museums. We took cabs to dinners/lunches, which were very affordable. Typically around $10. Very quiet area of DC, close enough to mall but far enough away that it is very quiet. There is a railroad adjacent to the hotel, but it never woke me up or bothered us at all. Rooms were clean, bathrooms were very spacious.

Overall this was a great stay and I would highly recommend this hotel, especially for a 4th of July getaway.

Room Tip: If you're going for the fireworks, you can see them from your room if you face either the Jeffer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Robert K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lemont, Illinois
Level Contributor
166 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

Husband had a work conference in the hotel so the girls and I tagged along with him. The service was outstanding. All the staff remembered our names and the doorman gave my two girls a stuffed panda :) The room was a double and was on the small side but beautifully decorated with a VERY nice bathroom. The pool is in the spa area and was heated but not overheated so it was nice to enjoy that. Dinner was delicious and we loved the healthy offerings. One thing I did not like was that the bar in the lobby closed down so early. The Blackhawks game was on and we wanted to celebrate with a few drinks.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jltaylor0295
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
57 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

My husband and I stayed at Mandarin Oriental for one weekend in June 2013 for our Babymoon to enjoy a one-on-one time together before a baby#2 is here and many sleepless nights will accompany a newborn baby☺
It was such a pleasure staying here. All of my requirements were met including extra pillows. The staff is super nice and helpful! The bed is so comfy with goose down pillows. Ahh, I was in heaven!!! Will definitely be back.
P.S. Hotel is business driven and located far from nearest attractions. So be prepared to walk or just get a taxi.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Natalka7101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Dupont Circle
The Jefferson, Washington DC
The Jefferson, Washington DC
#3 of 141 in Washington DC
5.0 of 5 stars 967 reviews
National Mall
The Hay-Adams
The Hay-Adams
#4 of 141 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 1,024 reviews
Downtown / Chinatown
Willard InterContinental Washington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sofitel Washington DC
#8 of 141 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 2,869 reviews
Georgetown
Four Seasons Washington D.C.
Four Seasons Washington D.C.
#2 of 141 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 813 reviews
Dupont Circle
The St. Regis Washington, D.C.
The St. Regis Washington, D.C.
#14 of 141 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 1,125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mandarin Oriental, Washington DC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mandarin Oriental, Washington DC

Property: Mandarin Oriental, Washington DC
Address: 1330 Maryland Avenue, SW, Washington DC, DC 20024-2100
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Washington DC
#10 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#12 Green Hotel in Washington DC
#13 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#17 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#24 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Mandarin Oriental, Washington DC 5*
Number of rooms: 397
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unique in its Southwest D.C. location on the water and in very close walking distance to the National Mall, Jefferson Memorial, Tidal Basin, the Smithsonian Castle and Museums of the Smithsonian Institution. Distinguished with modern design and amenities. Welcoming for families and travelers seeking both the famous attractions and the soul of our world capital of art, power and culture. Mandarin Oriental, Washington DC presents elevated, personal service and attention in harmony with our Asian heritage. Hotel, Spa and dining: Are you a fan? ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your Mandarin Oriental, Washington DC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mandarin Oriental, Washington d.c. Hotel Washington Dc
Mandarin Oriental Hotel Washington Dc
Mandarin Oriental Washington Dc
Mandarin Washington Dc
Washington Dc Mandarin Oriental

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing