We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The 57th Presidential Inauguration” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Off the Record

Off the Record
Ranked #11 of 176 Nightlife in Washington DC
Attraction details
New York City, New York
2 reviews
“The 57th Presidential Inauguration”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2013

I was there and it was great,

An exceptional customer, a little pricey but GREAT, there were many people, but it was for the presentation of Obama.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Alex J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    10
    3
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Maryland
Level Contributor
66 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Excellent Margarita & Bar Snacks!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2013

Cool place to have an after dinner drink. We tried it before dinner but there was no place to sit. Interesting to check out all the caricatures on the walls. Our drink order was served up promptly, along with the requested water, along with some tasty bar snacks. Wasabi nuts, olives, and regular nuts. Smart move. Just don't understand why all bars don't provide complimentary salty snacks. Seems like they'd want you to stay thirsty. Anyways - my margarita was excellent, strong and just sweet enough. His vodka tonic was also very good. It's not a cheap place to hang out and drink but it's definitely one to start off or end with. We'll be back.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank GKM99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great little speakeasy for a quality cocktail”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2013

Place is a cool relaxed lounge feel with excellent cocktails. Our party got started on the Georgentonians and some scotch. Nice evening out. Great staff

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank AndrewJZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
“I'm mixed on this one...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2012 via mobile

What I loved: quality of drinks, the caricatures on the wall, and the booths.

What I hated: poor bartenders, expensive, a lot of big parties.

It's in a hotel so my expectations were a little off. I thought it was nice but way too expensive, even for my taste. I would have probably overlooked most of the hated items, but none of the staff spoke fluent English and the bartender was the only person for a full bar. They were also quite rude...

Helpful?
Thank RWhite110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redding, Connecticut, USA
Level Contributor
478 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
“Great spot for drinks and food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2012 via mobile

Location is fantastic at the excellent Hay Adams Hotel, within a stone's throw of the White House. Great vibe, fun drinks and very good bar menu for light food. The place is usually packed, the crowd is young and professional, and there is a good vibe. Staff are friendly and attentive, and prices are not over the top.

Helpful?
Thank yecats59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Off the Record also viewed

 

Been to Off the Record? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing