We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“STUNNING”
Review of Taft Bridge Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Taft Bridge Inn
Ranked #12 of 35 Washington DC B&B and Inns
Minneapolis, Minnesota
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“STUNNING”
Reviewed March 8, 2014

This place is amazing, the rooms were everything you would want out of a hotel. (Clean, quiet and comfy) The staff was more then accommodating to all my needs and went the extra mile to help me figure out my way around the city! This is the spot to stay and for only 97$ No other place I have stayed in DC has compared.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maulventress10101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

340 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    256
    60
    16
    7
    1
See reviews for
37
55
57
133
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed March 8, 2014 via mobile

HmmI visited with my husband a couple of weeks ago and Jen made it the best getaway ever!!! What a great team you have. The room was awesome and the service was outstanding. We will definitely be back!

Helpful?
Thank Kimberly M
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Pretoria, Gauteng, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed March 8, 2014

As an international consultant, I stay at the Taft Bridge Inn whenever I am in Washington, D.C. The staff are warm and welcoming, the rooms elegant and cozy, and the morning breakfast is always excellent. The location is convenient to Dupont Circle, the Metro, and the full range of restaurants Washington has to offer. I have stayed in the standard large D.C. hotels, but since I found the Taft Bridge Inn, I would never stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank William R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Billingshurst, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed March 7, 2014

They let me check in five-and-a-half hours earlier, after scheduling problems kept me up late the previous night and my 8 am arrival time and my 6 pm check in time proved to be too much. I have bad back trouble, but the mattress in my room was just right and sleep came easily, even in the early afternoon (it was always very quiet). For $97 an night, I got a room with its own closet, desk chair, bathtowels, access to two bathrooms (which were very frequently available and always had plenty of hot water, access to a laptop for internet use, tea, mineral water and soda with an option for daily hot breakfasts, meticulously beautiful decor (Japanese leitmotif on the top floor, where I stayed was especially nice) in a well-maintained nineteenth century mansion interior, a location in a wealthy neighborhood just north of DuPont Circle, and service as attentive as those in the nearby Hilton. There's also a TV and piano in what really must be called a parlour. Staying in that Hilton would have felt like livining in a very well-upolstered institution in comparison, and certainly less private. So I strongly recommend the Taft Bridge Inn.

Room Tip: Do not be afraid to stay in the smaller rooms. They are very spacious, and there is plenty of room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TaftBridgeInn, General Manager at Taft Bridge Inn, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
This is one of the nicest reviews we have recieved and we thank you so much! Please come visit with us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, NM
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2014

The Taft Bridge Inn has consistently provided the highest standard of service, surpassing any of the big chain hotels. Because the Taft Bridge is a guest house, the quality of personal attention is exceptional. The rooms are beautifully decorated, and a guest has the sense of being welcomed into an historic home. Breakfasts are delightfully presented and delicious, with plenty of variety. This trip, I followed Yoshi's suggestion and used the Inn's guest pass at the nearby gym for daily workouts. The Inn's great location near both duPont and Woodly Park Metro stops can't be beat for convenience. I am a regular visitor to Washington, DC, and I would not think of staying elsewhere!

Room Tip: I was in Room 17, on the second floor, this trip; lovely decor, warm and cozy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnnedeBSantaFe_NM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 26, 2014

Bottom line: I had a good time, met some great people and highly recommend staying here. Don't hesitate to pass up the big name hotels in favor of the Taft Bridge Inn! I stayed here while attending a conference in D.C. and had a fantastic experience (and saved quite a bit compared to the conference hotel!). The staff is helpful and accommodating and the breakfasts are wonderful (thanks, Jennifer!). The inn itself is charming and comfortable, and the location is excellent and quiet at night. I never felt uncomfortable walking in the area at any time of day/night, and there are plenty of great restaurants, bars and attractions within easy walking distance. Parking (with prior arrangements) was easy and a bargain, and Jennifer went out of her way to make it work. One cautionary note - this is a small, independent inn, and therefore has a lot of character, which naturally comes with some quirks... so you should have reasonable expectations. I did have one morning with lukewarm water in the shower, because the water is shared and I was later to shower than everyone else that day. Just know that if the inn is full, you might want to consider showering the night before. I wouldn't even take a star off for it because I was so happy with everything else and don't think this was the fault of the inn or staff. The staff is there at key times (morning and evening) and there is a set breakfast option each morning (but they will happily accommodate special needs if the day's selection isn't okay for you). Breakfast is served during a reasonable time window of a little over an hour, so you need to plan accordingly.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jcveritas19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
Reviewed February 19, 2014

Thank you Jennifer for another wonderful stay at the Taft Bridge Inn! Excellent location, accomodations, food and staff! When in D.C., the Taft Bridge Inn is the only place to stay. I can't wait for my next visit.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PGW445
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TaftBridgeInn, General Manager at Taft Bridge Inn, responded to this review, February 21, 2014
We just love it when you come and visit with us and we really appreciate your kind review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
The Normandy Hotel
#26 of 141 in Washington DC
962 reviews
Churchill Hotel Near Embassy Row
#37 of 141 in Washington DC
1,148 reviews
Upper Northwest
Omni Shoreham Hotel
Omni Shoreham Hotel
#68 of 141 in Washington DC
6,677 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Windsor Park Hotel
#126 of 141 in Washington DC
203 reviews
Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
#27 of 141 in Washington DC
3,083 reviews
Adams Morgan
Washington Hilton
Washington Hilton
#100 of 141 in Washington DC
3,760 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taft Bridge Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taft Bridge Inn

Property: Taft Bridge Inn
Address: 2007 Wyoming Ave NW, Washington DC, DC 20009-5051
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 35 B&Bs / Inns in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Taft Bridge Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Taft Bridge Inn is a carefully restored, turn of the century Georgian mansion located in the heart of Washington DC. The Inn combines the charm and beauty of an earlier era with the modern conveniences of home and office at your fingertips. Located in the fashionable Kalorama District within walking distance of the Dupont Circle Metro Station and downtown Connecticut Avenue. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Taft Bridge Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taft Bridge Hotel Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing