We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Wonderful Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chester Arthur House B & B at Logan Circle

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Chester Arthur House B & B at Logan Circle
Ranked #7 of 37 Washington DC B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Hollywood, Florida
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A Wonderful Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

I am writing this for my wife Sophie & her friend Amira from France.
They stayed here while touring Washington DC. Everything about this place was wonderful. The food, service, bedroom & beds, cleanlinist, ambiance, service, security, bathroom, everything, no complaints. Next time in DC, they said that they would definatly stay here again.
The area and location is great, safe for walking & with good transportation, although in walking distance to many places.
Well worth the price. The staff was extremely accommodating as well as helpful providing directions and recommendations.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jphuf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    134
    48
    15
    5
    2
See reviews for
36
92
13
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, South Australia
Level Contributor
64 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

I prefer to stay at B&B's because they usually offer a different and more personal approach to the locations I am visiting. On my first visit to DC I was keen to stay away from the main stream accommodation and was extremely pleased with my choice. My room overlooked Logan Circle and when checking in I was warned that it could be noisy because of traffic and was offered earplugs should I need them. I had absolutely no trouble sleeping - perhaps the civil war bed was just too comfortable. The room was large as was the bathroom. The furnishings suited the style of the property and it was a very relaxing place to stay. Breakfast was different on each day of my stay and we were joined on most days by the owner who had enjoyed what could only be described as an interesting life having written for National Geographic as well as being a political commentator. Not an experience one can enjoy in most hotels! I thoroughly enjoyed my stay in this well located original building and would be keen to stay there again if I ever return to DC.

Room Tip: I am told the room facing Logan Circle can be noisy but I had no problem with street noise at all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GMA1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Appleton, Wisconsin
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

The location on Logan Circle was close to wonderful restaurants, provided an easy to walk to the convention center and gave us a great experience in the city center. The breakfast was prepared by a chef who surprised us with wonderful full breakfast entrees. The host was welcoming and provided the perfect fit to our historic B&B experience.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BarbT408
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Appleton, Wisconsin, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

I was in DC for a conference and chose the Chester A Arthur House based on great reviews, and I have to agree with other satisfied guests. The atmosphere is a step back in time. Lovely antiques, beautifully furnished throughout, gracious host and phenomenal chefs. Though I am not much of a breakfast guy, Carl and Eric put together a delicious spread each morning. I would book this B&B again in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: The Magnolia room is definitely the quietest room in the house.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank satisfied920
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

There is a bus stop right in front of the B and B which made it so easy to get around the city. Rooms large and wonderfully decorated. Location at Logan Circle offers the option of many restaurants and cafes. Good breakfast and great conversation around the table. We will definitely return.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Suewynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The B & B is in an excellent position to access lots of local restaurants. The breakfasts were superb. The hosts couldn't do enough for you. The property is full of atmosphere. Thank you for a lovely stay.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Paulvvvvv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

We found the historic character of the neighborhood a wonderful spot to rest after exploring the city of Washington DC. We found some great places to eat within a few short blocks (and a Whole Foods nearby too), and we enjoyed visiting over breakfast with the other guests. The hosts met my dietary requirement for gluten free breakfasts which exceeded my expectation and was delicious! The building itself is aging, but the bed was comfortable with nice linens and the necessary amenities.

Room Tip: The top floor has a kitchenette and a large bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HaveBagsPackedAlways
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Dupont Circle
The Jefferson, Washington DC
The Jefferson, Washington DC
#2 of 140 in Washington DC
5.0 of 5 stars 948 reviews
National Mall
The Hay-Adams
The Hay-Adams
#3 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 999 reviews
Cambria hotel & suites Washingto...
#20 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dupont Circle
Hampton Inn Washington, D.C./White House
Sofitel Washington DC
#6 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 2,824 reviews
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chester Arthur House B & B at Logan Circle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chester Arthur House B & B at Logan Circle

Property: Chester Arthur House B & B at Logan Circle
Address: 23 Logan Circle, NW, Logan Circle, Washington DC, DC 20005
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 37 B&Bs / Inns in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy old-world charm with modern conveniences at our Victorian Bed and Breakfast. We are centrally located 8 blocks north of the White House at historic Logan Circle. Metro access is a 10-minute walk, or 10-minutes by bus to the Smithsonian and National Mall. Washington's Convention Center is a 10-15 minute walk. There are 4 guestrooms, each with private bath. Some rooms can accommodate extra guests. Well-behaved children welcome, and off-street parking is available. Daily maid service on request. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Chester Arthur House Bed And Breakfast At Logan Circle
Chester Arthur House b & b At Logan Circle Hotel Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing