We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Beautiful rooms” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mandarin Oriental, Washington DC

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mandarin Oriental, Washington DC
Ranked #15 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Beautiful rooms”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

I went on a business trip in December to Washington DC. My firm rented out a majority of rooms at the Mandarin. The check in was very nice as was the staff. The room was impeccable with a great big bathtub and separate shower. The bed was comfortable and I appreciated the writing desk and chaise they had in room. You have a great view of the city

The only two issues I had were the restaurants and location. I would've expected a restaurant with perhaps all oriental food but the one that had any oriental food was closed Sunday and Monday. It also had food that was all fluffed up and not regular oriental. The lounge had only 3 or 4 oriental items and the other restaurant has none.

The location was a bit off the beaten path but when you see the view from your window you will forget that part. They have a CVS across the street for any needs you may have (that's a perk).

All in all enjoy your stay at the Mandarin Oriental and take a dip in the tub.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank brendaf007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,432 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    822
    372
    129
    77
    32
See reviews for
310
332
65
541
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (321)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Moorestown, New Jersey
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

Beautiful property. Large, clean rooms with a fantastic shower! Courteous staff. Large, indoor pool. Good restaurants and close walking distance to the smithsonian museums, capitol hill and other attractions. I would definitely recommend staying here, with children or without.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cm1234760
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

I have stayed at many Mandarin Oriental hotel's across the US and have never had a bad experience. Everything from check in to check out is always perfect. Impeccable service, great restaurants and amazingly clean and neat. The Mandarin in DC continued to impress. They remember your name at check in and always offer you a bottle of water. The room had tranquil music playing and a welcome note with a snack which was nice. It was clean and the turndown service was great - left robe, slippers and shoe shine box by the bed each night. The lobby bar/restaurant was a great place for a lite bite and a few drinks. The service there was great.

I have stayed here a few times and its been great every time. Its the first choice for me when I am traveling for business to any city but also highly recommend for personal use - its worth the $$$.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mikeyz2281
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

This is everything that a good hotel should be. We arrived after 25 hours in the air, the check-in was easy, the staff efficient and friendly, you got the feeling of personalized service and that they were there to do all that they could to make your stay as pleasant as possible. Great concierge who really knew the city and gave us lots of useful tips.
There was a problem with the hot water in our bathroom, something had gone wrong with one of the valves in the system, they bent over backwards to sort it out and ensure that we were not inconvenienced. The suite was extremely well set up, good bathroom, lots of space, quiet, very comfortable bed and pillows. Just a great place to stay

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GeorgesM115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012 via mobile

Easily one of the district's finest properties... With spectacular views of the monuments & easy access to the mall, a great, great hotel. The only downside is its location. Nestled between government buildings (the uninspiring FCC is its neighbor), you will not find any local places to grab a bite or drink other than in the hotel (pricey but delicious) or at the CVS & Starbucks around the circle. Fortunately, the Penn Quarter, Capital Hill, Georgetown, etc is all but a short cab ride away - and the magnificence of the Mandarin Oriental more than makes up for that minor inconvenience. An awesomely amazing hotel...

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Al_Dominick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, MA
Level Contributor
41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

This hotel is very nice. The rooms are very nice, the beds super comfortable, and the bathrooms are awesome. We spent one day seeing the memorials, leaving the hotel on foot, and returning 4 hours later. A long walk but very nice on a warm day. There are no stores other than a CVS within a 1/2 mile radius.

Overall, we had a great stay and would return. Staff was very helpful and friendly. The only things which were disappointing are the following (but we admit these are minor):

Swimming Pool - only luke warm.... I expected warmer. No hot tub, which was disappointing.
Fitness Room - asked us to leave because my 11-year-old children were not allowed, even though we were exercising together and using the equipment responsibly.
Room -- no coffee pot, have to order always from room service.
Mini-bar -- no wine, had to always order from room service.

Room Tip: Ask for a water side room with view of the Jefferson Memorial.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lt3333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Idaho Falls
Level Contributor
52 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

I like to stay here when traveling to DC. The location is good, rooms are well appointed with a luxurious bathroom. I stayed in one of the standard king rooms and was very comfortable. The staff is friendly and helpful but the poor desk clerk could have used some assistance in handling the busy morning checkout. I will stay at this hotel again.

Room Tip: I have stayed on all sides with comfort.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Denise S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Dupont Circle
The Jefferson, Washington DC
The Jefferson, Washington DC
#2 of 140 in Washington DC
5.0 of 5 stars 947 reviews
National Mall
The Hay-Adams
The Hay-Adams
#3 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 997 reviews
Sofitel Washington DC
#6 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 2,824 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / Chinatown
Willard InterContinental Washington
Georgetown
Four Seasons Washington D.C.
Four Seasons Washington D.C.
#1 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 780 reviews
JW Marriott Washington, DC
#67 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 stars 2,448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mandarin Oriental, Washington DC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mandarin Oriental, Washington DC

Property: Mandarin Oriental, Washington DC
Address: 1330 Maryland Avenue, SW, Washington DC, DC 20024
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Washington DC
#6 Green Hotel in Washington DC
#10 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#13 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#17 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#24 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Mandarin Oriental, Washington DC 5*
Number of rooms: 397
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Famous for providing creative dining, intuitive service, gorgeous design and indulgent spas, Mandarin Oriental has created fans all over the world. The Asian heritage of our brand blends with the distinctive culture, art and politics of Washington, D.C. Guests will enjoy an easy walk to the National Mall and museums of the Smithsonian Institution. And the District's best new neighborhoods for dining and entertainment are just minutes away. Within the hotel, Muze offers all-day dining where local ingredients are infused with Asian flavors and traditional cooking techniques in an inspired space overlooking the Washington Marina. The Empress Lounge features intriguing craft cocktails and indoor or outdoor seating overlooking the garden. The comfort of in-room dining is offered 24 hours a day. The Spa at Mandarin Oriental is a destination in itself; the largest hotel spa in Washington. Treatments and journeys are created to energize, relax and promote wellness. This is a reserve of privileged access. Set back from Washington's powerful pace where guests are well cared for. Close enough and connected to one of the world's most powerful and surprising cites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Mandarin Oriental, Washington DC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mandarin Oriental, Washington d.c. Hotel Washington Dc
Mandarin Oriental Hotel Washington Dc
Mandarin Oriental Washington Dc
Mandarin Washington Dc
Washington Dc Mandarin Oriental

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing