We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Beautiful & Historic Setting for Great Performances”

The National Theatre
Ranked #113 of 431 things to do in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
SouthGa
Level Contributor
158 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“A Beautiful & Historic Setting for Great Performances”
Reviewed September 24, 2013

Over the years, I've seen a number of great productions and performances in this beautfiul historic theatre just a few blocks from the White House, Willard Hotel, National Mall and other sites. Most recently, the 25th anniversary national tour of "Les Miserables" in December was a great evening of theatre with 60 teenaged performing arts students I was chaperoning! The theatre itself is something to see, and the house manager was very helpful in ensuring our large group was taken care of - even helping to arrange a post-show visit with several cast members in the Helen Hayes Lounge upstairs. Great for solo evenings, couples, families or large groups. There's a varied line-up of productions and performances year-round, with something for everyone.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank SouthGaTravelGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    52
    8
    4
    3
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
121 reviews
59 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“saw Les Mis here!”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

great theatre...much history and great restaurants nearby...if you have the opportunity to see a show here, do so....its monumental! :)

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Rachel_Saunders_999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxon Hill, Maryland
Level Contributor
87 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Theater”
Reviewed May 9, 2013

Nice theater. Haven't been in a while but great to go see plays. You will have trouble finding parking unless you can get a spot in the garage when it's not full.

Helpful?
Thank erick1997
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
113 reviews
45 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great Theater In DC”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

I've seen many plays here. It's a great venue for plays and smaller bands. The inside of the theater is luxurious and there's not a bad seat in the house. Acoustics are good as well.

Helpful?
1 Thank KCS1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hughesville, MD
Level Contributor
362 reviews
115 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 215 helpful votes
“Nice theatre, lots to do before and / or after show”
Reviewed April 14, 2013

My husband and I visited National theatre for the first time today. Unlike Warner theatre, the seats here at National are roomy and you have leg room. I will never go to Warner again if I can help it. The size of this theatre is nice, seems that every seat is a good seat on the main floor. I do not know about the upper floors because we did not see them. You do have to go upstairs for the bathroom but they have an elevator for those who need it. I had to use the bathroom half an hour after the show started and their was an attendant in there cleaning and restocking. The bar was closed, reopens at intermission. The bar sold chips but not "real" food. We saw Spamalot, you have to have a strange sense of humor to enjoy this show. While I was not a fan of the show, the atmosphere was nice. Parking garage nearby, plenty of restaurants, shops and also museums nearby in which to spend the day before or after the show. Would definitely return to this theatre. they did announce that they will soon be having a more variety of broadway shows. There was a woman in a wheelchair, they had wheelchair seating for her on the first floor.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Fishtherapy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The National Theatre also viewed

Washington DC, DC
Washington DC, DC
 

Been to The National Theatre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing