We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“$50 for parking. Great experience otherwise.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mandarin Oriental, Washington DC

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mandarin Oriental, Washington DC
Ranked #15 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“$50 for parking. Great experience otherwise.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Shame on you for charging $50 to park my car. Seriously. I advise guests to use the garage next door for $20.

Otherwise, had a nice anniversary mini-vacation. Alex at the front desk was awesome and gave us a spectacular room vs the original room on the 2nd floor facing the train tracks. We booked through Amex Platinum and enjoyed the benefits. Service was excellent mainly. Pool is one of the nicest in the city but could be kept warmer (it was cold, probably for lap swimmers). Dinner at City Zen was just OK; breakfast at SouWester was great. Drinks in the Empress Bar were perfect - try the Sake-tini which is not on the menu but available.

My one complaint: I didnt sleep that well - mattress was worn in. Felt lumpy and cheap. Perhaps time to replace them. Compared to the Westin, W, Four Seasons mattresses, it was far inferior.

Room Tip: High floor away from train.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank William O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,521 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    891
    382
    134
    79
    35
See reviews for
338
352
68
574
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (336)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

This was a combination business and romantic getaway. I've always heard about the Mandarin Oriental experience and this was my first opportunity to try it first hand. To be honest I was skeptical at first about how suitable the hotel would be for a romantic getaway but I could not have picked a better hotel. For the business trip: the hotel is centrally located and not a nightlife scene so I could walk to my meetings during the day and could come back to a quiet but nice hotel. For the romantic getaway: when I booked my stay I mentioned that we were booking for a romantic getaway and had the hotel order roses for me. The staff was gracious enough to give us complimentary champagne and chocolate dipped strawberries as a way to welcome us!! The service was impeccable and really the only suggestion I have for them is that there should be more than one person to check guests in and out of the top floor. I booked one of the deluxe rooms with an amazing view of the various landmarks and on the floor there was only one associate for checking in and out. We ended up waiting nearly 20 minutes to check in as the attendant was helping a guest with something else.

TIP 1: when you book, get the room with the view of the Jefferson Memorial as that will let you see up to Congress and down to the Lincoln Memorial and almost everything in between.

TIP 2: if you want to visit the spa, don't wait till the last minute or you won't be able to get in.

Room Tip: Go for the Taipan floor and the view to the Jefferson Memorial.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jackmec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
62 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

The Mandarin Oriental in DC lives up to the chain's reputation. From warm cider at check-in to hotel security confirming that I woke up by knocking on my door, when I didn't answer the wake-up call, this hotel will not disappoint. For business travelers: room service is efficient, delicious, and most of the menu is available 24 hours. I've not found a more relaxing ending to a long business trip. The DC location is out of the way a bit and not Metro accessible, but cabs are always out front.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Evan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton
Level Contributor
31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

The team working here is terrific, and they go out of their way to make your stay special. Tai Pan in particular is a great hotel lounge.The suite we had was oddly shaped; there were no comfortable sofas or seating locations in general. The bathroom had the shower enclosed in the tub area.The food is very good, especially CityZen.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank exprof2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

This property was an awesome place to spend my sister's landmark birthday! We enjoyed great jazz in the lobby bar area. The property is close to lots of good food, fun and gorgeous waterfront views! We really loved the entire experience;)

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nycal T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
83 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

I first must admit that I do not regularly stay at 5 star hotels on my travels so perhaps I am not the best person to write this review. I thought this hotel was very nice. The lobby is lovely and everyone who I worked there that I came in contact with was friendly. However, nothing stood out to me about this hotel that really would justify paying what they are asking (my husband had to go for work so we did not pay for the night we stayed here).

What I enjoyed: Again, everything is nice and the location is convenient and safe. Newspapers are delivered in the morning. The bathrooms are quite large and the shower is outstanding - excellent pressure. The beds were also very comfortable. It is also a very, very quick trip from Reagan airport as well (less than 10 minutes).

Not what I expected: The location, while safe, is isolated. I enjoy being more in the 'action' (and I know that downtown DC tends to be a lunch town) and this felt a bit away from everything. But if you prefer quiet, it is very quiet as there is nothing else around it. It is not a long walk to other places but it is also not right outside your door either (which I tend to prefer). The doormen were not very friendly either. I took the super shuttle from the airport (perhaps they do not get many people at this hotel arriving via super shuttle?) and the doorman pretty much ignored me, did not offer to get my luggage, briefly said hello and then proceeded to dress down my driver for pulling up in front of the hotel instead of to the side. I suppose for such a hotel I expected better service.

I didn't check out the spa which perhaps would make a difference in choosing the hotel. If I had my preference (and price was no object), I would prefer the Willard or Hay Adams - I think the locations are better. Again though, when I travel, I really just require a safe and clean hotel. To me it is a place to sleep and keep my stuff. Hotels are not what I am interested in when I travel. Please keep that in mind as you read my review.

Room Tip: If you want a view be sure to ask (and I am assuming, be prepared to pay). But many rooms just face...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank itktravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caldwell, New Jersey
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

Pick up the phone, they pleasantly greet you with your name "hello Mr. XxxX".
Valet and Bellhops know you by name upon returning from your excursions.
Rooms are typical 5-star. Good quality furniture and fairly sized rooms. I've had nicer 5-star hotels rooms though. Furnture is great quality and very comfortable. Good creature comforts.
Gift shop lacks the staple junk food. 2.5yr old little girl isn't going to eat gourmet chocolates and fancy rootbeer.
Pool, courtyard, and etc are exactly what you expect from a 5-star. Bathroom tub is sizable and provides a great relaxation.
Movie nights for kids and board games.
Room service is the best I have ever had. Received food in less than 20mins. Food quality bests than any in-room dining in other 5-star I've been to.
Was expecting the lobby to be more grand.
Overall, extremely pleasant stay. Will visit again when back in D.C.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joseph c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Downtown / Chinatown
Willard InterContinental Washington
Sofitel Washington DC
#9 of 141 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 2,915 reviews
Dupont Circle
The Jefferson, Washington DC
The Jefferson, Washington DC
#3 of 141 in Washington DC
5.0 of 5 stars 987 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dupont Circle
The Hay-Adams
The Hay-Adams
#4 of 141 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 1,051 reviews
Georgetown
Four Seasons Hotel Washington, DC
Dupont Circle
The St. Regis Washington, D.C.
The St. Regis Washington, D.C.
#14 of 141 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 1,144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mandarin Oriental, Washington DC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mandarin Oriental, Washington DC

Property: Mandarin Oriental, Washington DC
Address: 1330 Maryland Avenue, SW, Washington DC, DC 20024-2100
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Washington DC
#9 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#12 Green Hotel in Washington DC
#13 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#17 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#24 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Mandarin Oriental, Washington DC 5*
Number of rooms: 397
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unique in its Southwest D.C. location on the water and in very close walking distance to the National Mall, Jefferson Memorial, Tidal Basin, the Smithsonian Castle and Museums of the Smithsonian Institution. Distinguished with modern design and amenities. Welcoming for families and travelers seeking both the famous attractions and the soul of our world capital of art, power and culture. Mandarin Oriental, Washington DC presents elevated, personal service and attention in harmony with our Asian heritage. Hotel, Spa and dining: Are you a fan? ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Mandarin Oriental, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Mandarin Oriental, Washington DC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mandarin Oriental, Washington d.c. Hotel Washington Dc
Mandarin Oriental Hotel Washington Dc
Mandarin Oriental Washington Dc
Mandarin Washington Dc
Washington Dc Mandarin Oriental

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing