We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Location!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Chester Arthur House B & B at Logan Circle

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Chester Arthur House B & B at Logan Circle to your Saves list
Chester Arthur House B & B at Logan Circle
23 Logan Circle, NW, Logan Circle, Washington DC, DC 20005   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 37 Washington DC B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Golden, Colorado
Level Contributor
170 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Location!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

If you are looking for a place to stay in a great location, then this is your place! If, on the other hand, you want a little luxury, I would not recommend. This Inn, which is directly on Logan Circle, has the ultimate location. You can walk to most everywhere - 14th Street, P Street, the Mall, Dupont Circle, and beyond. Plus, it is such a pretty location. The rooms, though, are a little tattered and old. But they are large, and the windows onto the Circle are very nice. We had a "kitchenette", which had a little stove, microwave and refrigerator, but no dishes or utensils. So what is the point? There was not even a wine opener! Or glasses! That was very disappointing. Plus, there was no service while we were there, so our wastebaskets were overflowing. Another point of contention was the parking. While we had prepaid for parking, apparently there were not enough spaces, so we were being called about where we should park, if we could park, or the problems they were having with parking. Bottom line - we had paid for parking and we did not want to hear about their parking problems!
Back to the positive, our breakfasts were very good, thanks to Carl. Carl was delightful and we so enjoyed having breakfast with him!
Bottom line - the location is so awesome we would probably stay here again. But hopefully the owner will realize it is time to fix it up!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Graciel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1883, Owner at Chester Arthur House B & B at Logan Circle, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
We are most grateful for the compliments, and sorry we didn’t live up to their expectations in every way. We have a limited amount of parking available at one-half the cost of parking in the area, and do regret that for the first time in our 19 years of operation we were overbooked for one night. We are well aware this caused inconvenience for these folks, understood their annoyance, and apologized profusely.

Regarding our guest rooms: all are fully restored, and underneath every fresh coat of paint or varnish is an original (1883) plaster wall, molding, or fireplace mantel. Anyone expecting new wallboard, for example, which would be the only way to completely erase 131 years of existence, is in for a disappointment. In fact our whole objective is to preserve as much of the original house and its historic nature as possible – and by staying with us, our guests are helping us accomplish that purpose.

Regarding the kitchenette: we have found that most guests prefer not to deal with dishes. The cabinets are amply stocked with disposable dishes and flatware, and we provide pots and pans and other cooking utensils. We’re not sure how they missed the corkscrew in the cutlery drawer. We entirely agree that wine requires fine glassware, and it is happily supplied upon request. We do not regularly provide daily maid service, which would add considerably to the nightly tariff; however we change towels, empty trash, and generally freshen up rooms as often as requested and after every third night at a minimum. We also inform guests we will be happy to make up a their bed on a daily basis, compliments of the house, if requested.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    134
    48
    15
    5
    2
See reviews for
36
92
13
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, Ohio
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014

I wouldn't have enjoyed our stay in Washington as much if we had stayed in one of the large hotels. The Chester a Arthur house was a wonderful way to experience Washington DC. It was both a great location and a good value

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BobBehrens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfield, Vermont
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

We were excited to stay at the Chester Arthur House on our first visit to Washington DC and it was everything and more than we had expected. The house is beautiful, our room, with a view of Logan Circle, was warm and inviting. We had delicious breakfasts-healthful, tasty and filling to get us going in the morning. The hosts are friendly, informative and helpful while also giving us our privacy. The neighborhood is the perfect location to explore Washington-we were within walking distance of all the great sites, the White House was a 20 minute walk with plenty to see along the way. And, the architecture is wonderful with great victorian style houses around the circle. It's a quiet neighborhood, yet within a 2 minute walk, many good restaurants and bars. My only criticism-no cherry blossoms! Due to the late spring. Well, we'll save that for next time.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nancy455
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

I'm not sure why I never considered a B&B for DC accommodations before, but I certainly won't be staying at a downtown hotel again any time soon. The Chester Arthur house is cosy, well located, and the breakfasts can't be beat. Don is a delightful host, and you get all of this for less than the price of a square box hotel. There are numerous interesting restaurants in the area and it's a 15 minute walk to the convention center. Staying here is a no-brainer and I'm sure that I will be back.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karl S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

My wife and I had a wonderful stay at the Chester Arthur House. The accommodations were both comfortable and charming, and the congeniality of our host, David Smith, made us feel like welcome guests in his home. Eric, our breakfast chef, prepared something delectable each morning we were there. And the physical location on Logan Circle proved to be very convenient to all of DC's major attractions. We found some wonderful restaurants just a few short blocks away, and direct bus service to the mall was just a block away. Next time we visit Washington, we'll definitely return to the Chester Arthur House.

Room Tip: The Magnolia Room where we stayed was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level Contributor
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

Well preserved with tasteful period furnishings. Don Smith was interesting to talk to and he and his staff were great. We had the large suite on the 3rd floor, but the stairs were no problem (only 3 times a day). Location was very close (2 blocks) to a market, pharmacy, several good restaurants and a bus line direct to the mall with a Metro stop on the way for connections. We were warned that the front rooms were noisy, and it was - VERY!! Single pane windows might as well have been open. We could hear people talking in the circle @ 2AM as well as traffic (frequent sirens). Only other negative was that the heat didn't really make it to the third floor. First night was very cold, but it warmed up a bit after that. Would be fine later in the year.

Room Tip: Front bedrooms very noisy at night. Choose a rear room unless you sleep like the dead. Third floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cascade_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1883, Owner at Chester Arthur House B & B at Logan Circle, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
We're very grateful for the nice words, and glad that overall the guest had a nice experience. Regarding the heat: we discovered after the guest brought it to our attention that their radiator needed an adjustment, which we immediately made, and that took care of the problem. Different guests have different reactions to the street sounds. Others who have stayed in the same room (including, coincidentally, a couple who just left) have told us noise was absolutely not a problem. Guests from rural or quiet suburban areas tend to be more sensitive to this aspect of staying in downtown D.C. The front bay windows were recently restored using heavy-duty glass with silencing properties. Additionally we recommend that guests close their heavy drapes and blinds, which filters out a good deal. In warm-weather months the air conditioning masks just about all the rest. During the cold season (like now) we put an air cleaner in the room, which has the same effect. Also, both front rooms have bedside "white-noise" machines for use if desired. If all these things are done, the street sounds can be substantially eliminated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hollywood, Florida
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

I am writing this for my wife Sophie & her friend Amira from France.
They stayed here while touring Washington DC. Everything about this place was wonderful. The food, service, bedroom & beds, cleanlinist, ambiance, service, security, bathroom, everything, no complaints. Next time in DC, they said that they would definatly stay here again.
The area and location is great, safe for walking & with good transportation, although in walking distance to many places.
Well worth the price. The staff was extremely accommodating as well as helpful providing directions and recommendations.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jphuf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Dupont Circle
The Jefferson, Washington DC
The Jefferson, Washington DC
#2 of 140 in Washington DC
5.0 of 5 stars 947 reviews
National Mall
The Hay-Adams
The Hay-Adams
#3 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 994 reviews
Cambria hotel & suites Washingto...
#20 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dupont Circle
Hampton Inn Washington, D.C./White House
Sofitel Washington DC
#6 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 2,818 reviews
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chester Arthur House B & B at Logan Circle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chester Arthur House B & B at Logan Circle

Property: Chester Arthur House B & B at Logan Circle
Address: 23 Logan Circle, NW, Logan Circle, Washington DC, DC 20005
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 37 B&Bs / Inns in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy old-world charm with modern conveniences at our Victorian Bed and Breakfast. We are centrally located 8 blocks north of the White House at historic Logan Circle. Metro access is a 10-minute walk, or 10-minutes by bus to the Smithsonian and National Mall. Washington's Convention Center is a 10-15 minute walk. There are 4 guestrooms, each with private bath. Some rooms can accommodate extra guests. Well-behaved children welcome, and off-street parking is available. Daily maid service on request. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Chester Arthur House Bed And Breakfast At Logan Circle
Chester Arthur House b & b At Logan Circle Hotel Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing