We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“washington trip oct 2010”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mandarin Oriental, Washington DC
Ranked #14 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
2 reviews
“washington trip oct 2010”
Reviewed October 21, 2012 via mobile

What a great hotel to have the pleasure of staying in - ideally placed for all amenities . Can i just say that thr staff are the best ever experienced - well done mandarin washington . The spa was to die for with a fantastic pool and sauna suite x

Helpful?
Thank Maureen M
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

1,767 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,075
    418
    149
    85
    40
See reviews for
394
408
74
678
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (383)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Virginia, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 19, 2012

Of all the 5 star hotels we've had the pleasure of staying at, this is probably my least favorite - but it's still a 5 star hotel so take that for what it's worth. It's beautiful and offers lovely views of the city, but the service is not what I'd expect from an upscale hotel. The doormen are not very friendly or attentive, and it seemed like they paid more attention to the cab drivers than to us.

However, we met a wonderful concierge named Cecilia when we checked in, and again when we had questions about pizza delivery, and she was very sweet and considerate. She more than makes up for the doormen.

The hotel offered us a complimentary room upgrade, and they sent us chocolate covered strawberries as a gift for our honeymoon, which was much appreciated. The Tai Pan room is definitely worthwhile. I'd say the Tai Pan breakfast is mediocre, but the complimentary beer/liquor/champagne is a nice touch. They use satellite TV, so there are no movie rental channels and the signal went out every once in awhile, which was frustrating. Housekeeping did a great job.

The area around the hotel offers a CVS and a Starbucks directly across the street, but everything closes at 7pm (probably because this is a very business-oriented area, so there's not many people around after 7pm).

Our room was on the 2nd floor, but it was very quiet despite being close to the road. Some reviews mention a train, which we could hear but it definitely wasn't loud enough to bother us. I think it depends on which side of the hotel you're on (we had a view of the river and Lincoln memorial).

Overall, I'd recommend this hotel for its beautiful room and views, and the incredibly comfortable bed. The location might not be ideal, and the doormen service subpar, and the TV service below average, but we had a very nice stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JennyGatorRN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Brunswick, New Jersey
1 review
Reviewed October 16, 2012

My wife and I had the pleasure of staying at this great hotel during our holiday travel. Our stay was amazing thanks to their wonderful staff who are very attentive and courteous. We had the pleasure of meeting Nicole and Sophie in Taipan who were very helpful, Anna in reservations, Eugene and Alex. Alex made our stay wonderful and comfortable and was very helpful with everything we needed not forgetting Lynn. Our room was comfortable with a lovely view of the Jefferson Memorial. We loved our daily walk to the farmers market. The spa was wonderful. We are conversant with Hilton hotels and Four Seasons in London and we had thought no hotel could top The Four Seasons but we were proven wrong. We look forward to our stay at Mandarin Oriental, London in November.
Dr. & Mrs. Alghali.

Room Tip: Premier rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alghali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2012

The Mandarin Oriental was a great place to stay during my stay in DC. I had a great view which is below. The best part of the Mandarin the swimming pool and the SHOWER!!!!!!! The was shower was phenomenal. I loved that CVS, Starbucks and PotBelly were all in walking distance.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tracylynn47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA
Level Contributor
98 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2012

This is located just a couple of blocks away from the monument. I had a wonderful view of the monument and the city from the 9th floor. The hotel staff were wonderful. The room was excellent . The hotel lobby and the conference area was well maintained.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the monument - higher floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pennking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, California
Level Contributor
51 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2012

This is a beautiful hotel, as one would expect from a Mandarin Oriental. The decor, rooms, and service are impeccable and luxurious. I have stayed here several times for business, and my only quibble is that I do not love the location. The hotel feels isolated as it is a bit of a walk to the metro, and I don't remember there being any nice restaurants in walking distance. If you stay at this lovely hotel, just factor in cab fare!

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the monuments.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MaureenHBSurfCity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
58 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2012

Not much guest may notice but their elevator landing feel is very calm. The lights and decor gives you a very fine touch of Zen feel. Bathroom was large for a Washington D.C. hotel. The shower and tub was separate.
You will be very lucky if you get a nice view in Washington D.C. but the view of the Marina at the Mandarin is spectacular!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PaiMeiLi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Upper Northwest
Willard InterContinental Washington
Dupont Circle
The Hay-Adams
The Hay-Adams
#3 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,201 reviews
Sofitel Washington DC
#15 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dupont Circle
The Jefferson, Washington DC
The Jefferson, Washington DC
#5 of 140 in Washington DC
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,074 reviews
Georgetown
Four Seasons Hotel Washington, DC
JW Marriott Washington, DC
#65 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,870 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mandarin Oriental, Washington DC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mandarin Oriental, Washington DC

Property: Mandarin Oriental, Washington DC
Address: 1330 Maryland Avenue, SW, Washington DC, DC 20024-2100
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Washington DC
#9 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#13 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#14 Green Hotel in Washington DC
#17 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#24 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Mandarin Oriental, Washington DC 5*
Number of rooms: 373
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Summer is when the Nation’s Capital is most welcoming. Visitors can fill their itineraries with fun outdoor festivals, live concerts, thought-provoking museum exhibits, professional sports, along with some of the world’s most recognized monuments and the nation’s most cherished memorials. As Washington’s only hotel featuring views of the monuments and the water, Mandarin Oriental, Washington DC is at the center of everything. Now featuring dramatically refreshed luxury guestrooms, MO is located just steps from the Jefferson Memorial and the beautiful cherry tree-lined Tidal Basin. Our honored guests also enjoy very short walks to the National Mall, museums of the Smithsonian Institution, Washington Monument, and the White House. Business travelers will appreciate swift transfers between Ronald Reagan National Airport, Union Station, U.S. Capitol, and House and Senate Office Buildings. Mandarin Oriental Hotel Group is famous for providing legendary service, excellent dining, arresting design, and immersive spas that rejuvenate body and mind. Our hotel presents you with an experience that is uniquely Washington and always mindful of our oriental heritage. Are you a fan? ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and HotelsClick so you can book your Mandarin Oriental, Washington DC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mandarin Oriental, Washington d.c. Hotel Washington Dc
Mandarin Oriental Hotel Washington Dc
Mandarin Oriental Washington Dc
Mandarin Washington Dc
Washington Dc Mandarin Oriental

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing