We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cute and homey”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Chester Arthur House B & B at Logan Circle
Ranked #5 of 35 Washington DC B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 27, 2013

I came here with my boyfriend for two nights in late March. We had never stayed in a bed and breakfast and now I'll never stay anywhere else! The house is a beautiful, authentic Victorian with much of its original structure and furnishings. The host, Carl, knew so much about the house's history and the area, and he was very sweet and funny. Breakfast was delicious and definitely worth rising early (8 am sharp!). We stayed in the Magnolia room, which is the quietest room as it faces away from the street, and I slept like a baby. Everything about the room was clean and it had everything we needed, including a firm mattress. The neighborhood is charming and adorable, like being transported back in time. We went to two of the suggested restaurants/coffee shops and both were fantastic. We went during the off-season so the room rate was lower, but even the peak-season rate is completely worth it! Private parking was a huge plus. My favorite part about the house was all its little quirks - original gas lamps (they aren't operational of course), the scent of old carved wood, the dumbwaiter in the dining room, the step-down bathroom. I visit D.C. somewhat often and I'll definitely be coming back to the Chester A. Arthur House!

Room Tip: The Magnolia Room is the quietest room and has a private bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emma V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1883, Owner at Chester Arthur House B & B at Logan Circle, responded to this reviewResponded April 27, 2013

Your review made our day! It’s such a joy to have guests who like what we’re doing and take the time to let us know.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (260)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

185 - 191 of 260 reviews

Reviewed March 19, 2013

My stay at the Chester A Arthur B &B was everying I hoped it would be and more. Our hosts Carl & Eric were very helpful and gave great insights to areas to visit. Breakfast was wonderful! The house was built in 1883 and has so much charm. The website photos are very true. Love having a private bath and the mini fridge was very welcome. Wonderful neighborhood, can walk to so many places, which I did. I look forward to staying there again

Room Tip: My stay was in the Magnolia Room, in the rear of the house.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Debra1883
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1883, Owner at Chester Arthur House B & B at Logan Circle, responded to this reviewResponded April 27, 2013

Thanks so much. It was a pleasure having you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

This is a lovely B& B, a victorian home built in 1883, so if you are looking for alot of modern furnishings and appliances presented within the shell of an older home, this is not the place for you. We stayed here for a conference at the DC Convention Center which is only a few blocks away and the location was great. In addition, parking was provided behind the house. Standing in Logan Circle at night (when there is little or no traffic) is like stepping back in time. Walking up to the B&B is also like stepping back in time - the wooden staircase, the beautiful moldings, the pocketdoors to the parlor and the furnishings in the public areas are all period-perfect. The hosts, Eric and Carl, are friendly and gracious and prepare delicious breakfasts. Our bedroom was large, and the queen size bed was comfortable. The steam heat in March was loud and heated up the room so much that we turned on the air-conditioner (the vents needed a good dusting). The bathroom was old (not from the 1880s - but old) though everything worked fine. We were a little surprised by two things: the TV in our large room was tiny and across the room. Watching it as you lay in bed, you could only see your toes. Although the room decor was of the period which is part of the ambiance of the house, a larger TV would have been nice. Secondly, the only thing provided in the bathroom was soap - there was no shampoo, conditioner, or body lotion. Its a little thing, but something that makes a guest feel a bit pampered when they are traveling. These things aside, staying in the B& B felt like we were experiencing a little bit of Washington DC history.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dianeandstuart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1883, Owner at Chester Arthur House B & B at Logan Circle, responded to this reviewResponded April 27, 2013

Thanks for your nice comments. We chose the TVs in the guest rooms (17" diagonal flatscreens) as a compromise between providing cable TV, and trying not to take too much away from the Victorian ambience. We've also always been concerned that setting out shampoo, conditioner, etc., would make us look too much like a motel or commercial hotel - something we go to some lengths to avoid. In everything we do we try to recreate the 19th-century houseguest experience, with modern conveniences. We do have the amenities you mention on hand in case they are requested, though we've found most guests prefer their own shampoo, etc. However, your comment has given us cause to look at this in a new light. We certainly DO want our guests to feel "pampered;" so we have decided to start providing these amenities. Thanks for your suggestion and persuasive way of putting it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2013

It was my first visit to Washington DC and I had no idea where to stay. I stumbled upon Chester Arthur House and decided to give it a go. What a little gem. The house is in a great location which is close to amazing restaurants which are all in walking distance. The bedrooms are clean and spacious with their own lovely bathrooms. This house has lots of history which adds to the experience. The hosting was impeccable - Both hosts were extremely friendly and super helpful. This house is a B&B and the breakfasts are made fresh every morning. One word to describe the breakfasts - delicious!! I will definitely return to this place on my next visit. For a first time visitor to DC or for just a short business trip this is lovely accommodation.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nadia Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1883, Owner at Chester Arthur House B & B at Logan Circle, responded to this reviewResponded April 27, 2013

Glad you enjoyed your stay. Thanks for writing!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2013

My Mom was coming into town and her allergies don't let her stay with us and our dog. The Magnolia room was a perfect choice, a lovely setting to come home to at the end of our evening. I was also able to join her and the other guests for breakfast the next morning for a small charge -- tasty food and nice conversation with an Australian family traveling through. Very positive experience.

Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
Thank J N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1883, Owner at Chester Arthur House B & B at Logan Circle, responded to this reviewResponded April 27, 2013

We were so glad to have your Mom, and glad to know she enjoyed herself. Thanks for writing!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2013

This is a lovely B & B. The rooms are spacious yet cozy, homey yet elegant. The bathroom large, the kitchenette functional (it could use some dishes and a few more utensils). The bed, comforter and sofa are soft. Homemade breakfast and coffee were excellent. The Inn Keepers were gracious and very knowledgeable about the city. Do keep the number of your host on hand, as they do not live there and you do want them to be there when you arrive. Logan Circle is a fine location, not far from the metro, Whole Foods, theatre and dining. However, there is quite a bit of traffic and the old windows do little to dull the noise of car horns, motorcades and frequent ambulances. Wi Fi and television went in and out.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank E D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2013

Sometimes on-line photos really make accommodations look roomier, cleaner, more gleaming and upscale than they really are. Chester Arthur house fully lived up to expectations. The Logan room is spacious, well maintained, the bathroom is the only part of the house (other than the kitchen) that is quite modern (but still esthetically matching the house), the living room, dining room, even the stairs are beautiful. The staff serves breakfast as a work of art - the only caution would be, if there are ingredients you don't eat, let them know. Fruit, meat or eggs, toast, pancakes... all skillfully done. G2 bus right outside the door, and not a bad walk to Du Pont Circle or Lafayette Square. Very nice location.

Room Tip: We loved the Logan room. Front view of the circle, plenty of space, nice bathroom. There is, as the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charlie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1883, Owner at Chester Arthur House B & B at Logan Circle, responded to this reviewResponded April 27, 2013

We love it when business travelers discover us. Thanks for the nice comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
#24 of 142 in Washington DC
3,292 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
The River Inn
The River Inn
#15 of 142 in Washington DC
1,767 reviews
Dupont Circle
Embassy Circle Guest House
Embassy Circle Guest House
#2 of 35 in Washington DC
703 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Adams Morgan
Adam's Inn
Adam's Inn
#8 of 35 in Washington DC
677 reviews
Malolo Bed and Breakfast
#1 of 35 in Washington DC
350 reviews
Dupont Circle
Swann House
Swann House
#6 of 35 in Washington DC
393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chester Arthur House B & B at Logan Circle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chester Arthur House B & B at Logan Circle

Address: 23 Logan Cir NW, Logan Circle, Washington DC, DC 20005-3725
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 35 B&Bs / Inns in Washington DC
Price Range: $131 - $258 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy old-world charm with modern conveniences at our Victorian Bed and Breakfast. We are centrally located 8 blocks north of the White House at historic Logan Circle. Metro access is a 10-minute walk, or 10-minutes by bus to the Smithsonian and National Mall. Washington's Convention Center is a 10-15 minute walk. There are 4 guestrooms, each with private bath. Some rooms can accommodate extra guests. Well-behaved children welcome, and off-street parking is available. Daily maid service on request. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Chester Arthur House b & b At Logan Circle Hotel Washington Dc
Chester Arthur House Bed And Breakfast At Logan Circle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing