We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Impeccable service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mandarin Oriental, Washington DC

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mandarin Oriental, Washington DC
Ranked #16 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Biddeford, Maine
Level Contributor
107 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Impeccable service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We were recently in DC for the Nike Women's Half Marathon. We opted to stay at the Mandarin as we have stayed here in the past and have got to know the area fairly well.

I'll start with the Pro's since those far exceed the Con's.

First is the service at this hotel is like nothing I have ever received elsewhere. We have stayed at a fair share of high end properties over the years and not one compares. The staff are attentive, inviting and truly make you feel at home. They have a certain way of carrying themselves and in my opinion, are highly trained at how to deal with their guests. On several occasions we were in the process of having some form of service whether it be in the Empress Lounge, front entrance with the Doormen (if that is even an appropriate term for them anymore) or at the front desk and we were rudely interrupted by fellow guests. Each time the staff person professionally dealt with the high maintenance guest and continued on with us. I thought that was very classy and one of the few times I have ever seen this type of service and how well they dealt with it. Second is the property itself is beautiful. It looks out over the tidal basin with spectacular views of the Washington Monument and the Jefferson Memorial on the back side of the property and the Capitol Building on the front side. The location is very convenient to the Smithsonian and National Mall areas as well. The pool was very nice.

The Con's are few but they are there. Location is not terribly convenient to a Metro Station or other areas around DC. We spent a decent amount of time in cab's which is okay but can get costly pretty quick. Most of the cab drivers were pretty good about getting us where we needed to go without any chaos or getting lost. Cab fares were moderately reasonable but I can say this is the first time I have seen the cab fare rise while sitting in traffic. Most cities probably charge it and I just have never noticed. The other con are the rooms. They are nice but lack certain modern amenities such as charging stations for te myriad of gadgets that many of is travel and that you find in most Hilton and Marriott's these days, so I would suggest that management consider adding in some of these conveniences. Just an opinion. We looked at the Spa and went through the spa to get to the pool. Very nice space but spa services were way over priced and the staff I did not find to be overly gracious and inviting which was in stark contrast to the rest of the staff we dealt with.

Lastly the real fun part was simply hanging in the Empress Lounge and never knowing which celebrity would hop off the the elevator. Our 8 year old found that to be wicked cool as did we.

I would definitely stay here again and would recommend it to anyone who asked.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kgosselin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,513 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    885
    381
    133
    79
    35
See reviews for
337
351
68
569
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (334)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

I have stayed at the Mandarin Oriental DC several times. The service is always outstanding and I had always had an amazing experience. It is well located, while not being in the middle of DC's downtown, which for some might be not convenient if you just want to walk. However, an easy 3 minute ride in a cab will put you anywhere within Downtown. If you are lucky to get a room with a view to the river it is fabolous!!

Room Tip: Try to get a room away from the elevator, and if possible, with a view to the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GuillermoH830
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

We stayed here with the kids during Spring Break. We had an amazing experience. We were a bit worried it wouldn't be very "kid friendly" but the opposite was true. Everyone was super helpful and attentive....starting at check-in when they gave the kids stuffed pandas. The bell staff was awesome...and not easily flustered by the amount of stuff we were bringing in! They must have kids too :-) Our room allowed us access to the Tai Pen lounge which was worth every penny of an upgrade. The staff was in the lounge were attentive, all the food (esp breakfast) was great, access to computer room/printer, happy hour...and it was just a nice homebase to hang out as a family. The concierge in the lounge was very helpful in making reservations etc. Again...this will be the only place we ever stay while in DC.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank briana15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
44 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for three nights and wish it could have been longer. Rooms are large and beautiful. Call housekeeping for an in room coffee pot though. Staff is attentive and welcoming and it is an easy walk to the mall and the metro. Didn't have a chance to visit the spa.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary Jane R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

The service here was unbelievably terrible. We waited over an hour for a kettle only to not have it show up. Then we gave up and went to bed to have to wake up not long after to answer the door bell because the guy that was supposed to bring the kettle apparently had a hard time reading the persons writing that wrote the note for them downstairs. The hotel doesnt have a good view and is a good 15min away from the subway and the Smithsonian museums. There are no restaurants open close by except for the ones in the hotel and room service. The starbucks even closes early. We thought room service would be safe even though it was overpriced with the room service fee and the 19% premium fee that they charged. Apparently you cant order normal food in the hotel lounge on friday and saturday because they do a jazz night instead which is drinks and appetizers. We waited 1hr 5min for room service to be delivered to the lounge only to have to go up to our room and try and get a hold of in room dining. Finally the third time I tried to phone the front desk got the in room dining people on the phone and they claimed that they could not locate us in the lounge which is why they didnt bring anything. Clearly we were the only people waiting for dinner to be served. We had to pay $75 for stone cold second rate penne and tomato sauce. It was the WORST hotel experience I ever had. All the staff could say was "I sincerely apologize" which is what they must have been taught to say because i would ask them a question and thats how they would reply. Dont waste money as there are nicer hotels in better locations.

Room Tip: There are no good rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank CokeIsBlah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
77 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

Great hotel, excellent location - within a few blocks of the museums and sites. Stayed here with my wife and kids during Nike's Inaugural Women's Half in DC. Check-in was smooth...they even gave the kids some stuffed pandas. Staff was courteous. Food was a bit on the high end...but to be expected at this type of hotel. Would stay here again for the right price.

Had a second floor room facing the train tracks...didn't bother us one bit, noise was minimal. Valet parking was $50...Internet was $15/day - didn't even bother with it.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tcordero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

My husband & I stayed here for a week that included the 20th Anniversary of the US Holocaust Memorial Museum. As the child of two survivors, it was a difficult trip. The Spa was a welcome respite & is amazing with a vitality pool not to be missed. Staff could not have been friendlier or more accommodating. The concierges, Lynn & Jack, are amazing.

Room Tip: Away from the railroad tracks!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Betsey R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Downtown / Chinatown
Willard InterContinental Washington
Dupont Circle
The Jefferson, Washington DC
The Jefferson, Washington DC
#3 of 140 in Washington DC
5.0 of 5 stars 983 reviews
Sofitel Washington DC
#9 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 2,910 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dupont Circle
The Hay-Adams
The Hay-Adams
#4 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 1,044 reviews
Georgetown
Four Seasons Hotel Washington, DC
Dupont Circle
The St. Regis Washington, D.C.
The St. Regis Washington, D.C.
#14 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 1,141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mandarin Oriental, Washington DC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mandarin Oriental, Washington DC

Property: Mandarin Oriental, Washington DC
Address: 1330 Maryland Avenue, SW, Washington DC, DC 20024-2100
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Washington DC
#10 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#12 Green Hotel in Washington DC
#13 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#17 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#24 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Mandarin Oriental, Washington DC 5*
Number of rooms: 397
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unique in its Southwest D.C. location on the water and in very close walking distance to the National Mall, Jefferson Memorial, Tidal Basin, the Smithsonian Castle and Museums of the Smithsonian Institution. Distinguished with modern design and amenities. Welcoming for families and travelers seeking both the famous attractions and the soul of our world capital of art, power and culture. Mandarin Oriental, Washington DC presents elevated, personal service and attention in harmony with our Asian heritage. Hotel, Spa and dining: Are you a fan? ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Mandarin Oriental, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Mandarin Oriental, Washington DC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mandarin Oriental, Washington d.c. Hotel Washington Dc
Mandarin Oriental Hotel Washington Dc
Mandarin Oriental Washington Dc
Mandarin Washington Dc
Washington Dc Mandarin Oriental

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing