We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“As expected--excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Mandarin Oriental, Washington DC
Ranked #13 of 142 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed March 22, 2013

We stayed four nights in a water view suite. We were dropped off by our daughter, who the doorman referred to, on and off as we encountered him, as "the princess." He knew (I am not sure how), and correctly pronounced my last name (not an easy task). Very cordial. The staff at the front desk were polite and always helpful, as was the concierge. The suite was beautiful, quiet, and clean. Our suite included a balcony, which overlooked the Potomac and the Pentagon--a very wide view. We tried the MO in Boston a couple of years back, and made a point of staying at another when we got a chance. This one didn't disappoint. If you like places like the Peninsula or Ritz-Carleton in Chicago (our frequent favorites), you will probably be very happy with this MO. One thing worth mentioning: the hotel is in a quite area of the city, 3-4 blocks south of the mall. We found it very pleasant and conveniently located, and it will be our D.C. hotel. If, however, you want to stay in a more bustling part of town, this might be too quiet for you.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank profofphil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,896)
There are newer reviews for Mandarin Oriental, Washington DC
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,342 - 1,348 of 1,896 reviews

Reviewed March 18, 2013 via mobile

I have come here 3x for conference and 3x for pleasure. I always enjoy my stay. I wish the gym opened earlier for us morning folks. The oncerence facilities are great. No complaints with food. Great place to stay for a special weekend or uber important client.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AlohaShirt_1906
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2013

I took my girlfriend there to celebrate her birthday, and I let the staff know. They had not one but TWO bottles of champagne on ice waiting for us. They also had chocolate covered strawberries that said Happy Birthday (it was made of chocolate, and it was delicious). They also left us a small box of some locally made DELICIOUS chocolates. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The room as absolutely amazing. It was clean, large, and comfortable. It felt very homey and from the minute we walked in to the minute we left, the experience was perfect. We didn't want to leave. We had drinks at the Empress Lounge, and even they were near perfection. The cocktails were well crafted, and even though they were very busy, I got my drink very quickly. After a few drinks, we went to Sou'Wester. She had the rock fish, I had the BBQ chicken. Everything was perfect. The server and the staff were very friendly, and the food came very quickly.

Overall, excellent experience.

Room Tip: Corner suites are epic.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shadi K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2013

This hotel is off the beaten track in DC and expensive, but the luxury is worth it for a special occasion. We stayed in an Executive Water View Suite and it was perfect. This was an ADA room with roll in shower. The view was delightful; the Jefferson Memorial, trains, plains, automobiles plus boats and helicopters. You know it's upscale when the wall art has its own central switch; one for the sitting room and one for the bedroom. Shack at the concierge desk did wonders with the flowers and Grace in reservations deftly handled the accessible room request. Don't expect to walk out the door and go sightseeing on foot, but cabs are aplenty.

Room Tip: Call in for help with this.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Al D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2013

i consistently like to stay at mandarins for business although the HK ones are the best. i have come here twice for a large conference and did not feel the size impacted service. i had a room ready with lovely view and the typical checkin treat which at this hotel is some apple cider with the hot towel. the conference experience was very good - well laid out and the empress lounge was a good mixing spot separate from the ballroom floor. i can't imagine it was too appealling for those visitors who weren't at the conference given it is front and center of the lobby - but that made it very good for networking for the conference.
the location is really the issue for this hotel. this is in a newly developed part of town near the marina that is "in the middle of nowhere" in DC. the street the hotel is on now has a potbelly deli and a starbucks which are good snack options when you don't want to pay hotel restaurant prices. It is very well located (walking distance) to the Mall where all the museums are. so it is excellent for tourists as long as there is no massive conference at that time. for business travellers, however, it is not walking distance to anything so you have to grab cabs to your location. this area has no other restaurants that are of business level within walking distance and the subway is not walking distance.
This would be a 5 star hotel but for the location however the locatoin is great for tourists.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank heavybiztraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2013

From the initial check-in experience, you know that this is not your typical business hotel. The front desk is highly attentive and ensures that check-in lines do not get too long. The best touch was how they walk around the desk to hand you your room key. The rooms are spacious and very clean. The bathroom is very modern while still keeping a classy "look." The bed is comfortable and the room is quiet at night. The gym is above average and not too crowded during "peak" exercise times. The bar area in the entry is a termendous place to unwind after a long work day and network with colleagues.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Saiklo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2013

Very luxurious!!!!!! Was totally spoiled. The food and drinks were also fabulous. A true five star experience.....only problem, we encountered was getting there. Not obvious how to get to the hotel or at least we could not find an entrance of the highway. Staff was always available to help. Can't usually afford this type of hotel but was a splurge. Recommend for special occasions.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paula M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Upper Northwest
Willard InterContinental Washington
Dupont Circle
The Jefferson, Washington DC
The Jefferson, Washington DC
#4 of 142 in Washington DC
1,127 reviews
Dupont Circle
The Hay-Adams
The Hay-Adams
#2 of 142 in Washington DC
1,290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sofitel Washington DC
#21 of 142 in Washington DC
3,199 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
The Watergate Hotel Georgetown
The Watergate Hotel Georgetown
#9 of 142 in Washington DC
366 reviews
Georgetown
Four Seasons Hotel Washington, DC
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mandarin Oriental, Washington DC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mandarin Oriental, Washington DC

Address: 1330 Maryland Avenue, SW, Washington DC, DC 20024-2100
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Washington DC
#9 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#13 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#14 Green Hotel in Washington DC
#17 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#24 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range: $315 - $782 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Mandarin Oriental, Washington DC 5*
Number of rooms: 373
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When autumn comes and the weather cools down, Washington gets down to business as it becomes more walkable and much livelier. It’s the perfect time to plan a trip with fun outdoor festivals, live concerts, thought-provoking museum exhibits, along with some of the world’s most recognized monuments, and the nation’s most cherished memorials. With newly renovated guest rooms and only hotel featuring views of the monuments and the water, Mandarin Oriental, Washington DC is at the center of everything. Our guests enjoy short walks to the National Mall, the Smithsonian Institution, and Washington Monument. Soon, guests will be able to stroll over to District Wharf—a brand new development along the waterfront featuring over 20 restaurants, an exciting concert venue called The Anthem, nightclubs with live entertainment, fun shopping, and luxury residences. Mandarin Oriental Hotel Group is famous for providing the finest service, dining, design, and spas. Are you a fan? ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Mandarin Oriental, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mandarin Oriental, Washington DC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mandarin Oriental, Washington d.c. Hotel Washington Dc
Mandarin Oriental Hotel Washington Dc
Mandarin Oriental Washington Dc
Mandarin Washington Dc
Washington Dc Mandarin Oriental

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing