We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Great location!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chester Arthur House B & B at Logan Circle

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Chester Arthur House B & B at Logan Circle
Ranked #6 of 35 Washington DC B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great location!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2013

Stayed here for a meeting at the Convention Center, which was a mere 10-15 minute walk away. This whole neighbourhood is quite different from when I lived in the District in the late 90s -- much safer and significantly gentified. Not right on top of a Metro station, but a reasonable walk to 3 different stations.

Front door is a little weird to get into but not hard once you master it. Room was the large master bedroom on the 2nd floor towards the front of the house. Very roomy both in the main room as well as the bathroom. Wi-Fi was present but a little flaky in terms of speed and holding a connection. (In fairness, I've had this issue at almost any place that offers "free WiFi".)

Main issue: Logan Circle is noisier than expected. The potholes out front cause trucks to make quite a racket, and the lovely folks who share their car's music with the entire zip code don't help. :-) The provided "white noise machines" don't really mask those sounds (just passing cars doesn't bother me -- I grew up in the city), and the historic nature of the house make soundproofing not very practical. If you're noise-sensitive, I'd recommend a room away from the front. Great ambience and historical furniture throughout, including old-style lamps. Liked the small fridge in the room. TV was indeed small but I never had any desire to turn it on, so I didn't care. :-)

Breakfast was reasonably good -- I've had better at B&Bs elsewhere, but I had no complaints. They also kindly let me start eating a bit earlier than the 8am time to accommodate slightly my conference obligations. Didn't see the hosts much beyond my arrival or breakfast, but they were friendly and had provided cell phone numbers in case there were any significant issues.

Overall, I'd happily stay here again if I was at the Convention Center or nearby!

Room Tip: Away from street will be significantly quieter!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank navsaria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1883, Owner at Chester Arthur House B & B at Logan Circle, responded to this review, May 11, 2013
Thanks so much for the nice words. N.b.: fewer people notice the street sounds in the warm-weather months because the air-conditioner does an excellent job of masking just about everything. Re breakfasts: not sure how many days this guest stayed with us, but we make something fresh and different every morning, generally varying between sweet (pancakes, Belgian waffles, etc.) and savory (quiche, Eric's special "breakfast tulips", etc.). If expectations aren't met one day, they likely will be another. Of course we also honor special requests and dietary restrctions.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

231 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    157
    51
    16
    5
    2
See reviews for
39
109
15
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
NYC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2013

I spent a weekend at the Chester A Arthur House and really enjoyed my stay. The house is lovely, warm and tastefully decorated. The location was great, centrally located and across the street from a beautiful park. Logan Circle itself is lovely; i enjoyed walking there in the mornings. My room was large and comfortable and I slept very well which doesn't always happen when I travel. Breakfast and coffee was great and the caretaker was very friendly and accommodating. Overall a great expereince, would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RES606
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Colorado
Level Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2013

I stayed here for three nights in April, and it was a very positive experience. The room was large and comfortable, the house is historic and in a fantastic location, the breakfast was tasty, and I slept great while I was there. The house is close to Whole Foods and all kinds of new restaurants. Apparently Logan Circle is a hot area these days. I'll definitely be back.

Andrea from Louisville, Colorado

Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Andrea D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland Metro Area, Oregon
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2013

We recently spent a week at the Chester A. Arthur house and really enjoyed our stay. The location is very convenient to the major attractions in DC. 1 1/2 blocks to two different bus lines that go directly to the Smithsonian/Mall, a quick couple blocks through Logan Circle to P Street full of restaurants and a Whole Foods, and a reasonable quick walk directly down Vermont St. to the Metro & the front of the White House. Also, much to my relief, though we were never out very late, we felt safe in and around the house/neighborhood at all times during our trip.

We got caught in the rain and we able to quickly catch a cab to the Capitol from the intersection in front of the building and our cab rides to the Capitol & Union Station were never in excess of $10. Only on those rainy days though did we take cabs, we took a couple bus/metro rides but were able to walk to most of the attractions we hit.

The house is a little old and shows its age but it has been well kept by the owner, Carl & Eric (the innkeepers). We didn't spend any time in the parlors but they were always available and well stocked with books & games. It was very quiet inside, we spent our time between two different rooms on the 2nd & 3rd floors and never heard any of the other guests. Both of our rooms were on the front of the house and the traffic noise from Logan Circle was a little noticeable but for us was just a factor of being in the middle of a city. Expectedly a little louder than our suburban home but it didn't interrupt our sleep.

Breakfasts were always good and we never had any issue with portion sizes. Every day we were there, there was enough for seconds if one so chose. My request for a differnt type of juice later in the week was also accomodated graciously. The meals alternate days from sweet to savory and it really broke up the sometimes monotonous eggs for breakfast routine. Eric is a little more hands-off and doesn't join guests for breakfast, Carl sat with all the guests. Both are easy to talk to and have good tips for what to see, where to eat and how to get to places.

We didn't notice that our bed wasn't made daily until reading some of the other reviews but appreciate the privacy of the innkeepers not entering our room. They tell you when you arrive that the standard practice is to replace towels every 3rd day but they were very accomodating and would, I'm sure, be able to either service the room daily or meet whatever reasonable requests any guest made.

We would stay again at this B&B in a heartbeat. The location is enough but the service that went with it and the personal touch of breakfast makes this better than any hotel in DC could offer.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bryan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blacksburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
73 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2013

WE spent 2 night at the Chester Arthur House and really fell for it. It's attractive outside and inside, with most of its original structure (wooden staircase, pocket doors) and authentic Victorian furnishings lovingly cared for. There is a wonderful homey feeling in every room. Carl welcomed us and kindly explained all we wanted to know about the house, the neighborhood, restaurants and events in DC. He's extremely knowledgeable and willing to share his knowledge. Eric cooked both breakfasts for us and he is a great cook ! He is also very kind and attentive. They both made us feel like we were visiting friends rather than paying customers. We chose the Magnolia room since it was described as the most quiet, and indeed we did not hear any traffic from Logan circle. The mattress was brand new and firm and we slept like babies. I was a bit surprised to see the beds were not made when we came back the first evening, but I won't pretend I make it everyday at home, so that's not a big issue. There are a couple of parking slots at the back of the house, and the price for them is rather decent compared to other places in DC, so we were happy to leave our car there and use public transportation. There are 3 metro stations within 15 mn of the house, and the great restaurants and nightlife of Dupont Circle are a 15 mn walk away. Nice little cafes and a Whole Foods market within 5 mn walks. The White House and city center are about 20 mn away. This B&B is reasonably priced for DC and make a convenient base camp to explore and enjoy the capital.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dr_Pea7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1883, Owner at Chester Arthur House B & B at Logan Circle, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Many thanks for this generous and informative review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2013

We stayed here for two nights in early April 2013. The location is good but apart from that, this place has nothing to recommend it. It was overpriced (US$245 with taxes per night for one room) and under-serviced.
We were greeted by Carl (or Eric?) when we arrived and then saw no-one until we checked out. We were not given a phone number to call should anything go wrong.
The decor was tacky - dolls propped up on chairs, kitsch Edwardian framed posters and plastic flowers gathering dust. Although we didn't see anyone else in the b & b, there was music playing constantly which gave the whole place a kind of creepy, sinister feel.
All in all, the place looked sad and unloved.
There were no additional towels provided other than those we were issued with on the first day and the toiletries were of the cheapest type which made our skin itch. And instead of a drinking glass in the bathroom there were disposable plastic cups. We found nothing stylish or genteel or nice about this place (contrary to what they say on their webpage).

We came down to breakfast on the first morning to a table set for a crowd that never arrived (shades of the Mary Celeste)– we were the only ones in the breakfast room and there was no sign of Carl or Eric or any other guests. Aside from that the breakfast was inedible. A fruit salad that appeared to come from a can, some cheap supermarket bread for toasting with some dubious-looking jam, a soggy tasteless bread & butter pudding type thing that made us gag and some cold scrambled eggs. Urgh!!! We left and went out for breakfast that morning and the next as the food here was so awful.
Of the seven hotels and b & b's that we stayed at during our trip across the US, this was the second most expensive and the only one we had any issues with. (We loved everywhere else we stayed in the US).

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JaneCherie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1883, Owner at Chester Arthur House B & B at Logan Circle, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
We always look negative reviews over carefully and ask ourselves what we can do to improve our offerings. But this one is so out of line with the vast majority of our other reviews that it makes us wonder. A few facts: (1) Their per-night rate was about half what a typical hotel room in downtown DC would have cost for the time they were there – which was the peak of high season in DC. (As there were three adults staying in the room, it worked out to $81 per person/night.) (2) This is an actual residence, not a hotel, so there is not a lot of foot traffic in and out, which these guests seem to prefer. (3) All guests are given a list of five phone numbers, including Carl's and Eric's, the house phone, the booking agency, and our personal cell, in case they need something and they don’t see anyone around at the time. (4) There is an authentic late 19th century porcelain doll sitting in the authentic late 18th-century Bishop’s Chair of Italian provenance in the front parlor. We don’t believe it is tacky in the slightest. (5) The room they stayed in has three framed, intact Washington Evening Star Sunday Magazines (not posters) dating to c. 1890-1918, with “Gibson Girl” portraits by Charles Dana Gibson himself on the covers. These are souvenirs of Don’s first newspaper job (though Don worked at the Star considerably later than the 1890s). (5) Our house music is Baroque and Ragtime, both of which we believe fit the settings. We don’t find Vivaldi a bit creepy. (6) The only toiletry we provide, and have for years, is Lord & Mayfair soap, which is not at all cheap, and, according to their website, is “made with essences of chamomile, henna, apricot, orange and aloe vera – nature’s sweetest balms. Mildly formulated to cleanse, invigorate and soften the skin.” (7) They had a full compliment of toweling for their two-night stay, and could have had more if they had asked. (8) Although we were 100% booked during the time these folks were here, by their own account the first morning they took a look around the dining room and left before either Carl or Eric emerged from the kitchen, or the other guests arrived, and didn’t return the next morning. Which is a shame, because the breakfast conversations around our candle-lit table can be quite fun. (Btw, the French family staying with us during the same period left an extravagantly nice thank-you in our guest book.) (9) The food review is surprisingly detailed seeing that they didn’t stay to eat. It is completely at odds with all the praise we’ve received over the years (and request for recipes), for which we are most grateful. We put out a variety of fresh breads each morning, the jams are choice, hot food is kept hot on a hotplate, and the fruit cups are always from scratch made every morning – never canned! But, as the saying goes, you can’t please all the people all the time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
413 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2013

I wanted to like this place, so I will give the pluses first -- it is conveniently located (on Logan Circle), the house is very attractive from the outside, my room was large, and the two men who are there on alternate days are very friendly. Breakfasts were good, although the quantity of food available was modest. However, the negatives clearly outweigh the positives. The inside of the house is rather dilapidated -- I appreciate the challenges of renovating and maintaining an old house, but much of the renovation is of poor qualiy (poor paint jobs, uneven walls) and there is peeling paint almost everywhere that you look. The place REALLY needs a good cleaning -- there was a thick layer of dirt/dust on the window frames in my room. And...they never did any cleaning or room maintenance during the four nights that I was there -- they didn't even make the bed! I have never stayed in a B&B before with so little service. There is also tremendous traffic noise (trucks, buses, horns, car alarms) that begins around 5:30 every morning -- the rooms have sound machines to mask the outside noise, but the outside noise overwhelms the machines. Given the price point (nearly $200 per night). I expected more charm and more service, and will look elsewhere in the future.

Room Tip: If you decide to stay here, book the room in the back (away from the street noise).
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KingofThreePutts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1883, Owner at Chester Arthur House B & B at Logan Circle, responded to this review, April 27, 2013
We are sorry we did not live up to this guest’s expectations. We’ve read this review over several times in hopes of finding something we could fix on our end. In our 18 years of operation this is the first complaint we’ve had about the amounts of breakfast food served. We prepare more than enough for the guests attending our served, family-style breakfasts (not buffet), and always can make more in a jiffy if requested. “Rather dilapidated” is in the eye of the beholder, and is certainly at odds with comments we have received praising the grandeur of the house. “Peeling paint almost everywhere that you look” is simply not true. We seriously doubt there was a “thick layer of dirt/dust on the window frames in my room,” but we certainly will redouble our efforts to make every room “my mother’s-house clean,” as one previous guest put it, and which is our goal. We will make up beds on request, but do not employ a fulltime housekeeping staff to do this on a regular basis, which would force us to charge significantly higher rates, putting us into the realm of comparable commercial lodgings in downtown-area hotels.

By the way, a look at this guest’s history as a reviewer on TripAdvisor indicates that he/she tends to stay at hotels and motels (nine of eleven reviews) and gives them the highest ratings. The only two identifiably authentic B&Bs (two reviews, including us) received the worst. The other recipient received the comment, “A little weird to be there for business.“ Although we welcome business travelers and have gotten good reviews from them, our conclusion is that this guest probably would be happier sticking with motels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Dupont Circle
The Jefferson, Washington DC
The Jefferson, Washington DC
#4 of 140 in Washington DC
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,012 reviews
Dupont Circle
The Hay-Adams
The Hay-Adams
#3 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,086 reviews
Sofitel Washington DC
#11 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,993 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cambria hotel & suites Washingto...
#35 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 562 reviews
Upper Northwest
Washington Plaza Hotel
Washington Plaza Hotel
#20 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,252 reviews
Downtown / Chinatown
Hampton Inn Washington, D.C./White House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chester Arthur House B & B at Logan Circle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chester Arthur House B & B at Logan Circle

Property: Chester Arthur House B & B at Logan Circle
Address: 23 Logan Cir NW, Logan Circle, Washington DC, DC 20005-3725
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 35 B&Bs / Inns in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy old-world charm with modern conveniences at our Victorian Bed and Breakfast. We are centrally located 8 blocks north of the White House at historic Logan Circle. Metro access is a 10-minute walk, or 10-minutes by bus to the Smithsonian and National Mall. Washington's Convention Center is a 10-15 minute walk. There are 4 guestrooms, each with private bath. Some rooms can accommodate extra guests. Well-behaved children welcome, and off-street parking is available. Daily maid service on request. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Chester Arthur House b & b At Logan Circle Hotel Washington Dc
Chester Arthur House Bed And Breakfast At Logan Circle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing