We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Home away from home” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Taft Bridge Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Taft Bridge Inn
Ranked #9 of 36 Washington DC B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Home away from home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

When all the other hotels in DC were charging $800 a night + 15% or more for the 2013 presidential inauguration the Taft Bridge Inn kept their normal prices.

The people of Taft were warm and welcoming. The rooms were beautiful and comfortable. The breakfast each day was fantastic. They even made everyone breakfast to go on the day of the inauguration since everyone had to leave so early.

The location was great, just 5 minute walk to the DuPont circle Metro station. There were also plenty of taxis and buses.

It was a wonderful place to end the long cold days in January and grab a hot cup of tea and chat with people next to a crackling fire...like a home away from home.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AprilGriffinTampa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

337 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    253
    60
    16
    7
    1
See reviews for
37
55
57
130
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Quincy
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

A beautiful place to stay in DC. A charming 3 story place that is reminiscent of an Asian themed Upstairs/Downstairs. As a Downton Abbey fan, it is a pleasure to be served breakfast in the morning by staff eager to serve, to help you feel at home, and delight your taste-buds with their latest creation.

Room Tip: As a single business traveler, the third floor rooms are quaint, servant quarters. The bathroom on t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FrankiB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brookline, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

I have visited Taft Bridge Inn for five days every year for the last 15 years or so. I always recommend it to my friends and colleagues. Yoshe and her staff are wonderful! I'm a vegan and they cater to my vegan needs without me even asking. The Inn's decor and ambiance are fantastic. It is great to sit around the breakfast table in the morning and chat with old friends and meet new ones. It is nice to sit in the lounge in the evenings in front of the fire and chat with Yoshe or friends. When I think of Taft Bridge Inn the following words come to my mind: friendly, peaceful, comfortable, soothing. I recommend it highly.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank J0hnLB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
150 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

Ideally you would keep a place like this to yourself, so that next time there will be space for you... A fantastic alternative to the impersonal Hilton 5 minutes away. Great to have breakfast in the morning with people you know, rather than hiding behind a newspaper at a buffet. Lovely to come back after a meeting and sit down in the big and comfortable sitting room. Lots of restaurants nearby. A 10 minute walk from Dupont Circle. Very friendly staff (home from home). And so much character!

Room Tip: Try a different room every time you stay. They are all different!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom_from_Malvern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

I am staying at the Taft Bridge Inn for a business conference, and what a treat it is. The rooms are wonderful, my bed is very comfortable, the breakfast is amazing and the staff are warm and helpful. Moreover, the wifi is good and efficient, and working by a warm fire in the sitting room was a really nice bonus. I couldn't think of anywhere else I would want to stay if I was in Washington.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Charlene R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

Very welcoming place to stay. I would definitely recommend this place to anyone. Feels like home away from home. Great location too! Very clean and well maintained areas. Thanks for everything hope to come back some time!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ninas22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

The Taft Bridge Inn was fabulous to stay at while in Washington, D.C. While the city was quiet and almost empty during Christmas week, the Taft was filled with people and holiday cheer. With full internet access and a lovely breakfast in the downstairs dining room every morning, the hotel provides every comfort to its guest.
During my stay there, I met a senior State Department official in from Baghdad for meetings, regularly met new and interesting people in the lounge, went to dinner at some of the good restaurants at nearby DuPont Circle, and really enjoyed my stay.
The bathrooms are fully stocked and the bedrooms are large and exquisitely decorated with full cable television and Wi-Fi. The wonderful innkeeper, Jennifer, runs a very happy place for weary warriors who need to have a relaxing retreat from the outside world.
I highly recommend the Taft Bridge to anyone who is coming to D.C. and would like a refreshing place to stay that is comfortable and convenient.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lanny C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
The Normandy Hotel
#22 of 141 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 685 reviews
Upper Northwest
Omni Shoreham Hotel
Omni Shoreham Hotel
#50 of 141 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 5,428 reviews
Churchill Hotel Near Embassy Row
#47 of 141 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 stars 1,013 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dupont Circle
Hyatt Place Washington DC/White House
Hyatt Place Washington DC/White ...
#46 of 141 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 521 reviews
Adams Morgan
American Guest House
American Guest House
#6 of 36 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 490 reviews
Dupont Circle
Embassy Circle Guest House
Embassy Circle Guest House
#3 of 36 in Washington DC
5.0 of 5 stars 642 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taft Bridge Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taft Bridge Inn

Property: Taft Bridge Inn
Address: 2007 Wyoming Ave NW, Washington DC, DC 20009-5051
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 36 B&Bs / Inns in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Taft Bridge Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Taft Bridge Inn is a carefully restored, turn of the century Georgian mansion located in the heart of Washington DC. The Inn combines the charm and beauty of an earlier era with the modern conveniences of home and office at your fingertips. Located in the fashionable Kalorama District within walking distance of the Dupont Circle Metro Station and downtown Connecticut Avenue. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Taft Bridge Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taft Bridge Hotel Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing