We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming and Welcoming Value Choice” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Taft Bridge Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Taft Bridge Inn
Ranked #9 of 37 Washington DC B&B and Inns
Portland, Oregon, United States
Level Contributor
115 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Charming and Welcoming Value Choice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

Save your money and stay in this wonderful B & B! Enjoy your stay in Washington, DC, even more by staying in this charming and welcoming B & B. Engaging staff are so helpful both in making certain guests are comfortable and sharing information about the local area. The inn is in an outstanding location, walking distance from Dupont Circle/Embassy Row classic neighborhoods, funky/trendy Adams-Morgan neighborhood, and equidistant from two Metro stops. Cab to and from Reagan National was a real deal at right around $20, too.
Another plus is the international clientele, which means that at any time you might be meeting someone from Europe, Asia, or Australia. Breakfast was a lingering event, with plenty of coffee and tea and plentiful fare. Although I was a solo, I never felt left out as there were other solo guests, and many evenings one or more guests gathered in the front parlor off the dining room to visit. The staff encourages this mixing by engaging guests in conversation at the breakfast table and throughout the day. For those who would rather pursue reading, there is a large and varied selection of books for your use throughout the house.
Finally, the room I had was very nice and other business associates who stayed here confirmed that theirs were also good. They have some magic formula for the sheets--they were the softest sheets ever and I slept very well. Although the area is convenient, the actual street is not a busy traffic pattern and the building backs up to a courtyard so it is quiet and restful. The decorating was well thought out and original.

Room Tip: There is a wide variety of bed and bathroom choices so ask about your options!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Katie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

337 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    253
    60
    16
    7
    1
See reviews for
37
55
57
130
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

Having traveled alone to numerous countries on a work research trip, staying at the Taft Bridge Inn was undoubtedly the best hotel I stayed in on the whole trip. Why? It is in a safe and pretty location, I could walk to everything I needed; the staff were immensely helpful and friendly (far beyond what would be required for good service); the house itself is quirkily appointed which I love - it was as if I had come to stay in a beautiful antique-filled house of an Aunt in Washington... or some such scenario. Homely and antiquarian - the shared dining room table was a boon. After months of travelling alone, eating alone, working alone - it was wonderful to share breakfast conversations with such a richly varied and interesting bunch of people. Every breakfast - the meal and conversation - was different. I lost a couple of things and the staff went out of their way to find them for me. They advised me on transportation to and from the airport - helpful for a woman travelling alone. I absolutely loved it - and would happily return!

Room Tip: I chose a single room as I travelled alone - but the other rooms were on view when being cleaned in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

Taft Bridge Inn is not like your usual hotel accommodation and I am so glad. An old, elegant and comfortable place to stay with friendly people is what it is. It is well located, although the walk from Dupont Circle may be a bit far for some people (but taxis are plentiful and cost is inexpensive). There are many and varied restaurants nearby and the Farmer's Market on Sunday is a real treat. I had a relatively simple, single room with shared bathroom and it was comfortable, quiet and never inconvenient. Other larger rooms are gorgeous and I shall return again with my partner next time to sample these. Jennifer, the manager, is a gem. Breakfasts were varied and delicious and nothing seemed too much trouble; and when you visit you'll have to charm her into baking you a chocolate or coffee cake. I loved staying here.

Room Tip: Given a chance to inspect several rooms I thought there was such a variety of rooms and styles of de...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul4444_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TaftBridgeInn, General Manager at Taft Bridge Inn, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
It was an absolute pleasure having you here and please do come back with your partner!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarajevo, Bosnia and Herzegovina
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

I've been coming to the Taft Bridge Inn for almost 15 years now and it as hospitable a place as you will find in Washington. All the rooms -- and I've stayed in them all -- in this Georgian mansion are different, but all are tastefully decorated. The owner and folks working here are very friendly and helpful. The location is ideal for visiting the sights of Washington, easy walking distance from the restaurant districts of Adams Morgan and Dupont Circle, and a few blocks from the Metro line that goes to the Smithsonian.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hillnm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san francisco
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for the Cherry Blossom Festival. What we loved about this place was the service. Very friendly staff. No elevator but Jennifer was kind enough to carry our luggage when we checked in. We felt like V.I.P. guests. Daily breakfast were served and they were delicious. We also met some awesome people that gave us tips about the area.
The neighborhood is quiet and safe. It is 10 minutes away from Metro train. Very close to Adams Morgan neighborhood(5 minutes walk) and you can stroll along to Georgetown in 20-30 minutes. You can do a tour walk from this Inn to Georgetown by foot.
The room is fairly small but then again we were only there to sleep. Bed was comfortable.
Don't forget to ask for a discount card, you can save 10% from close by restaurants. I definitely recommend this Inn for comfort and service.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank eli173
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

This B&B is beautiful,well managed and close to DuPont Circle and the restaurants on 18th street. The rooms are gorgeous and very clean.
You can't ask for more. Totally recommended.
I don't have anything else to add.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GuillermoF289
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

A wonderful experience. The room, the bed and bathroom were perfectly kept and the experience and ambiance were all great. The inn is perfectly located a little bit away from the "action" of Dupont Circle so it was quiet but also accessible. Yoshi and Jennifer were both very lovely.

I think I found my new place to stay when I visit DC.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hpat74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TaftBridgeInn, General Manager at Taft Bridge Inn, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Thanks for the kind review and we do hope you come back again-bring your son with you too!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
The Normandy Hotel
#22 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 653 reviews
Upper Northwest
Omni Shoreham Hotel
Omni Shoreham Hotel
#46 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 5,316 reviews
Churchill Hotel Near Embassy Row
#42 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 stars 1,002 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dupont Circle
Embassy Circle Guest House
Embassy Circle Guest House
#2 of 37 in Washington DC
5.0 of 5 stars 639 reviews
Dupont Circle
Swann House
Swann House
#6 of 37 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 354 reviews
Dupont Circle
Akwaaba DC
Akwaaba DC
#4 of 37 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taft Bridge Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taft Bridge Inn

Property: Taft Bridge Inn
Address: 2007 Wyoming Ave NW, Washington DC, DC 20009-5051
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 37 B&Bs / Inns in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Taft Bridge Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Taft Bridge Inn is a carefully restored, turn of the century Georgian mansion located in the heart of Washington DC. The Inn combines the charm and beauty of an earlier era with the modern conveniences of home and office at your fingertips. Located in the fashionable Kalorama District within walking distance of the Dupont Circle Metro Station and downtown Connecticut Avenue. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotwire, Travelocity, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Taft Bridge Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taft Bridge Hotel Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing