We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“bed and breakfast - Mary Jo” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Independence House Bed and Breakfast

Independence House Bed and Breakfast
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Washington DC
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Independence House Bed and Breakfast
Save
You added Independence House Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
Ranked #15 of 37 Washington DC B&B and Inns
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“bed and breakfast - Mary Jo”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

We were very fortunate to have stayed at Mary Jo's Bed ans Breakfast for 3 nights. The place was very nice, clean and comfortable. Breakfast was just fine, with the morning newspaper. So close to everything, 15 minutes walking distance to all the landmarks. Easy to get on the bus to tour the city.
Thanks Mary Jo , highly recommend to anyone wanting to stay in DC.
Kingsley and Sylvia

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kingsley O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
18
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

We arrived from England (UK) late afternoon and were given a very warm welcome by Mary-Jo (owner) into her excellent B & B accommodation. I cannot praise it enough. The two adjoining rooms (bedroom and sitting-room) are clean, comfortable, quiet and well furnished. The private bathroom is well appointed with plenty of hot water. The situation was perfect for us as the American branch of my family live a few blocks away and all the museums, monuments, metro are within walking distance. We will certainly be recommending it to all our friends in Britain!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Inthea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The home is close to the Metro for ease of travel to neighboring cities and local sites. The Internet worked immediately. The private living areas were just right for the 2 of us to work, rest and plan our outings. The furnishings are comfortable and we slept with very well. We look forward to our next stay and catching up with Mary Jo again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ga B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

I hesitate to tell too much about this place because it will always be booked when I need to return!
The location is perfect for us because our son and his wife live one block away, but besides, it is perfect location for all that Washington offers. Near Capitol South Metro, all monuments an easy walk, Eastern Market, plenty of good restaurants, etc. But we could have just relaxed and enjoyed conversation with Mary Jo. But don't tell too many people!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rvscott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill, NC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

A most comfortable and perfectly located B&B, with a friendly and welcoming hostess/proprietor. Spotlessly clean, the bedroom and adjoining bathroom as well as sitting room/study provided an excellent place for me to do the business that took me to DC. The immediate neighborhood is quiet yet within two blocks of shopping, restaurants, the Eastern Market metro stop, the Folger Library and Library of Congress, and of course the Capitol. An excellent breakfast too -- not cooked, but including an artful fruit cup, abundant coffee, croissant, cereal, etc. All in all, a place I am glad to have discovered.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Glessd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

Mary Jo runs and extremely friendly and relaxing B&B. The fruit cup at breakfast was beautiful, and the sweets and muffins too enticing despite my diet. It was also nice having a separate room and desk for working. The location is ideal for visitors to Capitol HIll, and a nice retreat from the more busy streets in the area.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DunedinAcademic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

great place to stay, just a few blocks from Capitol, extremely nice and friendful hostess.
Comfortable big room and comfortable restroom.
Great breakfast.
quite close to both metro and railway station
Definitely a place where to stay in Washington.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Timothy76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Capitol Hill Hotel
#12 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 1,053 reviews
Holiday Inn Washington - Capitol
#75 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 stars 2,115 reviews
The George, a Kimpton Hotel
#14 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 1,938 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper Northwest
Hyatt Regency Washington on Capitol Hill
Capitol Hill
The Liaison Capitol Hill DC
The Liaison Capitol Hill DC
#81 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 stars 322 reviews
Hyatt Place Washington DC / Nati...
#34 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Independence House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Independence House Bed and Breakfast

Property: Independence House Bed and Breakfast
Address: Independence Ave. SE, Washington DC, DC 20003
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 37 B&Bs / Inns in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 1

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing