We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Location, Wonderful Hosts”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Chester Arthur House B & B at Logan Circle
Ranked #5 of 35 Washington DC B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Seattle
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
“Excellent Location, Wonderful Hosts”
Reviewed February 27, 2014

Well preserved with tasteful period furnishings. Don Smith was interesting to talk to and he and his staff were great. We had the large suite on the 3rd floor, but the stairs were no problem (only 3 times a day). Location was very close (2 blocks) to a market, pharmacy, several good restaurants and a bus line direct to the mall with a Metro stop on the way for connections. We were warned that the front rooms were noisy, and it was - VERY!! Single pane windows might as well have been open. We could hear people talking in the circle @ 2AM as well as traffic (frequent sirens). Only other negative was that the heat didn't really make it to the third floor. First night was very cold, but it warmed up a bit after that. Would be fine later in the year.

Room Tip: Front bedrooms very noisy at night. Choose a rear room unless you sleep like the dead. Third floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cascade_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1883, Owner at Chester Arthur House B & B at Logan Circle, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
We're very grateful for the nice words, and glad that overall the guest had a nice experience. Regarding the heat: we discovered after the guest brought it to our attention that their radiator needed an adjustment, which we immediately made, and that took care of the problem. Different guests have different reactions to the street sounds. Others who have stayed in the same room (including, coincidentally, a couple who just left) have told us noise was absolutely not a problem. Guests from rural or quiet suburban areas tend to be more sensitive to this aspect of staying in downtown D.C. The front bay windows were recently restored using heavy-duty glass with silencing properties. Additionally we recommend that guests close their heavy drapes and blinds, which filters out a good deal. In warm-weather months the air conditioning masks just about all the rest. During the cold season (like now) we put an air cleaner in the room, which has the same effect. Also, both front rooms have bedside "white-noise" machines for use if desired. If all these things are done, the street sounds can be substantially eliminated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

252 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    176
    53
    16
    5
    2
See reviews for
43
117
15
49
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Hollywood, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2013

I am writing this for my wife Sophie & her friend Amira from France.
They stayed here while touring Washington DC. Everything about this place was wonderful. The food, service, bedroom & beds, cleanlinist, ambiance, service, security, bathroom, everything, no complaints. Next time in DC, they said that they would definatly stay here again.
The area and location is great, safe for walking & with good transportation, although in walking distance to many places.
Well worth the price. The staff was extremely accommodating as well as helpful providing directions and recommendations.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jphuf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, South Australia
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2013

I prefer to stay at B&B's because they usually offer a different and more personal approach to the locations I am visiting. On my first visit to DC I was keen to stay away from the main stream accommodation and was extremely pleased with my choice. My room overlooked Logan Circle and when checking in I was warned that it could be noisy because of traffic and was offered earplugs should I need them. I had absolutely no trouble sleeping - perhaps the civil war bed was just too comfortable. The room was large as was the bathroom. The furnishings suited the style of the property and it was a very relaxing place to stay. Breakfast was different on each day of my stay and we were joined on most days by the owner who had enjoyed what could only be described as an interesting life having written for National Geographic as well as being a political commentator. Not an experience one can enjoy in most hotels! I thoroughly enjoyed my stay in this well located original building and would be keen to stay there again if I ever return to DC.

Room Tip: I am told the room facing Logan Circle can be noisy but I had no problem with street noise at all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GMA1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Appleton, Wisconsin
1 review
Reviewed November 25, 2013

The location on Logan Circle was close to wonderful restaurants, provided an easy to walk to the convention center and gave us a great experience in the city center. The breakfast was prepared by a chef who surprised us with wonderful full breakfast entrees. The host was welcoming and provided the perfect fit to our historic B&B experience.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BarbT408
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Appleton, Wisconsin, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 25, 2013

I was in DC for a conference and chose the Chester A Arthur House based on great reviews, and I have to agree with other satisfied guests. The atmosphere is a step back in time. Lovely antiques, beautifully furnished throughout, gracious host and phenomenal chefs. Though I am not much of a breakfast guy, Carl and Eric put together a delicious spread each morning. I would book this B&B again in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: The Magnolia room is definitely the quietest room in the house.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank satisfied920
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level 6 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2013

There is a bus stop right in front of the B and B which made it so easy to get around the city. Rooms large and wonderfully decorated. Location at Logan Circle offers the option of many restaurants and cafes. Good breakfast and great conversation around the table. We will definitely return.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suewynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The B & B is in an excellent position to access lots of local restaurants. The breakfasts were superb. The hosts couldn't do enough for you. The property is full of atmosphere. Thank you for a lovely stay.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Paulvvvvv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Hotel Hive
Hotel Hive
#1 of 141 in Washington DC
340 reviews
Capitol Hill Hotel
#10 of 141 in Washington DC
1,455 reviews
Kimpton Mason & Rook Hotel
#47 of 141 in Washington DC
427 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dupont Circle
The Jefferson, Washington DC
The Jefferson, Washington DC
#5 of 141 in Washington DC
1,094 reviews
Dupont Circle
The Hay-Adams
The Hay-Adams
#3 of 141 in Washington DC
1,252 reviews
Dupont Circle
Holiday Inn Washington DC-Central/White House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chester Arthur House B & B at Logan Circle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chester Arthur House B & B at Logan Circle

Property: Chester Arthur House B & B at Logan Circle
Address: 23 Logan Cir NW, Logan Circle, Washington DC, DC 20005-3725
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 35 B&Bs / Inns in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy old-world charm with modern conveniences at our Victorian Bed and Breakfast. We are centrally located 8 blocks north of the White House at historic Logan Circle. Metro access is a 10-minute walk, or 10-minutes by bus to the Smithsonian and National Mall. Washington's Convention Center is a 10-15 minute walk. There are 4 guestrooms, each with private bath. Some rooms can accommodate extra guests. Well-behaved children welcome, and off-street parking is available. Daily maid service on request. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Chester Arthur House b & b At Logan Circle Hotel Washington Dc
Chester Arthur House Bed And Breakfast At Logan Circle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing