We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming is the first word that comes to mind!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Chester Arthur House B & B at Logan Circle
Ranked #5 of 35 Washington DC B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 7, 2008

My family and I recently spent four nights at this bed and breakfast. We highly recommend staying there. Not only is this B&B charming, but the rooms are spacious and very clean. We all agree that the best part of our trip was chatting with the inn keepers (who by the way, are excellent cooks) every morning at breakfast . The owners of the B&B were also delightful and made us feel welcomed.

  • Stayed: July 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ArianneC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (261)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

237 - 243 of 261 reviews

Reviewed May 21, 2008

Our family of four had a wonderful stay at the Chester Arthur House. We enjoyed our breakfasts, especially the interesting conversation with the owners. The home is beautiful and the furnishings are in keeping with the period of the home. The parlor was lovely for our kids to practice their cello/violin, or for a glass of wine in the evening. We felt very much at home.

We loved the location as well. Be ready to walk or manage the busses, as the metro is several blocks away. But we loved being in the heart of things, close to great restaurants and lovely neighborhoods.

We'll definitely come back when we have the chance.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank rresler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2008

Just came back from a week off, and settling in to work. We spent our last three days at the Chester Arthur House in Washington DC. From the descriptions I was looking forward to be staying at a place I could see DC and relax when needed. The owners are helpful and informative. The building itself needs help. We stayed in a front room facing Logan Circle, the noise is bothersome, I live in a large city and understand the noise issue. The issue is that the only form of fresh air is via the air conditioner, which is held in by two pieces of plexiglas taped to the frame with clear plastic tape, not shown in the images of the room on the website. Tiles missing in the bedroom around the fireplace, leaving open holes. Repaired wood work done above the door without much care or keeping the feel of a Victorian. Bathroom, in need of painting, changing the wall paper due to water damage from moisture. Natural light again is a problem the wooden shades are down to keep out noise, but if you like to open the shades and see the world, not here, the windows are in need of a cleaning and repair. The bathroom window is ok, the bedroom window, forget it. We did use the parking, but is in an alley behind the house and small, to be expected in a city. The rear porch was not ready for the season, but again faces the alley, with another home about 15 feet away, the deck is small. Going to the museums, take the bus the walk is long, the blocks are long as in NYC, so eight block is a hike. This was my experience and we all have our own comfort level. The good aspects are the location to restaurants, grocers and owners. For three nights and parking ran us 855.00.

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank art4you
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bnbaccom, Owner at Chester Arthur House B & B at Logan Circle, responded to this reviewResponded May 18, 2008

We very much appreciate the nice things our guest had to say about us personally, and are always looking for feedback on our offerings. We did ask these folks when they were here if everything was all right (we always ask), and they didn't mention anything amiss.

They are correct about the bathroom wallpaper. A recent leak left a c. 10" x 14" stain on one wall inside the tub area near the ceiling. This is not immediately apparent, as the ceiling is ten feet high, and the dark green pattern of the wallpaper tends to mask it. All the bathroom wallpaper will have to be replaced, since the existing pattern is no longer available and therefore can't simply be patched. This project is at the top of our maintenance priorities as soon as the room becomes available within the next few days, but we decided the situation did not warrant canceling the current back-to-back reservations.

We don't know what the guest is referring to regarding repaired woodwork above the door. The woodwork is all original, in good shape, and has never been repaired.

Regarding the fireplace: Perhaps without meaning to, they make it sound as if it is in tatters, which it is not. Two small octagonal floor tiles and a one-inch connector floor tile are missing in an area that would normally be covered by a fire screen. These tiles date to the early 1880s and would be impossible to duplicate. The option would be to rip out all the rest of the floor tiles and replace them with modern tiles, and this we will not do. The good news is that the more visible tilework, consisting of decorative glazed Minton face tiles imported from England and highly prized on the antique market (when they can be found) are all in like-new condition, and lend a grand appearance to all nine of our house's fireplaces.

It is not correct to say the only fresh air comes from the air conditioner. The A/C unit (new last season) is located in one of three windows in a bay overlooking Logan Circle national park. The other two windows can be opened for fresh air. Also, the unit is not "held in" by two pieces of Plexiglas. It is properly installed with heavy-duty steel support bracing. We replaced the unit's original opaque shutters with clear Plexiglas in order to allow maximum light into the room during summer months. Clear plastic tape seals the edges for an airtight fit.

Parking is at a premium at our center city location - individual spaces sell for as much as $30,000. We provide spaces for three cars at a minimal fee for convenience of guests with cars - though most who drive in just leave their vehicles here for the duration of their stay. While the rear deck does indeed face in the direction of an alley (as do the rears of all city houses), the alley is 50 feet away, and is screened by two fir trees and one gigantic magnolia, so the alley barely visible. These are 19th-century town houses: They adjoin each other. Thanks to some clever architecting, however, the rear wing of our house is about 40 (not 15!) feet away from the adjacent building, allowing for the ample green space that our trees create, complete with fragrant magnolia blossoms and visiting songbirds. We enjoy a high degree of privacy on the deck, which is open for breakfast during fair weather.

Walking distances: Most of our guests praise our center-city location, just eight blocks from the White House. We are five minutes by foot from some fabulous restaurants and interesting shops, a celebrated performance venue (Studio Theater) and two state-of-the-art fitness centers. It takes thirty minutes to walk to the National Mall with its cluster of Smithsonian art galleries, museums, and monuments. The only way to be closer to these attractions would be to stay in a downtown hotel, which can cost as much as twice our nightly rate or more. Even then, one would be only marginally closer. For those who wish to save steps as well as money, D.C.'s public transportation system is among the best in the world. We have a bus stop at our front door, and the nearest Metrorail stop is about a 10-minute walk.

Most of the original features of our 18-room, 125-year-old residence are intact, and we intend to keep it that way. The rooms are full of antiques from the early 1880s period, creating an impression of stepping back into a more elegant time. We believe that the atmosphere, plus our location and the modern conveniences we offer (including wi-fi), make us an extraordinary value for our guests' travel dollars.

Thank you,
Don and Pat- owners

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2007

My husband, daughter, and I were in DC to visit family and be tourists. We stayed in the General Logan room which was well decorated and had more than enough room for the three of us. It is on the street side so it was a little loud at night, but not too bad.

The sitting area of the house was also well decorated and comfortable and stocked with books on the area. Breakfast was delicious and one of the owners would usually be there chatting with guests. Breakfast was also a good time to meet the other guests. It was fun to run into people we knew (the other guests) when we were out at the museums and out to dinner, it made it seem like we were really a part of the neighborhood, not just tourists.

The neighborhood has a lot of good restaurants and a couple of grocery stores nearby. It is also very close to bus stops and within walking distance of a few metro stations.

Fun place, I'd definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: July 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank TreeLee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2006

This was my first bed and breakfast experience and I was not sure what to expect. I am very pleased with how it turned out, and will make it a point to always try a B&B first for a very unique experience.

Now, to this particular stay:

The actual property itself is quite amazing. We stayed in the 3rd floor room, with a private bathroom, and had the entire floor essentialy to ourselves. The room was spacious, the bed comfortable, and we enjoyed a great view of Logan circle. There was a patio, but it was too cold to really enjoy.

The breakfast was served daily, and always hot. Our hosts were not the permanent owners, who were off on a vacation of their own, but were the friends of the owners. Still, Kathy and Harvey knew tons of information about the house, the area, and many good stories in general. Breakfast was served from 8-9 a.m., but I can tell you that we've spent several days in the dining room past 10 a.m., just chatting away. You don't get that with a chain hotel. Also, although check-in is by 11 p.m., our flight was delayed and did not get in until past midnight. We were at the front door by 12:45 a.m. It was very nice to have someone wait up for us, and we even found an extra gift in our room for our 1st anniversary.

The Logan Circle area is centrally located in a nice area of D.C. It is safe, well lit, and our first night we spotted people out walking their dogs (again...well past midnight). Someone else complained of traffic sounds in a previous post. There is definitely traffic around the circle, but this was a good wakeup call for us in case we missed our alarm. Afterall, you're there to see the sights, and not sleep in all day. We slept with our window open, so I suspect it is pretty quiet with the windows closed. Again, nothing out of the ordinary, and we were not bothered by traffic at all.

There is no metro stop at Logan Circle. Our metro stop of choice was Dupont Circle... 6 bloks or so due west along P street. Someone described it as 6 long blocks, but the neighborhood is fascinating. At a moderate pace, you're looking at about 15 minutes. The Dupont Circle neighborhood itself is very lively, and there are plenty of places to sit down, and grab a cup of coffee after your walk. North of Dupont Circle, you run into the Adams Morgan neighborhood, which is another lively, eclectic neighborhood. Dupont Circle metro stop is on the red line, and will take you downtown within a few stops.

To get the the various sights downtown (White House, and all the memorials), we chose to walk. You can walk from the property down Vermont Ave, and be at Lafayette square (in front of the White House) within 15 minutes. This is about the same amount of time it will take you to get to Dupont circle to catch the Metro. We did several times, including once after the end of a ghost tour at 11 p.m. or so. The entire area from downtown all the way to Logan circle is well lit. Parts of the downtown area close early, and it seemed deserted, but there was steady car traffic, a police presence, and we felt very safe. Keep your eyes open like any in any other city, but the area is definitely wakable.

If your feet are killing you, and you can't walk any longer, Logan circle is an easy place to flag a cab. Our cab from the airport (DCA) to the property cost $14.00. We never took a cab in the city, but I suspect you would be looking at less than $10.00 to get from downtown to Logan circle. The day we were leaving, it took 3 minutes to flag a cab. Finally, there is a bus stop right in front of the property.

I can definitely say that, while D.C. is an enjoyable city, our trip was just that much more special because of where we decided to stay. The Chester Arthur House (provided there is room available) is definitely the way to go.

Thank you Kathy and Harv!
-Paul F and Charity F
Orlando, FL

  • Stayed: October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Pfrankow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2006

Average Accommodations

This B&B does hold some charm, but ultimately paled in comparison to my prior experiences at other B&B’s in the Pacific Northwest.

Good: Antique building and furnishings were quaint and enjoyable. Neighborhood offered many restaurants and shops within easy walking distance. 10 minute, easy walk to convention center. Breakfast was prompt, hot and tasty (although only available for a limited period each morning). Room was spacious and offered a mini fridge and hair dryer. Innkeepers were friendly and responsive to special requests.

Not-so-good: No maid service!! No towel service during a 4-night stay. (It is my understanding that the practice is to refresh towels every 3rd day, but this was not the case during my visit) No shampoo or other toiletries (This is relatively insignificant point, but I have come to expect that any place other than a Motel 6 provides shampoo these days!) Traffic noise from the street would have made it impossible for me to sleep without ear plugs….think twice if you are a light sleeper. Safety and security were questionable. Rooms had deadbolt locks, but no internal chain lock or other mechanism to secure the door from the inside. The front entry door/gate requires a key for entry AND exit, which would be a concern in case of fire or other emergency where you needed to exit quickly. Extension cords being used as permanent outlets (which OSHA would not permit in any workplace) increased my concern over fire safety.

Stayed: June 2006
5  Thank WittyL8dy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bnbaccom, Owner at Chester Arthur House B & B at Logan Circle, responded to this reviewResponded July 27, 2006

These folks announced when they walked through the door that they would be grading our place for TripAdvisor. Guess they wanted to put us on notice.

We appreciate the complements, but find the complaints either unfounded or just puzzling. Chester A. Arthur House is a true bed-and-breakfast in the European tradition, not a commercial operation masquerading as a B&B. We are both fulltime working writers. We love showing off this historic old residence, which long ago would have been cut up into condos if we hadn't decided to go the B&B route. Ninety-nine percent of our guests love what we offer, as evidenced by the accolades in our guest books stretching back to 1991. However, on (thankfully) rare occasions we get folks like these who clearly would have been happier in a more commercial setting. As they know very well (because they were advised both verbally and in the room literature), we happily furnish anything requested, including daily towel changes and whatever maid service is desired; but daily maid service is not automatic. This saves a tremendous amount of water, not to mention the amount of wash water going back into the environment. We did in fact change their towels on the second day they were here, as is our practice for four-day stays. Their report of no toiletries is also wrong. We stock bathrooms with both hand soap and either Dove or Neutrogena (non-allergenic) Body Wash for the shower; plus, upon request, we provide anything else needed (shaving gear, shampoo, toothbrushes and paste, etc.). Most people prefer their own shampoo, and we think the little shampoo bottles look too motel-like and detract from the house-guest environment we are trying to create. "Limited period" for breakfast? Well, a full breakfast is served anytime between 8 and 9 a.m., with special arrangements for early risers upon request, and tea is available around the clock. Regarding noise: As all guests are advised in advance, this is the city. The very ornate room they stayed in (the original master bedroom) directly overlooks historic Logan Circle Park - a national monument and residential enclave on the edge of downtown. We advise guests in this room that if they find city noise a problem, they can close the thick wooden blinds in the bay windows, draw the heavy drapes, and turn on the high-quality HEPA air filter. Then they shouldn't hear very much street noise - which in any case subsides at night. Regarding the lack of chain locks inside the three guest rooms: This is our home, not a Motel 6. The two of us are the only ones who have room keys. If these folks felt insecure in any way, they certainly didn't show it. Bottom line: In our 15 years of operation, none of our guests has ever been a victim of crime, either on or off the premises. We are fully licensed by the city and are in full compliance with all fire and safety codes, including a well-marked fire escape. A key is prominently posted next to the front gate for emergency egress should the need arise. We believe we provide extraordinary value for our rates in the heart of center-city Washington, D.C., just eight blocks from the White House. Obviously this proves we can't please everyone.

Don and Pat
Owners and Hosts of the Chester A. Arthur House B&B for 15 years.




Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2005

Our family liked the house, room, beds, and the water pressure was fine. The room was very spacious considering we had a trundle bed and our bed. Our 7 year old considered our room "home". It was nice to come back to an air conditioned room with tall ceilings after sight-seeing in the heat. The owners were very nice and interesting people. The breakfasts were great also - one of the breakfasts featured the best bread pudding ever. The home was about 7 blocks from DuPont Circle metro, which made it quieter, which we liked a lot. We will definitely stay here again. This house is very nice and decorated well.

Stayed: July 2005
3  Thank LindaBob1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
#22 of 141 in Washington DC
3,321 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
The River Inn
The River Inn
#11 of 141 in Washington DC
1,784 reviews
Dupont Circle
Embassy Circle Guest House
Embassy Circle Guest House
#2 of 35 in Washington DC
705 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Adams Morgan
Adam's Inn
Adam's Inn
#8 of 35 in Washington DC
679 reviews
Malolo Bed and Breakfast
#1 of 35 in Washington DC
350 reviews
Upper Northwest
Kalorama Guest House
Kalorama Guest House
#10 of 35 in Washington DC
79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chester Arthur House B & B at Logan Circle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chester Arthur House B & B at Logan Circle

Address: 23 Logan Cir NW, Logan Circle, Washington DC, DC 20005-3725
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 35 B&Bs / Inns in Washington DC
Price Range: $120 - $990 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy old-world charm with modern conveniences at our Victorian Bed and Breakfast. We are centrally located 8 blocks north of the White House at historic Logan Circle. Metro access is a 10-minute walk, or 10-minutes by bus to the Smithsonian and National Mall. Washington's Convention Center is a 10-15 minute walk. There are 4 guestrooms, each with private bath. Some rooms can accommodate extra guests. Well-behaved children welcome, and off-street parking is available. Daily maid service on request. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Chester Arthur House b & b At Logan Circle Hotel Washington Dc
Chester Arthur House Bed And Breakfast At Logan Circle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing