We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Outstanding Ambience and Personal Service: Best Hotel ever”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mandarin Oriental, Washington DC
Ranked #14 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Sausalito, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Outstanding Ambience and Personal Service: Best Hotel ever”
Reviewed February 4, 2013

I and guest have now stayed at the M.O. on 5 separate occasions since about June, 2012, with my most recent stay the weekend of Feb. 2. Through the friendly and helpful efforts of Tim Harleth (I believe Tim to be the Assistant Manager) Tim has arranged beautiful rooms that fully accommodated each of my parties. The hotel is beautiful and all the service, from bell persons, to car parks, to housekeeping, and certainly front desk personnel has been as crisp and friendly as I have ever experienced. Bravo Tim and Co!

Room Tip: Rooms with a view of the water are to my preference.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gary G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,767 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,075
    418
    149
    85
    40
See reviews for
394
408
74
678
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (383)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Virginia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 3, 2013

Recently stayed at the Mandarin Oriental Washington DC for a birthday getaway and was incredibly impressed with the hotel and the exceptional customer service of ALL the staff. Prior to our stay we spoke with Jack, the Concierge, who gave fabulous recommendations and made reservations on our behalf (all of which were fabulous by the way). Our entire stay at the hotel was an incredible and very memorable experience. We absolutely couldn't have been happier. The property was gorgeous and the room very nice. Location worked out perfectly for all the restaurants and museums we visited. Would highly recommend to anyone seeking an elegant and special hotel experience. Looking forward to our next visit.

Room Tip: Enjoyed the delux city view room that overlooked Washington Monument. Gorgeous view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2013 via mobile

When I heard the company that I work for was sending us to the Mandarin Oriental, well I was stoked. But then I saw the price tag for Inauguration Week: $1,000 usd a night!! For that type of money I had high expectations, but boy was I in for a surprise.

The rooms are small, like New York type of small. But that was not the problem. The first day they left a welcoming present, a tray with "jamon serrano", nuts and chocolate. Well, that tray stayed in my room for 4 days, and no one took it out. The same thing with a replica of the White House made out of chocolate and flowers. They just keep bringing stuff in but not out.

But the granddaddy of all the thing that are wrong with this hotel is: the toilet seat in my bathroom had brown stains in it!! That is just disgusting!!

The staff did go up to my room and clean it, they offered my a bottle of wine, but I don't complain because I want free stuff (I mean this is a $1,000 dollars room!!) I complain because I want things to be done correctly.

The one good thing you can say about this place is the concierge service they have is one of the best. The problem is you don't seep on the concierge desk.

So, if you think of staying in the Mandarin Oriental my advice to you is: Run, run as fast and as far as you can.

Stayed January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank DiegoLdeC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
65 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

We stayed at the Mandarin when the DC area suffered a major power outage and it was an unpleasant experience all round as the hotel was slammed and under staffed. We were given a "do - over" due to the circumstances which I appreciated and we took advantage of it recently. The room was as requested with a rollaway. The bar experience before dinner was excellent and the service was what we expected on the first stay. The front desk was extemely hospitable and we felt much, much better after the second stay. Yes, $40 (mandatory) concierge and $15 internet (I hate that one more) is expensive after you paid full rate for the room - I do wish they would look at that. However it is the Mandarin Oriental after all and if the service is up to par, it won't sting that much. We all have the opportunity to stay somewhere less expensive if that is the prime motivation.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2013

I stayed at the Mandarin a couple of months ago for a short work trip and was very impressed.

The service was excellent. I left my computer charger at home and the concierge (I believe her name was Lynn) was kind enough to loan me her personal charger.

The property itself is beautiful. My room had a stunning view of the Potomac and was well furnished The bed was very comfortable. The bathroom was incredible. I also had access to the Tai Pan club, and enjoyed a very nice breakfast there.

The only downside is that the location is somewhat removed. Also, the room service lunch I had was mediocre (but quite pricey). I should mention that the ABA rate I got was pretty reasonable, so make sure to check that rate if you are a member.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank coloskier88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2013

My husband and I stayed here over the holidays for one night. We had a premium water view room which was small and had stains on the furniture. The bar in the lobby was nice but freezing. Room service was just average. You have to pay for wifi and it is not very strong! Parking $50 for one night! Did not feel like it was the luxury experience you would expect from the mandarin. We will try the ritz or four seasons next time.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 100nyc23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Mandarin Oriental here in Washington DC for New Years Eve. The hotel is beautiful, however the service was surprisingly bad. We stayed at the hotel soecifically for their New Years Eve Party, however the hotel concierge nor the hotel staff had any information about their New Years Eve event despite posters being placed throughout the hotel advertising the event. After we waited 20 minutes for an answer, the concierge told us the event was sold out. Later on I called the hotel lounge manager and was able to make a reservation for the party which WAS NOT SOLD OUT. The concierge apparently just told us the event was sold out because she didn't want to go to the trouble of finding out what was going on in HER OWN HOTEL. The service at the New Years Eve event was horrible. We were seated for about 15 minutes without being acknowledged by a server. I ended up going up to a waiter and asking for someone to be sent over. Apparently there was a mixup and our waitress didn't realize our table( #123) was her's. The food was decent, but later in the evening my wife ran into our waitress who was coming out of a stall in the restroom. The waitress was apparently very busy because she left without washing her hands. We have no idea what she did in the privacy of that stall, but she should have washed her hands no matter what. Needless to say, we called it a night. To top things off, the hotel charges $42 per night for parking. They don't bother to share that with you until checkout so beware. We won't be returning to this hotel....EVER

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vern1906
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Upper Northwest
Willard InterContinental Washington
Dupont Circle
The Hay-Adams
The Hay-Adams
#3 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,201 reviews
Sofitel Washington DC
#15 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dupont Circle
The Jefferson, Washington DC
The Jefferson, Washington DC
#5 of 140 in Washington DC
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,074 reviews
Georgetown
Four Seasons Hotel Washington, DC
JW Marriott Washington, DC
#65 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,870 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mandarin Oriental, Washington DC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mandarin Oriental, Washington DC

Property: Mandarin Oriental, Washington DC
Address: 1330 Maryland Avenue, SW, Washington DC, DC 20024-2100
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Washington DC
#9 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#13 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#14 Green Hotel in Washington DC
#17 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#24 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Mandarin Oriental, Washington DC 5*
Number of rooms: 373
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Summer is when the Nation’s Capital is most welcoming. Visitors can fill their itineraries with fun outdoor festivals, live concerts, thought-provoking museum exhibits, professional sports, along with some of the world’s most recognized monuments and the nation’s most cherished memorials. As Washington’s only hotel featuring views of the monuments and the water, Mandarin Oriental, Washington DC is at the center of everything. Now featuring dramatically refreshed luxury guestrooms, MO is located just steps from the Jefferson Memorial and the beautiful cherry tree-lined Tidal Basin. Our honored guests also enjoy very short walks to the National Mall, museums of the Smithsonian Institution, Washington Monument, and the White House. Business travelers will appreciate swift transfers between Ronald Reagan National Airport, Union Station, U.S. Capitol, and House and Senate Office Buildings. Mandarin Oriental Hotel Group is famous for providing legendary service, excellent dining, arresting design, and immersive spas that rejuvenate body and mind. Our hotel presents you with an experience that is uniquely Washington and always mindful of our oriental heritage. Are you a fan? ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelsClick so you can book your Mandarin Oriental, Washington DC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mandarin Oriental, Washington d.c. Hotel Washington Dc
Mandarin Oriental Hotel Washington Dc
Mandarin Oriental Washington Dc
Mandarin Washington Dc
Washington Dc Mandarin Oriental

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing