We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Comfortable and convivial” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chester Arthur House B & B at Logan Circle

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Chester Arthur House B & B at Logan Circle
Ranked #7 of 36 Washington DC B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Comfortable and convivial”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014

A very welcoming and interesting place in a beautiful neighbourhood. The room was spacious, quiet, and comfortable, the breakfasts excellent. Best of all, the hosts and guests mixed very easily at breakfast. Remarkably friendly people with lots of interesting experiences and backgrounds to share. Also worth mentioning are the host's efforts to preserve an 1880s interior true to the house's history. If you are looking for a comfortable accommodation with genuine character, this is definitely the place to stay. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: It's a quiet neighbourhood in general, but you might want to ask for a room towards the back of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EricDO2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    145
    49
    16
    5
    2
See reviews for
38
98
14
42
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

Lets me start off by saying that some residents in rooms closer to the road were experiencing noise and interrupted sleep. If you are a light sleeper I suggest you talk to the staff about a low noise room at the back at the time of booking. I certainly don't recall any noise in my room.

This is a old house from the 1880s its charming and largely authentic, including the original (non functional) gas lighting. As it is a 1880s house, it is a little rough around the edges and best avoided if you are looking for ultra modern accommodation.

Old fashioned charm describes both the house and the hosts. The owner Don, is a gentleman in every respect and was a wealth of information and suggested some truly excellent places to eat.

The Breakfasts provided were far above the standard I expected of a B & B, on my last morning the chef Eric was in and the breakfast was truly outstanding and clearly a lot of effort had gone into it including the sourcing of ingredients.

The final thing I would like to point out was the location of this B & B. The neighbourhood is safe and delightful, with an abundance of good restaurants and stores like whole foods. Its a leafy neighbourhood with wide streets and lots of charmingly restored old fashioned housing. The major attractions are a short distance away. Don suggested the bus, but I found a vacant taxi within moments of leaving the front door each time and chose that option.

Room Tip: Rooms away from the road have much much less noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank George_Of_Sydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

Not for the luxury crowd, but a fair price for a quiet room in a lovely old house in the heart of DC. And one of the best breakfasts I've had at a B&B in years. Thanks, Eric! Also, real coffee (that is, not flavored and not from a Keurig, both of which seem to be epidemic in B&Bs these days).

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank waxwingslain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

Lots of character in this house. It's got the great floor creaking that you would expect from a 100+ year old house. :)

We stayed in room 4, which was sufficiently large for the two of us. Nice large bed, ceiling fan, and little refrigerator. It faced the alley which was extremely quiet at night --- no road noise at all.

The location couldn't have been better. *Everything* was within walking distance. We walked to the National Mall (Lincoln Memorial) in about 30 minutes. There is a bus stop directly in front of the house which makes it convenient to hop on/off from.

The host was fantastic. He greeted us when we got there, and showed us to the room. He gave us a quick rundown of the history of the house, as well as the neighbourhood (Logan Circle has definitely improved over the years it seems --- we found it extremely safe and relaxing). He pointed out a few restaurants he recommended, and how to navigate about.

The breakfasts in the morning were great. The chef (Eric) was friendly and made some great items. Had a very tasty dish with grits (our first exposure to grits), and a great blueberry french toast casserole the following morning. The other guests staying were friendly and a pleasure to chat with in the mornings. We were over the kitchen but the smell of coffee at 7:30 helps you wake up as it wafts into the room :)

All in all, a great experience, and if we're ever in the DC area again, would definitely rebook.

Room Tip: Room 4 is quiet, large, and appears to be isolated from the rest of the other rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Eric P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level Contributor
109 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

Logan Circle has become a great district north of the Mall in DC. From the circle, it is easy walking distance (about 2 blocks) to bus lines to the Mall and further north plus a ton of great restaurants, stores, and pubs. The Chester A. Arthur House is a Victorian house restored to its original majesty. There are 4 rooms in the house, each with their own bath. Our family occupied 3 of the rooms during our stay and each room was great and unique. The front second floor bedroom can be a bit noisy due to car noise from the circle, but they offer some noise cancelling tools. The third floor front room and all of the back rooms are very quiet. Carl and Eric cooked amazing breakfasts for us each morning and Don, the owner, did a great job of greeting us and telling us about the area. All in all, a perfect spot in a fun and vibrant city.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank daswifty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

Highly recommend staying at this historic B&B. The host Donald rents out the front rooms to maintain this as one of the last period homes on Logan Circle. The area itself is like a little slice of Paris and was very safe. The room was comfortable and we throughly enjoyed breakfast in the formal dining room. Would absolutely stay here again if we make it back to DC.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Phil S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Golden, Colorado
Level Contributor
181 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

If you are looking for a place to stay in a great location, then this is your place! If, on the other hand, you want a little luxury, I would not recommend. This Inn, which is directly on Logan Circle, has the ultimate location. You can walk to most everywhere - 14th Street, P Street, the Mall, Dupont Circle, and beyond. Plus, it is such a pretty location. The rooms, though, are a little tattered and old. But they are large, and the windows onto the Circle are very nice. We had a "kitchenette", which had a little stove, microwave and refrigerator, but no dishes or utensils. So what is the point? There was not even a wine opener! Or glasses! That was very disappointing. Plus, there was no service while we were there, so our wastebaskets were overflowing. Another point of contention was the parking. While we had prepaid for parking, apparently there were not enough spaces, so we were being called about where we should park, if we could park, or the problems they were having with parking. Bottom line - we had paid for parking and we did not want to hear about their parking problems!
Back to the positive, our breakfasts were very good, thanks to Carl. Carl was delightful and we so enjoyed having breakfast with him!
Bottom line - the location is so awesome we would probably stay here again. But hopefully the owner will realize it is time to fix it up!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Graciel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1883, Owner at Chester Arthur House B & B at Logan Circle, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
We are most grateful for the compliments, and sorry we didn’t live up to their expectations in every way. We have a limited amount of parking available at one-half the cost of parking in the area, and do regret that for the first time in our 19 years of operation we were overbooked for one night. We are well aware this caused inconvenience for these folks, understood their annoyance, and apologized profusely.

Regarding our guest rooms: all are fully restored, and underneath every fresh coat of paint or varnish is an original (1883) plaster wall, molding, or fireplace mantel. Anyone expecting new wallboard, for example, which would be the only way to completely erase 131 years of existence, is in for a disappointment. In fact our whole objective is to preserve as much of the original house and its historic nature as possible – and by staying with us, our guests are helping us accomplish that purpose.

Regarding the kitchenette: we have found that most guests prefer not to deal with dishes. The cabinets are amply stocked with disposable dishes and flatware, and we provide pots and pans and other cooking utensils. We’re not sure how they missed the corkscrew in the cutlery drawer. We entirely agree that wine requires fine glassware, and it is happily supplied upon request. We do not regularly provide daily maid service, which would add considerably to the nightly tariff; however we change towels, empty trash, and generally freshen up rooms as often as requested and after every third night at a minimum. We also inform guests we will be happy to make up a their bed on a daily basis, compliments of the house, if requested.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Dupont Circle
The Jefferson, Washington DC
The Jefferson, Washington DC
#3 of 141 in Washington DC
5.0 of 5 stars 985 reviews
Dupont Circle
The Hay-Adams
The Hay-Adams
#4 of 141 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 1,049 reviews
Cambria hotel & suites Washingto...
#27 of 141 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 519 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sofitel Washington DC
#9 of 141 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 2,913 reviews
Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
#35 of 141 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 2,556 reviews
Downtown / Chinatown
Willard InterContinental Washington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chester Arthur House B & B at Logan Circle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chester Arthur House B & B at Logan Circle

Property: Chester Arthur House B & B at Logan Circle
Address: 23 Logan Cir NW, Logan Circle, Washington DC, DC 20005-3725
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 36 B&Bs / Inns in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy old-world charm with modern conveniences at our Victorian Bed and Breakfast. We are centrally located 8 blocks north of the White House at historic Logan Circle. Metro access is a 10-minute walk, or 10-minutes by bus to the Smithsonian and National Mall. Washington's Convention Center is a 10-15 minute walk. There are 4 guestrooms, each with private bath. Some rooms can accommodate extra guests. Well-behaved children welcome, and off-street parking is available. Daily maid service on request. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Chester Arthur House b & b At Logan Circle Hotel Washington Dc
Chester Arthur House Bed And Breakfast At Logan Circle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing